We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional country pub”
Review of The Brockweir Inn

The Brockweir Inn
Ranked #28 of 67 Restaurants in Chepstow
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Nice traditional country pub”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying in a local cottage we visited a few times for drinks and once for food.

Service was friendly and polite and it always seemed busy so must be a popular place.

The food was good, quality home cooked food.

A nice pub if you are in the area or passing through on a walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    47
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Olde English pub surroundings, but food only ok”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lovely village and setting, range of ales and buzzing with locals (people and dogs) on this Friday evening. Nice welcome, large menu. Ordered sirloin steak and chicken/chorizo warm salad. 15 mins later mine hostess returned to apologies that the butcher had only supplied rump - a long time to discover that! Meal came and the steak was just ok with nicely crunchy snap peas and deliciously cheesy dauphinois, but the salad leaves were a bit 'tired'. We were staying in St Arvans and would have done just as well at the Piercefield. So, ok, but not really worth the extra travel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keithreid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockweir
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great local”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good beer, company, service and food. Landlord has his moments, and the landlady couldn't be kinder!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrockweirBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Glad we found this little gem.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After visiting Chepstow Castle and Tintern Abbey, we went to the Brockweir after reading the reviews on here. I agree that it doesn't look much from the outside and parking is limited. We arrived at midday and were greeted by very friendly staff, the place soon filled up and there was a very cosy atmosphere. The lunch menu had plenty to chose from and was reasonably priced, sandwiches could be on bread, a bap or baguette and came with salad and chips, the portion sizes were just right, nothing wasted but enough to forgo pudding! All 5 of us were pleased with our choices, with 5 cokes and 1 pint of Guinness the bill came to about £45, very reasonable. When we left, the garden area was full too, the good reviews are obviously working! Lovely views of the river close by, I will definitely return and recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pollyw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch next to the Malt House”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

delicious lunch with my friends and their twin babies last Sunday - thank you so much!
- right next to the place we stayed - the Malt House!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brockweir Inn also viewed

 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Brockweir Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing