We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great venue”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i would like to say this is one of the best hotels ive ever been to its set in an old castle its very scenic with two golf courses and plenty to do the gym is massive and the fatilities are great will defo be going there again it ticks all the boxes the food was great i got to meet the head chef matthew he is a very pleasent guy and an amazing chef look forward to going there again soon cheers guys

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    439
    211
    81
    29
See reviews for
198
488
30
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The original building it lovely, but much smaller than we thought. There seem to be limited bar areas as we found ourselves in the middle of a wedding party in the bar before our evening meal. The restaurant service was good and the food very enjoyable.

We had one of the rooms in the grounds which was a suite and very comfortable. However, we were glad it was not the depths of winter or raining as it would have not been a very enjoyable walk.

Breakfast was a disappointment with greasy undercooked bacon, this seems to be a theme at many hotels now.

Not sure we will go back. We didn't play golf on this occasion, but looking at the courses they looked extremely busy which would have been a downside for us. Also rooms in the old part of the property look limited to the few courtyard rooms and staying in the old building was what attracted us to the hotel.

That said it is in nice surroundings, with good service and our accommodation was large and comfortable.

Room Tip: If its winter try and get a room in the hotel extension rather than in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairhaven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Marriott St Pierre is set in beautifully kept grounds in lovely Welsh countryside just outside Chepstow. You approach via manicured fairways and greens to find the heart of the hotel is a mediaeval manor house, next door to a Norman church complete with graveyard. As entrances to hotels go, this is hard to beat. We had a suite in a modern-ish building, where all the rooms were called cottages and named after flowers (but you still had to find a room number to access the wi-fi). Well-appointed and comfortable; a non-functioning lamp was restored within minutes o calling.
We dined in Morgan's, the slightly more formal restaurant on decent hotel fare. The room though was a bit dull, it really needed brightening with tablecloths or flowers or candles. It looked better in the morning. A good buffet breakfast is served in the Bistro overlooking one of the courses.
This obviously interesting building and location could make more of its history. The few bits of information scattered around the place were cursory. There must be a good local historian who would gladly provide better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a premium hotel in a lovely, peaceful location. The property was immaculately clean and well presented. The gym, pool, and spa area were all excellent and really added to the overall experience. The golf course is a major feature of the campus, and is very good.

The food was also very good indeed with the buffet breakfast being very impressive, both in terms of quality and quantity.

The only slightly negative point for me was that I found the bed to be uncomfortably soft, but that is just a matter of preference.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were at this hotel for a wedding reception and we had arranged to stay overnight. We did have a special rate because of the wedding, but for the two of us, considering the overall standard of the hotel, represented exceptional value for money. The hotel was of a good standard and the general service was very good and welcoming. The room we had was a standard room but was very well appointed with all the usual tea/coffee making facilities etc and had a lovely view out over the golf course.
The Hotel has a very nice pool and Spa, which unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to sample, but if we go back at any time we will certainly find the time to use.
The breakfast was excellent, and the service during breakfast was very good, with plenty of staff available to cater for everyone, so there was never any waiting for any assistance etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DABroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked as an early summer weekend break, our trip delivered everything you'd expect from a Marriott branded Hotel & Country Club.

The hotel is situated in the countryside just outside Chepstow and is a perfect location for exploring South Wales, Avon and Somerset. The main core of the hotel is very old, historic and beautiful in it's own way. The hotel grounds are similarly impressive, but note that you'll have to be prepared to take a wander amongst the golfers if you want to explore them!

Our room was comfortable, big and clean. Breakfast was excellent and we found the hotel staff really helpful wherever we ended up throughout the complex. The Spa and the swimming pool were both excellent quality, and the two golf courses didn't disappoint - I was out early on a couple of the mornings that we stayed and I found the scenery quite stunning.

As a family, we wouldn't hesitate in going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My boyfriend took me here for a romantic night stay for my birthday. This is a lovely Marriott out in the countryside, surrounded by lush golf courses. Our room was typically Marriott standard - very clean and comfy. The bed was huge and lovely to sleep in! It was the ground floor of a house, which was in a small little 'suburb' of these Marriott houses, away from the main building (20 seconds walk tops). It was adorable, and in the morning there were ducks pottering around outside the houses!
We went for food in the restaurant that night, the restaurant wasn't very well spaced out and the lighting was a tad too dim. Not the biggest selection on the menu but the food was still fantastic, as was service. Also had a club sandwich from room service, which was fab.
We had our breakfast delivered to our room at a set time, unfortunately it was delivered late but no big deal as the food was still hot and fresh and there was a lot of it! We had a full english, along with croissants and all sorts, it was lovely.
We also used the pool, sauna & steam room which was all clean and very relaxing.
I would definately stay here again for a getaway weekend with the boyfriend, it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing