We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good welcoming atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel Chepstow
Ranked #11 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2012

had an enjoyable nights stay good value for money accommodation and excellent food and drought beer, i did not stay for breakfast but the evening meal was top notch.a large room for £40 everything was there and worked, clean and tidy twin room with nice heavy drapes to darken the room 5****. would i stay again absolutely YES.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roosterwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel Chepstow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

I understand this venue is also a bed and breakfast, although I only came to The George and had a meal! I called up and booked a table of 6 for my Mum's 41st birthday.. When we arrived we were led to a table that was decorated lovely with balloons and table decor! On ordering our drinks my Mother was also given a complimentary bottle of Champagne!! This was very unexpected and very nice of the staff! The food was great and the service was also just as great! We were made to feel very welcome! My Partner and I have since returned a number of times for dinner and the service/food was again very good! Very recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Good value, large room in need of a bit of TLC, quiet even on the main road, convenient.

That said the pub smelled like a brewery with worn and stained carpets. Not pleasant to be in. Although breakfast was not in the pub itself it still smelled of stale beer.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatchingKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

very reasonable price - paid for a single - got a very large double on the second floor , just as well as there was a DJ on until 1:00 (saturday evening). I slept through it all as I was tired after a long walk on the offa's dyke - a walking holiday. They seem to want you to stay in room from 1:00 until 8:00 (unless an emergency) which I thought was a bit different. So don't stay here at weekend if you want it quiet.I didn't have the breakfast here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfuller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Visited the pub to watch the Australia v Wales rugby game on the tvs there. Have a drink and with some friends while we watched the game (evening in Oz, but 11am in Chepstow). Good choice of real ales including SA which unfortunately was off. Great venue to watch the rugby with lots of tvs so almost every seating area covered. The current new manager told us they are looking to improve the tv experience with a large screen too in the coming months so looks like it will be our venue for Six Nation tv watching next season.
We followed the game with a bar meal, which was good quality and value for money.
Not sure I'd want to stay there though. Wouldn't be keen on being above a pub if I wanted to sleep and pub was still open.
Having said that, from what I saw of the hotel bits, it was clean and tidy. So only the noise of a pub would stop me staying.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLlanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night a couple of weeks ago. We knew when booking that it was a pub with rooms. The price was great (about £40) the room was big and had all the facilities ( a couple of packets of biscuits would have been nice though) The room was clean and presentable but very very hot. This meant that we slept with the windows open, which was actually living hell with the music pumping in the downstairs bar. Has we realized it was a young noisy crowd, we would have stayed down the road where one of our party stayed.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and courteous. Breakfast was good although the bacon had been cooked either on a grill or pan that had been over used ( I can't say a dirty grill, but it had that well used flavor)
All in all, I would recommend if you're staying during the week, but avoid the weekend if it's a good sleep you're after.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathildamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Showed up late for checkin. Staff was sweet. Never felt rushed, even though it was so late.
Wife and I got to our room, and it was simple but nice. Not anything exciting but worth every penny.
I look forward to going back to Chepstow, and when i do I know where i will stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldetymrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.2 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
2.3 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#5 of 14 in Chepstow
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel Chepstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel Chepstow

Address: 20 Moor Street | Gwent, Chepstow NP16 5DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range: $61 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel Chepstow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel offers a warm room with a comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and all the rooms are en suite. We also have a bar downstairs where you can eat and drink with free WIFI. Relaxing pub Sunday to Thursday (Bank Holidays Excluded) then party atmosphere on a Friday and Saturday Night from 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel Chepstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Chepstow Hotel Chepstow
Hotel George Chepstow
The George Hotel Chepstow Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing