We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foreigner's Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are from outside of the UK, then this hotel has all the charm you'd expect from a hotel on the British countryside. Hotel is an old manor (13th/14th century?) from the outside and is very much intact (probably did considerable renovation at some point), but from the inside, it is completely modernized with small hints of olden times. The lobby and lounge area is beautiful and great if you want to read a book or just have some peace. The in-house bar fills up with golfers at night, and they are a great crowd to strike up a conversation with. Also the breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HershalP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

So glad you had a good time with us. Maybe you can have a go at the golf next time, so you will have some stories of your own!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

924 - 930 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a long weekend during September, 1 night before a wedding, wedding night and then night after. I stayed, along with others from the bridal party, in the lakeside honeymoon suite. Lovely and spacious altho I did think the room deserved bigger than just a double bed! We ordered room service and extra bedding which came promptly and staff were very accommodating and friendly. Being positioned right by the lake, unfortunately resulted in lots of midges and other insects joining us at night! The room was spotless too.

As a wedding venue it was picturesque. Even with a little rain it didn't dampen anyone's spirits. It was a magical day for all-St Pierre do weddings well! You won't be dissappointed if you choose to get married here and the little church to have a blessing in alongside a civil ceremony is a must-it added a quaint charm to the proceedings and added to the romance of the day. The wedding breakfast was delicious and even though Hubbie wasn't impressed with the cost of drinks (£5.50 glass of Pinot and £4.20 pint of lager) it's probably the average price at similar hotels!

My husband and I spent the wedding night and the next, in a cottage room off the courtyard, whilst our children and my parents stayed at rose cottage. Rose cottage was as the honeymoon suite-spacious, spotlessly clean but offered a huge queen sized bed, along with 2 bathrooms. The cottage room (we had buttercup) was a perfect size for a 2 night stay, equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, iron and board and safe. The only thing missing was a mini fridge, but as these fridges usually fail in keeping anything cool anyway, it wasn't really missed! We ordered room service on our second night, which was delicious and delivered in 20mins and as it was our own wedding anniversary, they kindly brought a champagne bucket with ice and glasses too. We had an anniversary card from st Pierre too, which I thought a nice touch.
We had breakfast on 3 occasions in Morgan's restaurant and were seated promptly, offered tea, coffee or hot chocolate straight away. Full English and continental
on offer, with a good selection. We enjoyed eating here.

Location wise, ur right on the m4 with quick access to Bristol or Newport and cardiff and Chepstow itself is really lovely.

Unfortunately we didn't use the golf or spa facilities, so i cant comment personally, as we didn't have time, but from the amount of people using both, St Pierre must be a popular choice!

Overall, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needsunwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

So glad you had a good stay with us, and that the wedding went well. You must try the Leisure Club, and maybe even have a golf lesson next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A little difficult manoeuvring through the entrance but this is because of the structure of this beautiful building. It would have been helpful to have been given assistance to our room as we had wheelchair and baby with us. The ramp up to the door was too steep for me to push the wheelchair and another guest had to help me. Sulkily there were no biscuits in the room but I'm sure they would have given us some had we asked. The staff were very friendly and interested in us. The breakfast was excellent seated in the lovely surroundings. Room service arrived in good time and was adequate. I was pleased to see handrails over the bath but stooping down for the loo roll may have caused balance problems for some! In this day and age wi fi should be free and there was a charge in the rooms for this. Also bottled water would have been nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments; delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll make sure there are plenty of biscuits in your room next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Hotel is typical of a Marriot Standard Hotel, Clean, comfortable, everything well presented, efficient and friendly staff. The surroundings at St Pierre are what makes this Hotel special. We upgraded out room to one of the Lodges around the lakeside. Take a walk around the grounds to find a lovely Chapel and a beautiful building as it's like a small castle. I would say a beautiful setting for a wedding. The breakfast as usual for Marriot is second to none. This spot is also great to pop on the train at Chepstow and go into Cardiff for the day which is great for shopping etc. Highly recommend and one of our favourite Marriot Hotels in this country.

Room Tip: Upgrade your Room to one of the lakeside lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenhector123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Delighted you had such a lovely time; thankyou for your kind comments. Maybe next time you'll have an opportunity to visit Chepstow itself; there's lots to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed with my wife during June, but I did not have the chance to write a review up till now.

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. It looks very impressive and service was second to none as well.

We found the hotel easy enough with our Satnav.

Check in went very quickly and on a professional way.

We did not have the chance to dine here, but all outlets did look very nice.

The room was of high quality with all the little things that you would expect in such an establishment.

Breakfast was fantastic and the service did match the location....

Check out again was very simple and quick.

Parking is complimentary, but you would come to expect this as the hotel is located in the middle a fantastic golf course.

Cardiff is in driving range, but I could easily see ourselves spending the day here just to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Very glad everything went well for your stay with us, although its a shame you didn't get more time to try out our restaurants, and the leisure club etc. Maybe next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were 30 ladies on a golfing trip, excellent stay. The service levels were superb, I was chilly in the evening so contacted reception. A heater arrived within 5 minutes. We had a separate room and pre ordered our evening meals and both were delicious, clean plates all round! Breakfast was the usual buffet with choice to suit everyone. There are 2 golf courses, we played both. The Old Course is by far the better, good condition with some very tricky approach shots, the lake behind the green and pin at back! We played The Mathern course on our arrival day, a good warm up but easy to lose your way as signage not the best. Also lots of winding streams to catch wayward shots. All the staff were incredibly helpful. Only downside is the price of the wine £7.50 per glass or£21 per bottle. However, there is an ice machine and ice bucket in the room! Nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the hotel itself. There are rooms in the village complex but you need coats, brolly etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Glad your golfing event went well, and that you all enjoyed yourselves. Maybe the Mathern Course ditches will get you next time! Thankyou for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent two nights at the St. Pierre using Marriott points. We were given a room off the courtyard which was pretty sparse but as they were fully booked we didn't request a change.

At check in we were told that the "fine" dining restaurant (beautiful) was fully booked each night until after 9 PM. We booked the casual restaurant and was disappointed to realize that it was identical in name and menu to the hotel in Meon Valley. I ordered the sea bass salad I so enjoyed there and was disappointed to find it not even a close second. The greens were old and the fish was greasy.

We played golf at the old course and it was in excellent condition in spite of being very busy. Great views. Again nothing to buy in the pro shop with the logo except a ball market. Marriott is really missing the boat by not stocking these clubs with logo items.

The hotel was really packed but the breakfast buffet was well stocked and the food was hot.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Many thanks for your constructive comments. Delighted you enjoyed your golf, although our Chef will be sorry to hear that your meal didn't match your expectations. Will pass your good ideas regarding branded items on to our Marketing department. Do hope you'll visit us again.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
6.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
11 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: $94 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort in Chepstow, United Kingdom - set in the rolling hills of South Wales - features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing