We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Maze of Corridors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of Works party. Straightforward check in although main carpark a short walk away. Directed to our room back out of hotel through the courtyard. Slightly concerned by this as we were all 'dressing up' for our meal & concerned with long dresses & heels, later discovered from colleagues that there are routes through corridors without need to get cold & wet. ( look for narrow staircase next to reception) Our room overlooked the 1st t of golf club & was well equipped with plenty if space. Once aware of our location we them moved car closer, however carpark not that well signposted. Hotel is very nice, some lovely 'old features', drinks expensive but food fantastic both evening meal & breakfast. Its very daunting at first because of the vast amount of corridors but once you get your bearings its fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClearyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a flying visit. Actually that is not true as I did not fly anywhere. Mine was a short visit having driven a long way in the wet during the longest monsoon season the UK has ever known.

It was work that brought me. A press conference to be held between a round of golf on the hotel course and a dinner in one of the private dining areas and so far so average. But walking, stiffly after nearly four hours at the wheel, towards the hotel there are some lovely old buildings to enjoy not least the ancient gateway and the beautiful little church hard by the entrance. Especially as the sun started to shine just as I arrived.

There is much that is modern and ugly, not least where the golf professional's shop is which looks like a temporary overspill area for an impoverished local junior school. But, and here comes the but: the staff here are friendly, welcoming and helpful and what I had to eat and drink was solid and enjoyable. Dinner was conference food but plenty of it and hot. So much so that when my cheese board order had been overlooked and profuse apologies offered, I was too full to want it anyway.

And the golf course, although sodden and with a number of temporary greens when I played, is still well worth playing. The front nine starts in uninspiring fashion but by the time you have climbed up to the fifth there are some holes of genuine quality and splendid views across to the Severn Bridge which looked magnificent in the early afternoon sunshine. And the closing holes are first rate.

Afterwards we received excellent service in the large Zest bar which offers a wide range of beers, cider, wines and spirits. Not getting to bed until nearly two I did not pay close scrutiny to my room but it was clean, functional and with a view out to the 18th green of the golf course.

After little more than 20 hours since checking in it was almost time for me to leave and head towards the south east, but I enjoyed a hearty breakfast although, sadly, my bete noire of the self cooking toast machine was employed in the dining room.

This means that either your breakfast is cold by the time the toast is cooked on these infernal inventions or else your toast is. But a very friendly lady who was on duty frying eggs said she would toast it and bring it over when it was done. Staff at the St Pierre are like that. They really do make an effort.

Room Tip: I would have preferred to stay in the older part of the building rather than the ugly extension wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked a 2 night weekend stay getting a great rate using the tesco clubcard deal.

Met in reception, whist checking in, by a warm jug of mulled wine and warm welsh cakes, which we thought was a lovely welcomming gesture.

Our room was good, normal marriott standard, modern fresh colours.
Parking was plentiful and easy.

We made full use of the good leisure facilities on the Friday afternoon.
We ate in the bistro on the Friday evening, fine, reasonable prices, pub type food.

Breakfast was good on both mornings. Full selection with good service.

We went to Cardiff for the day on saturday. £10 taxi ride away from the hotel to the train station in chepstow, then £20 ish for a return train ticket for the both of us to cardiff.
Good day out exploring the city, despite the cold and rain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henriUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here early December and is the second time we have been, our first in 2008.

Our room was away from the main part of the hotel with a lakeside view and balcony. Really spacious room with beautiful view over the lake. My mother & father in law were in the same 'block' of rooms and there room was completely different, very nice too with a great view.

The hotel has such character and is perfect in either summer or winter time due to this. We stayed in the summer previously.

Breakfast - the normal Marriott - which is always great! Really good selection and friendly staff. We had room service one evening - again, can't fault the food and the guy that delivered it had to get over to the room in the wind & rain and was still v friendly....

If you can - ask for a lakeside view - even if it's winter time, it's nice waking up to that view and also feeding the ducks!

When we're back in the area - we'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieANDSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business, it was a lovely summers day and was nice to have a drink outside and watch all the golfers! The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed was really comfy. The breakfast was great with a lot of choice. Only criticism was that later on in the evening when myself and my other female colleagues came into the bar for a drink, we felt like we were invading the clubhouse and the golfers didn't look too impressed that we were there.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank 99hstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here twice in the last year and on both occasions an enjoyable and relaxing experience. Pool area is a good size with steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi.
Rooms well equipped and with a nice feel.
Breakfast buffet is a excellent but see if you can catch Sunday lunch for a treat.

Room Tip: Try near the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartmart56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Took my disabled son out for lunch. Although they had a lift etc, no one could find the keys. It was also used as a store room. It really did draw attention to him. I feel the should cater for people in wheelchairs more. It's a fabulous hotel and the staff are wonderful. I would recommend it all the time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
6.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
13.7 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: $90 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing