We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find...”
Review of The Brockweir Inn

The Brockweir Inn
Ranked #27 of 66 Restaurants in Chepstow
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chepstow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Real Find...”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our first Sunday lunch there today & we will be back along with the rest of the family!

We are completely fed up of the usual Chepstow eateries due to poor service, high prices & bought-in, tasteless food, so this place was a real find for us today & we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 course Sunday lunch.

It ticked all our boxes:
It was Child, Dog & Vegetarian friendly!!!

The nut roast was the best I have ever tasted & the home-made sweet potato soup was very moreish. Crayfish salad with warm home-made bread - yum!!!

Even though we were strangers in a close-knit community pub, we were made to feel very welcome & the service was nothing less than excellent.

Well done The Brockweir Inn - some other pubs in the area could learn a thing or two from your success!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    9
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old fashioned pub”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Set in a lovely location just by the river, don't expect a modern bar this is a small traditional pub with welcoming staff.

Good food at good prices.

Dog friendly as well

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, Wales
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Brockweir Inn is a keeper!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Heartily recommended inn set in beautiful surroundings alongside the River Wye and by a very pretty rural road bridge linking Monmouthshire to The Forest Of Dean.

We had a very enjoyable midweek lunch at The Brockweir Inn including first class starters of crayfish cocktail and calamari followed by excellent home cooked ham. Nice menu selection plus interesting specials, lovely food, good prices, warm welcome, enjoyable ambience and a very charismatic historic building in the heart of a fascinating old river 'port' village.

Can't really ask anymore can you!? Do give The Brockweir Inn a try, can't imagine you will be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyKnighton_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Across the bridge”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you driving down the Wye valley, or particularly if you a walking along the river, we have found this a good watering hole, luch or evening. Good basic food, friendly locals, still in England, just!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"pub pizza"”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

we happened upon this pub while walking Offa's Dyke Path. Though it was a bit early for lunch and we were skeptical about the idea pub pizza in general, it was time to stop for a rest. We sat in the garden and watched the chef at work. The pizza was excellent, and just what we needed to go the rest of the way to Tintern Abbey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brockweir Inn also viewed

 
Saint Briavels, Forest of Dean
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Brockweir Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing