We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NeW Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went to black tie dinner and dance with husband, sister and her husband. We had a lovely time however the champagne at the reception left a little to be desired. I think it was perry, it was terribly sweet and really not nice. For seventy five quid a head I expected at least a decent glass of champagne. The food was OK and, To be honest, very well organised in the serving department. Big gripe, bog standard bottle of Chardonnay was twenty five pounds, way too much for an average bottle of wine and you couldn't buy a bottle at the table once the dinner had been cleared and the bottles paid for.

The disco was good and the atmosphere generally was very good. We didn't stay in the hotel as sister and husband live near by.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bow28t55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great hotel for a short break. just over the river Severn in Wales this hotel is well placed for visiting Bristol (via toll bridge) & South Wales. The hotel is well maintained, clean and tidy. There is a pool, gym & Sauna and a very good golf course if you fancy a round. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtnsjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A wonderful setting of an old manor house adjacent to a church and little cottages in pretty grounds. We checked into the quaint house and were told we were in a lakeside suite. This was a rather dated maisonette built about 20 years ago and was more like something for an overnight stay on the M25. Dinner cost £50 for two and was quite grim. The beer battered cod was suffering from rigor mortis. Breakfast was chaotic and like something from a Carry On film. The staff were all very pleasant, but this place just felt tired and seemed to lack the presence of any visible management keeping up the standards before the next quarterly visit from the men from Marriott HQ. Sorry, thumbs down for this visit, but we may try again, as a room in the main house could make it a better experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the lakeside suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The St Pierre Marriott at Chepstow is a very decent all rounder. I have stayed here on a number of occassions when visiting the area for various reasons (Business, Leisure, Family).

The hotel itself is an impressive building with lots of charm. The staff are lovely and on the my first visit the Manager on duty gave myself and my partner a tour of the whole building, including the well equipped gym, lovely pool area and 2 restaurants. This added touch really made the stay special.

The pool / sauna area is clean and tidy and a nice way to spend an hour or so. The gym is good although is also open to the public (members only) so can be a little crowded.

The main restaurant is good although the food a little bland and uninteresting at times. The bar area near the gym is great for a drink or snack.

Overall I would definately recommend this hotel but perhaps consider eating out if staying for a few days as the food may become a little boring.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are more private and the roll top baths a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mount_of_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The grounds are spectacular. The food was amazing. The beds were the only thing that weren't. They sunk in the middle. However, they tried to fix the problem and were very prompt and understanding. If you are looking for a getaway then this could be the place!!! I love that they have modernised the facilities while remaining authentic and sympathetic to the original buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned today after a lovely weekend break at the St Pierre Marriot.On arrival at our room we noticed the hotel and left us a card and little box of chocolates as we were away to celebrate our wedding anniversary.A lovely touch.The hotel is lovely and plush with lovely furniture in the public areas and a huge log fire which was lovely to sit beside and have a drink.Rooms were very nice and ours overlooked the golf course.We ate in Zest for the first night as Morgans,the other restaurant had a private function.We booked to eat In Morgans for the second night but when we went there it was closed but we were seated in a small part of the restaurant and could order off a specials menu.It was very pleasant and we were able to see through the window a fireworks display that was going on for a wedding that was being held at the hotel.All staff were lovely and welcoming and we wouldnt hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.We hope to return to this lovely hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shajonabswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Christmas party night package. The size of the room was standard for this type of hotel but spotlessly clean and the bed was huge and comfy (although there was a strange hard lump in the centre - the bed was big enough to avoid it!)
Breakfast was hot and there was plenty of choice of food (cooked breakfast, pastries etc).
On returning home, I realised that I had left a bracelet behind and phoned the hotel, not really expecting to see it again but within half an hour, I had a phonecall to say that it was there and I could go and pick it up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmudgieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
6.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
11 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: $95 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort in Chepstow, United Kingdom - set in the rolling hills of South Wales - features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing