We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd class service first visit (Aug 13), Almost 1st class service and cleanliness second visit (Jan 14).”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“2nd class service first visit (Aug 13), Almost 1st class service and cleanliness second visit (Jan 14).”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My first visit to St Piere in August 2013 was a little disappointing. The service wasn't the best during this busy period and the rooms in the main part of the hotel needs to be cleaned better; our room at the time had so much dust behind the radiators that made breathing difficult for my partner. Asthmatics beware!

Our 2nd visit just recently was almost flawless. We made a last minute booking; however that was not straight forward - the website didn't work on either of our phones so we tried to call the hotel direct (3 times) but no one answered so we had to call the main companies number to speak to an American. Thankfully that booking for straight forward.

Upon arrival we were greeted pleasantly with a smile. The girl on reception was fantastic throughout. She made our stay more pleasant. We booked the lake view room and were delighted with it. Cant fault it and it was much cleaner than the main rooms back at the hotel.

We ate at the expensive restaurant and were left disappointed with the staff and food quality. First off the waitresses are clearly inexperienced and lack social skills. They didn't know what gins they had nor did they mix my partners Martini with the mixer (which was comical). The food was way over cooked and a disappointment. However we were delighted with our room so didn't bother complaining to the staff since the receptionist was superb.

Breakfast was ok and I don't have complaints about this only a suggestion: offer a fully cooked breakfast option from fresh as other hotels do this as well as a buffi.

In the morning the same girl as the night before was again brilliant and spent time to show us other rooms as we wanted to see if this is a venue worth getting married in.

Its just the small things they need to work on here. Cleanliness throughout / friendly staff at busy times / better food quality in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-Producer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback about our Receptionist. Your feedback regarding your meal has been passed to our Exec Chef and also our Restaurant Manager so that they can review your comments with their team. Hope we see you again before too long - maybe for your wedding?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    429
    206
    76
    28
See reviews for
194
472
29
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Arrived late into the property on a miserable (normal Welsh) night. People couldn't have been nicer and proper Marriott service. They walk you to show you where the health club or restarunt is.
Driving range is open at night and should have brought my golf gear. Spa is great. Ate at the causal restaurant both nights and it was usual average. Rooms are tired but clean and big. Will bring my wife next time on the trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to you bringing your wife next time; we'll see what we can do about the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Arrived on a very quiet Friday night just after New Year and in the middle of horrible stormy weather but the hotel was a welcome sight at the end of a windy drive.
Lovely welcome at reception and directions to room and for parking our car. Soon in our small DBL room on the top floor of the annexe, which was basic but comfy. Not to the usual Marriott standards I have stayed in but better than I was expecting after reading other reports and was reasonable for the price I paid.
Most things catered for, there was T&C making facilities with biscuits, ample toiletries for two and the bathroom had plenty of space for all your bits and bobs. It was very warm in the room but the large radiator could be switched off (which we did) or turned down to your liking.
Popped downstairs for a few drinks (we had already eaten so didn't require dinner, but the restaurant looked very atmospheric for those dinning) and the bar was deserted because of the bad weather but I we had a relaxing drink in the peace and quite. There was a separate area where sports was being played over the large TV if that is your thing, otherwise there are plenty of areas to relax throughout the ground floor.
Breakfast was plentiful - continental help yourself bit, cereals, breads, juices etc.. then you could order a full hot breakfast from the waitress but no menus were available so it was have or not have. When we asked for sauces when our breakfast arrived (after being asked if there was anything else we needed) they were pointed out to us for us to collect from the other end of the room.....it might have been useful to have these to hand or at least brought to us. However, small point as breakfast was hearty and filling.
Nice overnight stay for the price paid, not luxury but not pretending to be. Just good clean Marriott welcome and stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AiryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
So glad you had a good time, and that the horrible weather didn't spoil your visit. Have noted your feedback re menus for breakfast etc, and will pass on to our Restaurant Manager.

Thanks again, hope we see you again soon [maybe when the weather brightens up!]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights the weekend after Christmas when visiting family in the area. First impressions of the hotel were good, welcoming staff and a comfortable reception. We booked a kingsize room with balcony in the Lakeside Village for £169 per night; to be honest we were disappointed with the room. The fridge was broken and smelled musty, and the room & bathroom were in need of an up-date, the bathroom in particular was more travel lodge (not even making it to premier inn) standard. Saying that the view from the balcony was great and the setting peaceful.
The communal areas of the hotel appeared above expectations. We had a couple of drinks in the bar before eating in Morgan's Restaurant, having paid for Smirnoff & orange my husband noticed the vodka being poured from a generic bottle beneath the bar - not acceptable, if i'd seen it myself I would have said something! The meal consisted of a set menu - choice from 5 starters, mains & desserts for £26 although £8 supplement for the ribeye (which of course we had!). The starters & desserts were delicious (although we would never usual eat 3 courses & would have preferred the option of just 2 courses). The steak was a prime cut of ribeye although let down by the frozen chips on the side. The breakfast on the other hand was exceptional, although a self-serve buffet breakfast it was probably one of the best we have had.
All in all the stay wasn't that bad, the hotel is nice and clean with staff friendly & helpful. We have stayed in much better hotels for a similar price though and felt the experience was really cheapened by all the add-ons and the hotel's need to charge for everything which you don't find with smaller, non-chain hotels. Next time we visit the area we will definitely be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKellyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your breakfast. We have noted your other points and they will be passed to the relevant Managers for investigation. Thanks for the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year. We had a good stay. We enjoyed a walk along the Severn river (public footpath provided by the Welsh government), the indoor pool (with jacuzzi), walking around the beautiful golf course.

We can recommend the Shangri-la Chinese restaurant in Chepstow. There is also a traditional pub in the nearby village of Mathern but unfortunately they did not serve food on Sunday night. Looked nice though.

It is true that the hotel could do with a bit of updating; the room was also a bit small. I can confirm other reviewers' comments regarding a mouldy smell in the hallways. Also, there was no conditioner in the bathroom (apparently this has been phased out throughout Marriott hotels), no bathrobes for standard class rooms; slippers were brought upon request. However, this was more than compensated by the helpful staff who often went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. This is especially true for kitchen & staff at Morgan's restaurant. Also front desk staff were very friendly. Thank you.

Internet was included on the second day when we have a "stay for breakfast" rate (not included as standard).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. Delighted you were able to experience the local surroundings too; maybe you could do part of the Offa's Dyke or Wales Coastal Path on your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived at the St. Pierre for a family wedding being held over the weekend after Christmas. The hotel was very welcoming with lovely warm reception lounges and dining room. Our room was also very comfortable with good facilities. The wedding was excellent and would recommend the venue for anyone who lives nearby. We had a long journey but it was all to the good! Would give advice if you are at all infirm as car park a fair distance from main hotel and lots of stairs to navigate but it was equalled by its surroundings good food and very courteous staff.

Room Tip: If you are infirm make sure you get a room on floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legseleven37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Delighted you had a good time and that all went well with your family wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

First time at this hotel and it turned out to be excellent. Dined as a group in the evening after a day at the races.
The food was well presented and with 20 in our party and a variety of choices no complaints on the quality or service.
The staff provided a curteous efficient service and were only to happy to help.
The room I had was clean, spacious and had all the facilities required for a great stay.
Went to the Gym first thing in the morning and the facilities were very modern and staff on hand to provided guidance and assistance if required (even at 6 am on a Sunday morning)
Breakfast was again top class with a wide range of food on offer from full cooked breakfast to continental (serve yourself).
Very happy to recommend this hotel for weekends and shortbreads.

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking the Golf course a great way to wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Great to receive such positive feedback. Maybe you should come to St Pierre again for a more relaxing break!
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing