We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welsh grand national stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The First Hurdle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“welsh grand national stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 3 colleagues on a works day and night outing for the welsh grand national 28th december, check-in swift and lots of info given from the lady checking us in and keys to our rooms ready at 10.30am which was a bonus, rooms were abit cold but clean and had all the facilities you need for an overnight stay(however re-using/leaving half empty shower gel and shampoo for the next guests(us) is a tad unprofessional and looks very cheap), breakfast was good and served with a smile and tea/coffee & toast replenished (if I was being picky then the addition of beans and hash brown to your breakfast would be a great service standard)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bingobangobongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
42
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
llandrindod wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my first stop on my Offas Dyke walk from Chepstow to Prestatyn.
Compared to other places I would visit during the walk this was not the best or best value.
Room was clean but small. The breakfast OK but not the best ingredients. It seemed to be a place in 'close season' mode.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

After they couldn't find my pre booking made via email, I should have walked out! Unfortunately, it was late afternoon and I had had a tiring journey by train. They pretended to discover an unbooked room, and I paid by card for two nights.

I went to bed with unblemished skin and woke up the next morning, with wrist, neck and ankles covered with BITES! The proprietress told me (note the quotation marks) "If you slander me, I will sue you!"

I have pictures of the bites. BTW, The Welsh Tourrist Board staff are an excellent mooring in time of trouble.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boatgqypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janecooper, Owner at The First Hurdle Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Boatggypsy.
As we spoke about after the first night of your visit with us, it was highly unlikely that there would be any 'bed bugs' as we had never in the history of the Guest House heard such a claim. The mattresses are rutinely renewed and the cleaning staff do an amazing job. But of course concerned about your claim, both myself and the cleaning staff checked the bed thoroughly and found nothing other than very clean and recently new mattresses. Although certain that nothing would be found in our immaculately clean guest house, we wanted to get an official certificate to check your claim 100%, and so called in a B.P.C.A registered company to check the rooms themselves. We received instant verification from them with a signed and stamped document stating that ''nothing could be found either alive or dead'' in the room you stayed in (No 3), and ''that there were no signs of any earlier presence'. Claims such as yours are extremely damaging toa small family business such as ours, we suggest that you seek medical advice as you may have some kind of airborne allergy or other skin condition which may cause these problems, but one thing we can be sure of is that it was NOT CAUSED BY BED BUGS AT THIS GUEST HOUSE. We kindly ask you to remove such a mistaken review and please send us an email or mail address so that we can send you the relevent documentation to prove this claim not to be true. Regards Mrs J. Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chepstow hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a very nice bed and breakfast and is an ideal base to start the Wales coast to coast walk. My twin room was very spacious although a little in need of redecorating. The bed was very comfortable. The shower worked ok. The place is full of character with creaky floorboards and uneven floors. Breakfast consisted of a full English which was very good. There was no fruit juice, yogurt and the only fruit available was a banana. The owner was very helpful. The First Hurdle is however good value for money. I would rate my stay midway between average and very good. It is ideally situated for numerous pubs in the town and the castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is an exceptional bed and breakfast, quiet, friendly and excellent food, the room was spacious, clean and had an on suite shower room. Just a few yards from the edge of town and about half a mile from the castle and museum, the only down side to this trip was the parking located in the main pay and display car park just around the corner the charges only apply monday to saturday from 9am to 5pm at a cost of £1.80 for 4 hours parking so you have to keep an eye on the time and nip back to put an extra ticket on the car. All in all an excellent weekend despite the parking.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same, the front looks onto the road (a quiet narrow one way street) and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Musty smell when we arrived, the sash cord on the window in room was broken, my husband found a large stone outside to prop it open as it was a hot July day. Bed was very soft but was clean. The guest house was on the one way system through Chepstow so very noisy past the bedroom window through the night as well. Breakfast very basic, no fruit juice on offer and only 2 very ripe bananas in the fruit bowl for 7 guests in dining room.
Only 2 portions of milk in the room although there were several sachets of coffee and teabags. Option of hot chocolate and biscuits would have been nice.
Am afraid I would not recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The First Hurdle is essentially two buildings that have been joined to make one, hence it's a deceptively big place. It's also an old place which must have quite a history, sadly there wasn't any information on display to tell us. First impressions weren't brilliant as we were greeted by a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the stairs which got even stronger on entering our room. We found the extractor fan in the en suite bathroom didn't appear to work, and the sash window had been painted closed a long time ago. As soon as my other half explained the problem, we were moved to another room with the explanation a previous guest must have been smoking and they had no idea. Not sure how one could have missed something that obvious though, or what the outcome would have been if no other room had been available. The room we stayed in was clean, neat and basic. It had a smashing view over the garden at the rear of the property and the countryside beyond. The furniture in the room was on the elderly and tired side, but really nothing a coat of paint and a few well chosen accessories wouldn't have brightened up. The heating, as previous visitors have noted, got turned down every time we went out resulting in an extremely bracing atmosphere when we returned. I appreciate that heating costs money and no one wants the heating on full in an empty room. However, if the heating must be turned down during the day when guests are out, please turn it back on at around 4pm, especiallyin winter! Having a shower in the cold was a pretty teeth gritting experience. The smoke alarm also emitted a flashing light all night, which was quite odd and woke us up several times. We couldn't get the TV to work, but that is most likely our lack of nous with things like that and, to be fair, we could have asked if it mattered to us terribly. Breakfast seems to have been a bit of a bugbear for a few other reviewers. I don't eat breakfast and my other half is a toast and porridge man, and he found both to his satisfaction. I noticed other guests tucking into what looked like a very decent portion of scrambled eggs and tomatoes, so it didn't seem like there was too much of an issue there. Breakfast is also charged separately, which is a bonus if, like me, it isn't something you normally bother with. Coffee was a bit on the weak and feeble side, but I do like my coffee pretty strong so that's a matter of personal taste. We got a friendly welcome and the folks who work there seem pleasant and cheery. A romantic getaway this isn't, but if you are looking for somewhere sensibly priced to do an overnight stay, First Hurdle is conveniently located and OK. Winter break discounts are offered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#6 of 15 in Chepstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#4 of 15 in Chepstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 15 in Chepstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.8 Accommodation
No.8 Accommodation
#3 of 15 in Chepstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Hurdle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Hurdle Guest House

Property: The First Hurdle Guest House
Address: 9/10 Upper Church St, Chepstow NP6 5EX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The First Hurdle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Guest House in a modernised and fully refurbished 17th century town house with 12 rooms each with en-suite bathroom. The Guest House is ideally located in the centre of Historic Chepstow at the bottom of the main restaurant and shopping street, and just 2 minutes from the castle and river. All rooms are beautifully decorated and contain HD smart TVs, coffee and tea making facilities. We serve continental and cooked English breakfast buffet so eat to your hearts content. We also house the highly rated Stone Rock Pizzeria which serves Artisan Neapolitan Pizza most evenings of the week. We hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The First Hurdle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hurdle Chepstow
The First Hurdle Guest House Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing