We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinkers not wanted!!”
Review of Two Rivers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Two Rivers
Ranked #3 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drinkers not wanted!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having spoken to several local residents and living in one of some 500 houses to the rear of the Two Rivers, we were looking forward to having our own "LOCAL". Wrong! - it is Restaurant with a Bar NOT a Pub with a Restaurant.. A number of us have been there just for a drink - nowhere to sit, no lounge area, nowhere to hang coats - just STAND AT THE BAR. No thanks, Food is only average - if that. I will go elsewhere. It is very obvious that diners are welcome, but not if you just want a drink. Come on Marstons - wake-up!!!!!!

A VERY annoyed local.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hoppie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    71
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
86
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Yes it looks impressive, its very warm inside and inviting. Service fluctuates from day to day. Bar staff helpful, waitresses changeable. Orders take far too long, but my main complaint - 24 of us for a dinner - nowhere to put coats. Last week 9 of us for a meal nowhere to put 9 wet coats. They ended up on the floor. Obviously this was not given a thought when planning the building. Last week the 9 of us sat so long, we cleared our own tables and then waited for somebody to come and take desert orders. Just needs bit more staff training.....

Room Tip: no idea did not sleep there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a party of friends booked the Two Rivers for our Christmas party. Starters were ok. soup and pate were lovely,prawn cocktail had very few prawns and was mainly lettuce. Evrrything fell apart with the main meal, the food was bland, very poor choice of veg. not at all pleasant.Complained to manager who was very rude and unprofessional.Said he would sort things out at the end of the meal, except at the end of the meal he refused to speak to us. very very disappointing

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank alli207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten at 2 Rivers twice in recent weeks. First visit disappointing - took 3 times to get a simple burger order correct and when it finally was they had the audacity to plate it up with the original sides and garnishes which as you can imagine were well past edible. Manager apologised and reduced bill which is fair enough but I'd much rather a fresh meal as I ordered it.

Visit 2 with 3 families - 6 adults & 7 children. Arrived at 4.30pm, after an enjoyable walk, nice tables, drinks order taken, just settling down to read through menu when 15mins after ordering drinks which were yet to arrive our waitress announced that kitchens now closed until 5.30 as its been a very busy day. Can you believe that? Faced with shuffling 3 families to another venue without a car or stay put and grin and bear we took the latter option. After 30mins in a 1/2 full pub the drinks finally arrived, a few drinks were wrong which is an easy mistake to make but what was REALLY SHOCKING WAS MY 5YR OLD BEING GIVEN A WHITE WINE & LEMONADE BY THE WAITRESS INSTEAD OF A GLASS OF WATER, I can understand the drinks may look similar but surely a waitress should be trained to ask am adult to check which drink was alcoholic. At 530 our waitress appeared to take our order. 30 mins later she appeared to say no fish & chips so there would be a delay of 10mins while our friends 2nd choice was cooked. Two hours after arriving we finally recieved our food, which was average even for pub grub.

All in all another disappointment particularly when pricing it taken in to account. Adult meals are on the high side for pub grub especially when it's as average as it is. Kids meals though are vey expensive - there's no "meal deal" as you get in most pub grub places so you pay full price for drinks & desert, which comes in around £8-10 for a kids meal. By comparison the 4star Marriott St.Pierre Hotel 2 miles down the road will do you an excellent kids meal with superb non-microwaved food, with a drink and desert for £4.99, if you factor this in the saving on the kids meals compensates for the more expensive adult meals at St.Pierre with 4star food, service and surroundings - I know which I prefer.

Other aspects are more concerning......
4 different waitresses during our meal.
Every visit to our table by a waitress was full of woe about poor experiences other diners had been having since the opening.
A manager who sent a trainee to apologise before appearing himself 30mins after we asked to discuss our experience with him.
Contradicting messages about waiting times from each of our waitresses
Waiting staff using a greasy cloth next to the till to clean hands - yuk

Don't think I'm having a downer on the waiting staff, by and large they were polite but clearly disheartened. This establishment is poorly managed full stop, can't blame teething problems 2 and 1/2 months since opening!

If you want pub grub in Chepstow there far better alternatives that offer food on-time with more value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrGinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I never normally write reviews but I am so angry I feel like I have to.
This was our second time to the restaurant/pub and both times were absolutely appalling.
The first time we had some lunch and found a very large sharp chicken bone in the sandwich and the second time for an evening meal. To be fair we were told that it would take an hour to order and we were fine with that but an hour and a half later after we ordered we were still waiting. We had no apologies and no one seemed interested it was all a bit too much effort for the staff it seemed.
I now will not go back and right now they probably don't care but if the continue to do this they will soon alienate their local clientele.
Very disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A superb new opening in Chepstow,brilliant food and excellent service,the chickens are cooked to perfection,had to wait a bit longer for food but place was packed and well worth the wait,will recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1953BFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've had lunch in the Two Rivers twice since it opened a month ago and found it rather disappointing. Many of us in the local area have eagerly awaited the opening of a new family pub with indoor and outdoor play areas, but both play areas are tiny and leave a lot to be desired.

The menu is extensive, but the food is distinctly average - I would say it is on a par with Weatherspoons quality at gastro pub prices. Yesterday I had the salad leaves with vinagrette dressing and goats cheese. The dressing was served in a small dish and had a thick skin on it because it had been left standing so long - yuk. My son had fish fingers which were greasy and overdone, but my Mum enjoyed her fish and chips.

On our first visit we waited an hour for food and our order was slightly wrong, but on the second visit the food arrived within half an hour and we got the right things, so hopefully any teething problems have been sorted.

On both visits our waitresses have been friendly and helpful, but not 100% effective for eg being asked several times if we wanted to order drinks on arrival, not offering sauces with meals, giving the wrong drinks to members of our party and coming to ask how are meals were after we'd finished.

Someone mentioned the measures of wine and I raised this with staff myself. The problem is that the menu only quotes prices for medium and large glasses of wine, so if you ask for a small glass they serve it in the larger glass and it looks like you haven't got a full measure. You should be charged less, of course.

The decor is fine and the AC is a bit too good (in December!) but the Christmas decorations were a bit sparse. There was a tree near the bar area, but nothing in the area where we sat and no crackers on the tables even for large groups.

We will probably go again because it is so convenient for us, but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinecag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
2.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.6 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel Chepstow
The George Hotel Chepstow
#11 of 14 in Chepstow
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Rivers

Property: Two Rivers
Address: The Two Rivers Newport Road, Chepstow NP16 5PR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Two Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Rivers Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing