We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tintern Abbey

Tintern Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
$384.73*
and up
Private South Wales Day Trip from Bath
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Chepstow
Certificate of Excellence
Rimbey, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Tintern Abbey is always a lovely place to visit, and I make sure I do so whenever I am in that area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    337
    58
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Place of peace & awe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good facilities and information boards, the ruins of Tintern Abbey are amazingly well preserved. The abbey itself is awe inspiring in size and workmanship. We took time to appreciate the beauty and scale. Wonderful!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldBlueBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetly, Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A memorable trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

80 students and staff from a Birmingham College visited on Saturday. We were all impressed with the drive through green, leafy roads and the initial sighting of the Abbey was absolutely stunning. We must have all taken hundreds of photos that day from every possible angle. We all found it a peaceful, atmospheric place.

This was enhanced by the knowledgeable, helpful staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NormaALee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Its just hauntingly beautiful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you've never been, just go. If you've been before, no doubt you plan/hope to return. Its that good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester uk
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Most impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The view of the abbey as one drives through Tintern is most impressive. The village is certainly geared up for tourism, but it is done in a very professional and 'non tacky' way. I was especially impressed by the fact that the £3:00 car park fee is redeemable in the local tea shop and pub, very clever marketing!! We all like a bargain. The Tintern shop I felt was a little disappointing, many simple average items seemed very overpriced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintern Abbey also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Raglan, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Tintern Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing