We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely romantic Welsh getaway”
other traveler has booked this property
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
The Kitchen, with hob, oven, fridge and small freezer
The Lounge area, comfortable leather sofa in front of the fire
Your View of the Gatehouse as you arrive: if you arrive in snow that is!
View from the front door...you go up the companionway ladder to sleep!
More views of the lounge area
Stone Mullion Window
Another view of the bed area
The Door to go downstairs
The view from the kitchen
The floorplan
From the Front of the Gatehouse
Courtyard House seen from the Top of the Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
meaghannf
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic Welsh getaway”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an *amazing* time at the Gatehouse. The photos just don't do it justice. Everything is so beautiful done, from the generous welcome basket to the view from the top of the tower. We loved every aspect of our stay and Juliet was easily reachable by phone for any questions we had. We can't wait to return to the Gatehouse!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatbloke6...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Idyllic refuge”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

If you want a refuge from the hustle and bustle of daily living then this is the place to stay. A place to while away the hours/days?
We just returned from a 4 night stay and to say it was wonderfully relaxing/ nourishing/ rejuvenating is to under estimate its impact.
You arrive with excellent directions to a private driveway leading to the stunning and award winning Gatehouse that originates from the 13th Century. You enter through a medieval wooden door cut into the huge old main door. Through the arch is a sheltered walled garden and the lovely Courtyard House. The entrance to the Gatehouse is next to you and leads up 30 steep spiral winding steps to the apartment. You are rightly warned to bring small bags as it can be difficult climbing up with luggage. The apartment is furnished comfortably with a lovely welcome pack of wine/chocolates and basics of milk/butter/bread and homemade jam. You can stock up easily on other food at the nearby local farm shop. A friendly pub The Millers Arms is 5 minutes walk away and worth a visit following the ambled circular walk across the fields to the also old St Tewdrig Church and Well and back to the village. The apartment is open plan with leather 'sink into' settee in front of the woodburner with plenty of logs, an easy to use kitchen with all main requirements, a charming hayloft bedroom, hot shower / wet room and a minstrels gallery dressing / storage room. There is the option to climb another 30 or so steep steps to the top of the tower with spectacular views all around. The owners Juliet and William are welcoming and very helpful advising of heating etc.There is an information folder with everything explained including a number of local walks also free postcards to send to make your friends and family jealous. All your needs are therefore catered for.. it's always warm, cosy and to my wife's delight has a hairdryer plug point and adjacent mirror, hooks on the bathroom door with robes. In the early evening we sat in the garden to read, listen to the birds or watch the butterflies, with Chimera or barbeque also available.. We loved the place and would highly recommend it to all able bodied and lovers of unique places to stay!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the unique building
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calup83
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic 2 night weekend stay at the Gatehouse, where we were fortunate to be blessed with some lovely sunny weather as well. It really is a spectacular building that hits you as soon as you pull up for the first time.

The directions given in advance were extensive and finding the place was very easy in the end. Although the owners weren't present for our arrival we entered the property to find a generous hamper of treats and a bottle of white chilling in the fridge, a lovely gesture.

The log burner gave off plenty of heat making the sofa a very comfortable place to relax. The electric heaters also meant it wasn't difficult to keep the room warm in the evenings. As to the location, there are plenty of sites and walks to visit either from the Gatehouse or within a short drive. We ourselves drove to Wentwood Forest. There were also several walks written out by the owners for guests to try, another great touch.

Quite simply a brilliant location to spend a relaxing weekend away, we loved our time here and I'm sure many others will in the future!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log fire
Liked least: Fine for us, but the stairs wouldn't be suitable for everyone
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
Thanks....glad you had such a great time. I hope we will be here to meet you if you ever manage to return.

best wishes

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The ultimate escape”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Welsh Gatehouse has everything you need to escape the city for a restorative country weekend. An incredible building, beautifully restored with a wood burner and comfy sofa, you'll be wishing for bad weather so you can spend your whole trip curled up inside with a book. Despite being only ten minutes from Chepstow and the Severn Bridge it feels like the middle of nowhere. Surrounded by fields it offers peace and quiet as well as a convenient base for many local walks. The kitchen is very well appointed so you can dine like royalty in your new castle. We came away feeling thoroughly relaxed and would recommend this destination without hesitation.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
31LJ
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gatehouse Gateway”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and with the intent to take a break away from work, relax and unwind. This ticked all the boxes. It is a beautiful , unique property . The owners are lovely , welcoming people who provide all you need to ensure you have the most comfortable and peaceful stay. It was so different to anything we have stayed in before and the history and obvious loving care with which the property is treated is a privilege to be aprt of.
The location is ideal and we went off and visted quite a few places near by including the Brecon Beacons national Park which was outstanding .
IO would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue who wants to feel part of something special and completely unwind away from it all.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniqueness
Liked least: Going backwards down from the bedroom area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidC55
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Romance personified”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner booked this for Valentines day as a surprise and what a surprise it was.

She could not have picked a more romantic and special place for us to stay in. I am not sure what else I can add to the other reviews but I will give it a go.

As you arrive down the country lane the sheer grandeur of the place hits you. I could not believe that we were going to spend the weekend in this stunning 12th century building. Once inside the main gates you climb up the spiral staircase and turn the big key to enter the living area and WOW! Juliet and William have decorated the place so beautifully and in keeping with the history of the place that you feel like you are king of the castle. The only suggestion I would make would be to change the TV for a flat screen. That's me being picky.

There was a goody basket to greet us, the log fire was roaring away and there was a cold bottle of champagne in the fridge. Perfection. We spent the whole of Friday there then decided on the Saturday to go for a walk and found our way across the field where the spring lambs where to the old beautiful church then on to the Village pub, the Millers which was nice and friendly. We then did not leave the gatehouse for the rest of the weekend. We wished we could have stayed for the week.

We will definitely return.

Thank you Juliet and William for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
Thank you. We really appreciate your comments....the lambs are all out in the fields and bouncing around...they make me laugh!

best wishes


Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel_P77
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing weekend”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The pictures don't really do the place justice. The interior has been very nicely decorated given that you are staying in what is essentially an old castle. The bathroom and kitchen are not ultra-luxury (again, this is an old castle - you're staying here for the ambience and adventure, not for a waterfall shower).

The hosts left a lot of great information in the room for us, including some recommended hiking trails which we explored. After getting thoroughly soaked in the rain, we came back to the Gate House, cleaned up, and had a fantastic afternoon relaxing in front of a roaring fire with a glass of wine and a good book.

Not too far from the hotel is a farm shop, where you can get all the grocery staples you need. We had plans to visit a couple of the pubs, but after picking up a few meals' worth of supplies from the shop we ended up eating most meals in the room.

A great, relaxing time.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace
Liked least: Limited hot water in shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
Thanks for these comments....it is great having the farm shop nearby with all its lovely goodies..and the patisserie section there is great for pudding! Fab

Thanks
Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing