We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- unexpected surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Racecourse GuestHouse
Ranked #2 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales (UK)
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow- unexpected surprise”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Here on business and feel inclined to review before even trying out the breakfast!
Fabulous room, better than any hotel I have stayed at in the UK and that includes the Hilton I was in a few weeks back and another golf hotel last week. If I am ever looking to stay close by again I will not hesitate in coming back. The room and bathroom is like a mini apartment it's so big. The decor and attention to detail is amazing. My wife runs a holiday home cleaning company so I can't help but notice any minor cleaning issues but there literally is none. Fantastic overall again well done. Looking forward to breakfast now! If I was going to be really picky I would only say it would be nice to have a few sky channels on the box but for the price cannot really expect that to be fair. Just me wishful thinking to watch the footie rather than head out to a pub.
Thanks again

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Broomie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
58
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Racecourse and can't praise it highly enough. Rooms, and communal areas are spotlessly clean. Julie and Brian are excellent hosts, very welcoming, who go out of their way to accommodate your needs. It's very close to the racecourse, if that's what you're there for. We weren't, soTintern and it's fabulous Abbey was a 10 minute drive away. It's a superb guesthouse, that I'd definitely stay at again, and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: My room was at the back, and I heard no outside noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to the races....parked car on drive of guesthouse...even offered to give us a lift but it's only a 5 minute walk.....we went back before the last race as weather got v cold......was then given the choice of watching the last race on TV in the lounge.......

A wonderful guesthouse with the most welcoming owners you ever likely to meet......on the Saturday night they gave us a lift to the Indian restaurant they recommended and invited us into the private lounge for drinks when we got back..

Breakfast next morning was to die for........this is a v special place run by a wonderful couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rara00
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have just got back from Chepstow following a weekend course there and stayed at the Racecourse Guest house. I can honestly say this is the best guesthouse I have ever stayed at.
The house is beautiful and clean, Julie is very friendly and welcoming, breakfast very tasty. I cannot fault it. I look forward to returning there for my next course.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rara00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty grand b&b with luxurious decor and large rooms. The host was friendly, helpful and welcoming. The facilities were great and included a washing machine and tumble dryer, large lounge and pool table. The breakfast was very tasty and there was loads of choice. Would highly recommend this place as a great base or overnight stay for end to enders.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaandlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

having been met by Brian on the drive with a lovely warm welcome, he showed us to our room.(Chepstow Suite).(Julie at the shops).
There is nothing more you could want or need, even an ice bucket for our wine. Dressing gown & slippers, knick knack smellies in the bathroom, lovely fluffy white towels & everything so very clean.
After a nice meal out at the Lime Tree & a concert we had a great nights sleep followed by a warm greeting from Julie who served us a hearty varied breakfast, with plenty of choice.
Its a little gem & we will sure be back the next time we visit Chepstow way. ;-))) XXX

Room Tip: The Chepstow Suite is perfect, Spacious, Clean, attention to detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leemingsBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at the Racecourse Guest House on Wednesday evening before a golf day at St Pierre. This was due to the St Pierre wanting to charge well over £100 for the night. Julie met me at the entrance to the drive and made sure I was happy with everything, took my breakfast order and left me to it. The room was large with a comfortable bed and good pillows (i hate those large squishy pillows). There was no ensuite but the room was allocated a large bathroom only for my use downstairs. Its basically a large house converted into a Guest house where the owners live next door. I could not fault the cleanliness and layout and decor. Breakfast is served in the owners House next door, unless your room is in that house. I had a good nights sleep, although the bird scarers in the fields going off at 10ish made me jump. Breakfast was excellent and set me up for the days golf.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and I heard no traffic, or any noise apart for the bird scarer at 10ish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
2.3 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.7 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#3 of 14 in Chepstow
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
No.8 Accommodation
No.8 Accommodation
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racecourse GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racecourse GuestHouse

Property: Racecourse GuestHouse
Address: St. Lawrence Road, Chepstow NP16 6BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Racecourse GuestHouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Racecourse GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racecourse GuestHouse Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing