We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Festive Break”
other traveler has booked this property
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
The Kitchen, with hob, oven, fridge and small freezer
The Lounge area, comfortable leather sofa in front of the fire
Your View of the Gatehouse as you arrive: if you arrive in snow that is!
View from the front door...you go up the companionway ladder to sleep!
More views of the lounge area
Stone Mullion Window
Another view of the bed area
The Door to go downstairs
The view from the kitchen
The floorplan
From the Front of the Gatehouse
Courtyard House seen from the Top of the Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
HESLondon
London
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fabulous Festive Break”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful few days at the highly atmospheric and sympathetically restored Gatehouse in Mathern between Christmas and New Year, which gave us a chance to catch up with family but retain our independence. Beautiful setting with walks from the doorstep which meant we could leave the car behind, roaring wood stove which was fabulous for frosty afternoons, 360 views from the top of the tower and a chance to recharge our batteries. The owners couldn't have been more helpful when booking, they provided loads of information on things to do and see, and best of all, are on hand if required but let you enjoy the peace and quiet if that's your bag. Great farm shop up the road and the friendly Millers Arms in the village means that you really don't have to stray too far for the essentials. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the seclusion and the home comforts
Liked least: The wet room does the job but could be updated - appreciate this might be awkward given the historic nature of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzyKT
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place To Stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place has the wow factor in spades. Your own little private castle - warm and with everything you would need. Homely atmosphere and very well located for walks - we went to Tintern and separately did Offa's Dyke from Brockweir all the way to the sea. Using the buses from Chepstow means walking time is sensibly reduced. Local pub in Mathern, Millers Arms, is a short walk and does nice food and beer. A highly recommended stay.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonMcC...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Holday”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful building and very confortable accommodation.
My wife and I have a very relaxing time and I would recommend this for anyone who has impared flexibiliy. This is due to the beam you have to go under to get to bed.
However, I managed without any real difficulty and I have early stage arthritis of both knees.

Asode from that evrthing is wonderful.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tower and the views
Liked least: The beam
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferJ...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical - uniquely historic and romantic hideaway”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Welsh Gatehouse is an extraordinarily special place to stay - more than living up to the promise of its web-site. We stayed for a week and it was like stepping back in time into our own magical world. I did some serious walking on a couple of days whilst my my partner did some academic work , plus he played in a band at a local festival. It was wonderful to sit in the garden in the evening with the main house at one end and our gatehouse at the other. Absolute magic to climb up to the top of the tower to see the view or the stars. Lots of wonderful walking on the Wye Valley Walk and the Offa's Dyke Walk. Tintern Abbey, Monmouth and Chepstow Castle well worth a visit. There also seemed to be plenty of other places to visit within easy reach. Wonderful.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniquely historic and romantic quirkiness of it all
Liked least: All the steps and beams are part of the charm - but make access a bit tricky!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janey002
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most amazing place I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I can not recommend the Welsh Gatehouse highly enough... The best part for us was the use of the beautiful garden; we vetoed going out for dinner and instead spent the evening having a BBQ drinking wine and listening to music. The owners made us feel so welcome and everything right from the initial booking in to check out was smooth and well organised. Thank you for having us, we'll definitely be back! Geoff and Jane x

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you check my other reviews, you will see I am blessed with a partner who finds unforgettable and comfortable places to stay when we travel. Even by those high standards, the Gatehouse was a stand out. For a couple, it's perfect.
The bedsit-sized apartment is well-laid out, with a simple kitchen and bathroom, a lovely loft bedroom, and plenty of windows of varying sizes to let in light. It's really pretty inside, due in large part to the windows and well-chosen curtains.
Outside, the building is spectacular. You can climb up to the roof, and get a sense of the overall layout. The gatehouse overlooks a lovely garden and the main building, where your hosts are resident.
The combined washer/dryer worked fine, and the location ensured the noise wasn't an issue. The kitchen was fine - there is an oven, and there's a restriction on frying, so meal planning is the reverse of usual apartment rentals.
Location is suburb - we used Mathern as a base to explore both the Wye valley, and Bath/Glastonbury/Wells area. There's a local pub, a lovely church with a long history and you are close enough to Chepstow for takeaway, but the place itself is very quiet.
We're not chatty types, and we didn't see our hosts at all while we were there. There was plenty of written information, however, not only a fascinating and very lengthy history of the manor, but also local tips on eating etc. We felt welcome, but not intruded upon, and that's all good.
The wifi was slow - better for web browsing than backing up photo files - but it was free and working.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property itself is unique
Liked least: Wifi was spotty and slow, but this is minor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
467Jules
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique experience in a romantic and historic setting.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Good self catering accommodation. Hosts had provided a welcome pack which was a nice touch. Well stocked kitchen equipment including a BBQ. Able to use a very pretty and private garden which was very welcome after a days sight seeing. Close to Chepstow for shops and castle. Lots of other sights and good walks nearby.
Must be able bodied to use this accommodation as there is a steep stone spiral staircase. This added to the glamour but could be difficult for some.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion and quiet
Liked least: Coming down the staircase with wine glass in hand!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing