We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourdet1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bourdet1”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here a week ago as we were in Chepstow for a very sad and emotional family funeral I can honestly say that it is not a venue I would choose again. The grounds are absolutely stunning and when you approach the hotel along the drive you think you really have cracked it big time however although the older part of the premises is extremely beautiful and some of the staff a sheer delight, in my opinion, things go downhill from there. Yes it is a golfing venue but there are other private guests that appear to have to take second place to the vast numbers of the golfing community who are loud, discourteous and quite rude. The first evenings meal was less than satisfactory especially dessertwise - I chose champagne sorbet that needed to be served with a straw when a member of staff was questioned about the state of the dish I was informed that their freezers had broken down an issue that is nothing to do with the guest and quite honestly extremely undiplomatic, unprofessional and it should never have been served. There were a catalogue of unacceptable issues apart from the young receptionist and two of her colleagues who were as stated previously delightful, friendly, professional and sympathetic to our reason for being there. Once again in our opinion the St Pierre is overpriced for what it offers.

Room Tip: If you are going to choose to stay at the St Pierre and do not want a route march to the Leisure Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback about the friendliness of our Reception team. Its always difficult to balance the needs of guests, since some will want to relax in peace and quiet and other may want to celebrate or be a bit more exuberant. Apologies if this detracted from your enjoyment of your visit with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    447
    219
    83
    29
See reviews for
204
502
30
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been several times to this hotel and golf course. We paid an extra £25 for a superior room overlooking the lake and this was money well spent as it was spacious and well appointed. We have always looked forward to eating in "Morgans" restaurant after our exertions on the course, but the standard has dropped. A very uninteresting (limited, but that's ok if it results in well cooked, tasty food) menu seemed to reflect the lack of interest in trying to please the diners. My beef, brazed with button mushrooms and baby onions was a big lump in a sea of greyish gravy with hardly a sight of the aforementioned vegetables - so beware.

Breakfast was ok if you like all your grilled produce kept warm for hours in huge batches and effectively steamed and hard, tepid, fried eggs.

The golf course was splendid as usual though!

Room Tip: Courtyard cottages or lakeside rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your golf, and the view over the lake; its very relaxing, isn't it! We have recently appointed a new Executive Chef, and I'm sure you'll see some changes, and improvements, when you next visit. Many thanks for the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. The hotel and ground were beautiful and our room over looked the lake which was amazing. The only thing to let down a perfect stay was the extremely slow service in both the bar and restaurant, but apart from that it's a weekend we won't forget

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_dcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Glad you had such a lovely time. The views from the rooms overlooking the lake are beautiful aren't they? Sorry the service was slow in the restaurant. Hope to see you again, and look forward to hearing that the actions taken to speed things up are working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we were really looking forward to an exceptional evening out with friends to catch up from our busy lives. We arrived to dine, there was no welcome only a foreign waitress looked at me from the station and said "name". We would like to have aperitif at the bar first but there was no mention of relaxation before dining. We were ushered straight to the table, offered a set menu or a la carte, but you can mix them up she said.
The dessert cuttlery was incorrectly positioned was the next thing i noticed.
Upon reading the menu the photo copy of the set menu was short of ink and the description hardly legible, the a la carte was not a la carte but set meals no extra offerings as one would expect for the true definition.
We were brought our drinks at the table and immediately asked would be order it was not busy at this time and there were five waiters flitting about, four times in ten minutes we were asked to order there were to many interruptions to even study the menu at this point.
My husband requested that we wished to be allowed to take enjoy our drink and relax.
Then i ordered the wine which was put on the table after pouring the first then positioned a metre away in an ice bucket and despite the excess staff no one offered to replenish the glasses we had to do it ourselves.
When we did order the waiter did not know the menu and was vague and could not answer simple questions or volunteer to find out
The food was mediocre, the pork was tasty but the vegetables were cold, none of the waiters had cloths to carry the food, the service was sloppy , the steaks were chewy but had flavour but were served on the most unhygienic looking wooden chopping boards with a tin pot for the potatoes.
Thankfully things improved with desserts all four were very nice. well done to the chef patissierie,
the liqueur order was wrong and took some time to correct and then finally the errors were charged to the bill. All in all we did not have a special experience which is so sad from what this place was thirty years ago and for the history and uniqueness the building holds.
Summary unprofessional and under trained staff lack of uniform and dress standards .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mistygeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice place,we stayed 2 nights! hotel is made typical marriott style with the main block being an old castle and the main rooms being a modern added block. great location for tintern abbey, chepstow castle, monmouth, the kymin and the brecons. not a bad place and if you have your golf clubs the old course is the recommended course out of two.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit with us. There's so much to visit near to St Pierre, you must come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful. Stayed on points, and placed in the most GORGEOUS Marriott room ever – we are talking king-size bed (luxurious – slept like logs), lake view (and how, it’s a gorgeous lake and the balcony is over its shore – no kidding, the ducks are about 4ft underneath you – how much closer can you get?), plenty of room, absolutely nothing to fault – idyllic setting away from the main building and at the end of the “village”. BRILLIANT concept. You park your car almost outside the front door. Truly beautiful.

I really do not like having to say this, and I would never normally dream of using TripAdvisor to do so with such a trusted business partner, but somebody has to say it loud enough so that Marriot’s senior management sit up. Until we make Marriott’s senior management sit up and take notice of us, they won’t do anything. Trust me, we have tried and tried, but no-one is listening. I guess that things are being scuffed away, under the table, so I’m trying TripAdvisor. As with almost every other Marriott, the evening meals are appalling. This one in particular. Oh c’mon, it’s actually difficult to burn lamb. We were fully compensated by the competent assistant manager, as we explained how we earn all those points we’re awarded, and re-iterated that conference lunches are great. But we would never dream of putting overnight clients in a Marriott unless there were a choice of nearby eateries.

I can’t put it more blatantly than that, and this from “Partnership Award” winners. We’ve tried writing, withdrawn overnight clientele and placed them elsewhere (Marriott, you are losing up to 10 overnight clients per night per week). Even that hasn’t worked. In a hotel as beautiful as this one is, it’s heresy.

PLEASE do not let me put you off an overnight stay in the “village” here – it’s idyllic and very restful. Just make your own dining arrangements and you’ll be fine.

I would never normally use TripAdvisor in this context, ever. But we need to put some pressure on these people to help them understand our wants. Until we do so, nothing will change – we’ve been given re-assurances in the past. Sorry, just hasn’t happened – to the point where we’ve long since withdrawn overnight guests. And even THAT hasn’t worked. We have to use what little say we apparently have, to make a senior admin team wake up and realise what they have, right there in their hands.

So overjoyed to stay in the best Marriott hotel rooms in the UK EVER – so disappointed (and frustrated) at the same time.

I do hope this isn't yet another very competent Marriott Manager lost to yet another hotel chain.

Room Tip: Choose one of the "village" rooms - room 400 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 454JamesH454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my second stay at this Marriott, its the perfect location for the race course. The grounds are beautiful, the staff friendly and the buidling itself very eye catching. On both trips we have travelled down in the afernoon and had no problem getting on the free wi-fi in the reception area and comfortably been able to work for a while before heading off for the racing. We have never eaten here so I am unable to comment on the food but the service in the bar serving drinks has always been prompt and friendly. The rooms are nice, clean, modern and not too small. This time we stayed in room 110 and had a pretty little seating area outside, again we didnt get to use it as we literally used the hotel as a base for the racing, heading in late afternoon and leaving early the following morning. My only gripe this time is that our room was an adjoining room so had a door next to the bed, I dont know if it was this or the walls but I woke around 3am as I could hear a noise which turned out to be the neighbouring guest snoring and it took a while to get back to sleep. Then again early morning, much to for my liking I was woken to a conversation going on next door, yes I could hear every word so again not great as I had a rubbish nights sleep, I dont remember this last time we stayed perhaps we were just unlucky!!! I would definitley stay again but would ask to NOT be put in an adjoining room. Good location for the racing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizgemmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Delighted you had a good time with us; sorry about the snoring guest in the room next door. The interconnecting rooms are useful if you have children with you, but this can affect the noise in both rooms. Hope you are able to visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing