We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel and resort is a lovely conversion of a much older manor house and church. The room was small but had everything we needed and was beautifully appointed. As is typical in the UK, stairs are everywhere, but it wasn't too hard to navigate. There is a fine dining restaurant (closed the night we were there, but open for the included breakfast), a less formal restaurant (where we did eat dinner), and a bar (which carried the US-Ghana game in the World Cup). The food was excellent. The staff at the hotel were particularly stand-out—very helpful with all requests. Internet in the rooms was extremely expensive at 6 lbs Sterling for one hour; we discovered that it was free in the lobby, so we used that instead. We were told that a round of golf is included with an overnight stay; we wish we had had time! Incredible breakfast buffet, with eggs cooked to order and marvelous fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looksformuseums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel's publicity shots concentrate on the exterior of some buildings. There's no doubt that these buildings are in fact lovely. The actual accommodation, however, is in buildings that were described by a member of staff as, "Built fifty years ago, with an estimated life of thirty years." The room was O.K., with one or two glaring flaws. When we explained that the toilet bowl was cracked, they said they'd get someone "on" to this. I said it must take considerable force to crack a toilet bowl. They responded, "Wedding parties." In the absence of air conditioning, you'll likely leave the windows open. With a tee right beside the window, you'll get early morning golf conversation. The food in the restaurant was good and the people very pleasant, so a middling review. Not awful, but as is the case in some other hotels, the loveliness is what you might call "reception deep."

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding at the end of may! Was beautiful from start to finish. Lovely place, the ceremony was lovely, and also the surroundings! Room was spotless and staff were all polite and friendly. Thanks :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophiemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from 3 day golf break at the above. Excellent venue. Staff well trained and friendly. 2 golf courses. One more well maintained and longer than other, although the smaller of the courses is still tricky.
Rooms were a bit tired and quite small, but adequate. Food good. Atmosphere in the Sports bar excellent. We did have Wimbledon final and quarters of World Cup!

Room Tip: Overlooking golf course if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyn005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel while on a gardening tour. Although the hotel is a mecca for golfers - you are surrounded by golf course throughout, the stay was nevertheless most comfortable. The centre of the hotel consists of picturesque old buildings alongside a working church, although our accommodation was in a large modern block to one side - rooms entirely adequate and perfectly comfortable. Breakfasts were brilliant; dinners (just for our group) were OK - same carrots and broccoli every night?) Would have been good to have fairtrade tea and coffee in the rooms. Wifi horrendously expensive in the rooms - £6 an hour! - but free in the lobby. Difficult to go for walks in the grounds because of danger of flying golf balls. Rooms quiet, despite proximity of two motorways and railway line. Superlative service throughout. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anny454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Delighted you had a good time. Thanks for the fab feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed with my wife for one night last weekend and we had a great time. As a Gold Elite member, I was concerned with a review from two weeks back of a Gold member who was not so happy and gave a 2* review. I am pleased to report that from check-in to check-out the service and attention was really excellent. I was met with a personal welcome, provided with a room upgrade (lakeside lodge), offered free breakfasts, paper, late check-out etc by exceedindly courteous and knowledgable (about Gold Elite benefits) staff. It was a busy weekend with a wedding and many golfers - which may not be to all tastes - but the hotel, grounds and locality (try the Millers Arms in nearby Mathern for food and good local atmosphere) exceeded my expectations. Congratulations and thanks to the St Pierre staff for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Delighted all went well for your visit with us. Hope to see you back at St Pierre soon. Thanks for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We attended our friends wedding on the 21 st June 2014 . We had the wedding & reception at this hotel, the food was very good, the staff we pleasant ,overall everything was great & wedding was amazing, thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Hotel & golf resort was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sid563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks for the great feedback. Delighted you had a good time, hope we see you again before too long. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
11 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
6.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: $91 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing