We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again! Not for the business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Hotel Chepstow
Ranked #11 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2007

This hotel was booked for me on behalf of the company I am working for in the area. When I first checked in the receptionist was on the phone. She stayed on the phone to what seemed her friend while she checked me in which didn't seem at all professional.
I went to my room which was quite small but fairly clean. The room had a small TV with only four channels, tea/coffee making facilities and too much furniture to put my case anywhere.
I then decided to go for dinner to be told that the restaurant only serves snacks in the evening. The receptionist told me that there were a few pubs and a few restaurants in the area but she wasn't very helpful with recommending the best place to go for a single female so I gave up. I'm not very comfortable with sitting in a pub on my own, especially since i dont know the area and what the pubs are like. I decided to go back to my room and read for a while but all I could hear were the floor boards creaking the whole evening. If you are a light sleeper this will cause you a problem as it is an old hotel and you can hear every sound.
In the morning I went for breakfast. You can only get a cooked breakfast from 8am which is not particularly early for the business traveller. I had to wait a long while before being served as I established that the receptionist also served breakfast (she probably even cooked it and cleaned the rooms)!! To me that is not the way to run a hotel efficiently. By this point my pateince had run out and I checked out of the hotel immediately.
The hotel probably isn't that bad if you are not staying on your own. I found the ONE and only hotel staff not very friendly but then she was probably too busy to worry about anything else!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jules99929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tintalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelTata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
2.3 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.2 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Tuns Chepstow
Three Tuns Chepstow
#5 of 14 in Chepstow
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel Chepstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel Chepstow

Address: 20 Moor Street | Gwent, Chepstow NP16 5DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range: $64 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel Chepstow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel offers a warm room with a comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and all the rooms are en suite. We also have a bar downstairs where you can eat and drink with free WIFI. Relaxing pub Sunday to Thursday (Bank Holidays Excluded) then party atmosphere on a Friday and Saturday Night from 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The George Hotel Chepstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Chepstow Hotel Chepstow
Hotel George Chepstow
The George Hotel Chepstow Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing