We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - and honest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Christmas party night package. The size of the room was standard for this type of hotel but spotlessly clean and the bed was huge and comfy (although there was a strange hard lump in the centre - the bed was big enough to avoid it!)
Breakfast was hot and there was plenty of choice of food (cooked breakfast, pastries etc).
On returning home, I realised that I had left a bracelet behind and phoned the hotel, not really expecting to see it again but within half an hour, I had a phonecall to say that it was there and I could go and pick it up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmudgieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on Fri/Sat night.Soon as we arrived we booked a taxi at reception for.the following morning.Sat morning arrived and the booked taxi was 30 mins late after we chased it up twice at reception.Arrived back at hotel at 4pm to.find room had not been serviced.Offered a free drink whilst room was cleaned.Breakfast buffet ok but not very hot.Overall our weekend was ok but the service was very mediocre.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We secured a package rate to include room, dinner, breakfast and bottle of fizz in the room.
Very inpressive frontage to the hotel greets you as you sweep up the drive with the golf course on either side. Parking available outside the front while you check in. We were given a suite in the lake view village complex attached to the hotel. The receptionist was very efficent, knowledgable and friendly on check in. We then drove to our room which had a car parking space right outside. The suite was spacious and well appointed with a separate lounge area and bedroom. The room have a TV in each with Sky channels too. The decor was tidy and clean although I would possibly say the bathroom was dated, small and needed a refurb. The bathtub was small and the shower overhead barely adequate.
Dinner was taken in the Morgan's restaurant which was a walk from the room, this would not be ideal if it was raining or your good lady was sporting high heels ! The dining room was a wood pannelled room with decorated ceiling. Staff were attentive and friendly again and the food was pleasant and hearty but not overly memorable.
Breakfast was a taken in the back of the Morgans window overlooking the golf course and this was a buffet affair, very good choices of both continental and full English/Welsh breakfasts.
Check out was again very straightforward with genial staff.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, be it business, pleasure or on a golfing trip.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room in the main hotel as the walk to the hotel would not be fun during inclement...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selhurst1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

On the 8th of December I took 40+ members of The Mercedes Benz Club to the St Pierre Hotel and Country Club at Chepstow, South Wales for our annual Christmas Dinner, a formal Dinner with members dressed in "Black Tie" and ladies in their fine clothes.

We were welcomed at the hotel by staff who were to take care of us for the weekend as we were staying overnight.

Some of the members of the Mercedes Club took adavantage of the Pool and Sauna, and others playing a round of Golf on one of the Golf Courses at the hotel, others deciding to sit in the lounge having afternoon Tea /Coffee, later we all went to our rooms which were of a very pleasant size and decor to ready for the forthcoming Dinner.

The room that I was given #457 also known as Foxglove Cottage was extremely well presented with a bed big enough to sleep 6 people, although we did not try that.

Later we went to the bar where we were all to meet for a drink before being taken to the "Chepstow Suite" where our dinner was to be served, this was a large room with it's own private Bar and a Disco set up to entertain us after the dinner.

Dinner was served by very attentive staff, very quickly and efficiently, the food was of very good quality and quantity and was hot. After our 4 course dinner and speeches made the disco started and although a bit loud at the start when asked the D J reduced the volume to an acceptable level. The Bar in "our private Room" stayed open until 01-00hrs when we were directed to the main bar which when I left at 03-00hrs was still serving drinks to other guests of the hotel.

In the morning we were directed to the main restaurant for Breakfast where a full range of Cereals, pastries, Fruit Juices and Cooked English Breakfast was served again of first quality and quantity.

We left later on Sunday Morning, at all time the staff were only to pleased to help or serve you always polite and efficient. A first class hotel that I would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in South Wales.

Room Tip: We were given a room in the courtyard #457 also known as Foxglove Cottage, an excellent room with a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a weekend break. All the staff were extremely friendly and polite. Got given a room next to the lake so had a lovely view out in the morning, how many other hotels can you feed ducks from from your window?! Ate at the Zest restaurant in the evening, 2 mains, 1 side, 1 pudding and 3 drinks came to just under 50 quid and the staff were excellent.
Would recommend and visit again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here one Saturday night a couple of weeks ago. Had a bit of trouble finding it, but I blame myself for that! Arrived early evening, so was dark and couldnt see very much. Check in was fine and was given a room in the main building. The room was comfortable, no complaints there. Bit of a trek down the public areas though. The old part of the hotel was lovely. Had a meal in the casual cafe bar and I must say, it really was very good. Breakfast was just ok, have had better and it was very busy. We used the leisure facilities. The gym looked well equipped as far as I could see. There was a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. All worked well, but in my opinion, could do with a refurb. Had a wander outside in the morning and it was very pretty outside. There is a little old church in the grounds, which was very sweet. Enjoyed my stay, but not so sure if I would go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Called in whilst passing by,for a bite to eat .Have golfed there in the past and took some overseas visitors there to golf,its a beautiful course,the hotel setting is superb. The bar is comfy and has a nice atmopshere,but as said before by other reviewers ,drinks are very overpriced.The staff were all helpfull and curtious.We eat in the casual restaurant, I had fish and chips which was very well cooked,but my husbands steak was very disapointing,it was overcooked for med.rare and looked very small for a 10 oz ribeye steak.My husband expressed his opionion to our server who pleasantly returned it to the kitchen,a little later brought another one,a little better cooked,although it still seemed tiny.
The staff were apologetic and the manager charming.Yet this simple dinner with a couple of drinks was extremely overpriced.My husband had recently stayed and eat at the Sunderland Marriot where the 10oz ribeye steak was three times thicker and the wine a far better quality for the price!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank thewelshfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
6.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
13.7 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: $86 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing