We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The First Hurdle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from a nights stay in between two days diving and I am thoroughly impressed. I think myself and the dive school will be staying here regurly. The service was fantastic, the rooms were kept do a high standard and the experience as a whole was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 132 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the First Hurdle in late November and got a 2 nights for the price of 3 deal. The first night the radiator was barely on and the shower the next morning was cold. Bearing in mInd this was November and it was bitterly cold this was not a good start. The owner did rectify this however as soon as we told her. We were staying at the front of the building and there was a lot of noise from traffic and also from people out drinking on the weekend. The breakfast was good and the room was adequate. Basically, there is nothing wrong with this b and b if you want cheap, basic accommodation but all the little extras are missing. There is no choice of breakfast, no fruit, muffins, yoghurts etc, no hot chocolate or biscuits in the room, batteries didnt work in the remote control. Wouldnt recommend a room at the front if you want a good nights sleep. They did let us leave our luggage in the foyer while we went out after check out and before our train was due which was a bonus. Also, very good, central location.

Room Tip: Not at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay , lovely clean well appointed rooms and yummy breakfast, right in the centre of chepstow which is a really pretty town and the nearby castle is well worth a visit, we were made to feel very welcome at the first hurdle , would definitely stay again , highly recommended and excellent value for money !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just keep coming back and can't thank Jane enough for her helpful and friendly hospitality. The rooms are always clean, the breakfast hearty and the welcome as warm as you could wish for. Look forward to our next visit to the area and will for sure be staying at the First Hurdle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great town centre location close to bars and restaurants. Friendly atmosphere and great value,nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and well presented. Will definitely stay here again when I am in Chepstow. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As the first stop on our Offa's Dyke path we had high expectations for The First Hurdle because the name indicated that it would be suited to walkers. However, the room was cramped and not particularly clean. A very disappointing start.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemloupoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good location and clean comfortable room. Provision for cyclists with storage. No soap or shampoo provided with the shower facilities. Breakfast - shortage of eggs in a B&B with Tesco just down the road, otherwise average .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel Chepstow
The George Hotel Chepstow
#11 of 14 in Chepstow
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Hurdle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Hurdle Guest House

Address: 9/10 Upper Church Street, Chepstow NP16 5EX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: $78 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The First Hurdle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Guest House in a modernised and fully refurbished 17th century town house with 12 rooms each with en-suite bathroom. The Guest House is ideally located in the centre of Historic Chepstow at the bottom of the main restaurant and shopping street, and just 2 minutes from the castle and river. All rooms are beautifully decorated and contain HD smart TVs, coffee and tea making facilities. We serve continental and cooked English breakfast buffet so eat to your hearts content. We also house the highly rated Stone Rock Pizzeria which serves Artisan Neapolitan Pizza most evenings of the week. We hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The First Hurdle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hurdle Chepstow
The First Hurdle Guest House Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing