We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD”

Indian Empire Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 66 Restaurants in Chepstow
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is listed on google.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I like this restaurant, I love the tiffens you can buy to have a take away with. Fantastic food and very very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    45
    28
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant for the last four years. The staff are magnificent, they enter into conversation and are more than willing to have a joke with you, this despite my southern accent which they find hard to understand. It does get busy and at times you have to wait awhile, but this is because the food is fresh. Take your pick go somewhere that just microwaves it or somewhere like this that actually cooks your meal. I have read those who say that the waiters are surly, from my experience they only get this way with idiots who do not understand that this is not the usual indian where you turn up drunk and abuse the waiters it is a restaurant for families and decent people. Talk to them and they happy talk back. The food is excellent and I have never witnessed anyone who has complained. Oh by the way my wofe and I also drive 50 miles to go there and pass a lot of other places on the way, thats how good it is.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff, reasonable price; what more could you want?”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly staff, reasonable price; what more could you want? Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Same old issues, just on a different night and several years later...”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well, I think it's worth getting to the points straight away.

1. Although I can understand that flies exist, and that they occur in daily life, I've never seen so many in a single restaurant at any given moment... I counted at least 15 over two lamp shades, and although this may not seem a lot for some people, they were bluebottle flies, which come from, you guessed it, maggots!! Clearly something you don't want in a restaurant!

2. Cold starters. It wasn't what I'd call even mildly busy tonight, with many tables empty, so I don't understand why starters should come out stone cold. As much as I made eye-contact with a member of staff, they seemed unconcerned when I tried to usher them over, as if they knew something was already wrong. Any other time they couldn't be happier to help, and if anything, seemed to be pestering us once our mains had arrived. It appeared that they didn't have the knowledge of what each other was doing when serving the customers, as different people came up repeatedly in a short space of time.

3. Costly!! The bill for a group of people such as we had tonight in restaurants in chepstow wouldn't have been 3/4 of what we paid tonight, and for what? A generally ok meal which wasn't even particularly close to the description on the menu. I ordered a Madras thinking it would have some sort of heat or spice to it, when it arrived it had the heat rating of a korma; surely if I want a medium-hot curry I want some sort of spice to it!!

4. You'll be glad to hear, by now, that this is the last major point, toilets. I've not been to a restaurant in the last ten years with a toilet as dirty and cold as these. I thought that this restaurant would've changed over the last three years, but I was sadly mistaken!


My advice, until the restaurant sees these issues for themselves and decides to take action, I would not recommend it to a friend, let alone go back myself, funnily enough exactly what I said two years ago! People wonder why the Indian empire has not won awards since 2007, well today I present the evidence. Back in 2007 I used to love going to them, but since then it's gone down and down and down, I can't see a recovery myself! You can go see for yourself, but I wouldn't blame you for not going!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickel186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Downhill.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We've been going here for years and have noticed it going downhill for a long time. The food is still OK but the service can be very slow and the staff can be quite unfriendly. The toilets are an absolute disgrace, freezing cold and filthy dirty. There are far better Indian restaurants in Chepstow now, very sad because this one used to be one of the best.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janirog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Empire Restaurant also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Indian Empire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing