We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I spent a weekend here and it was perfect in every sense, great location, accomodation, service and food. The breakfast service is amazing! We will definately be coming here again, although we are not golfing fanatics (don't play at all!) |The location and building is just so marvellous that it will appeal to all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MammaMiaWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    422
    200
    75
    28
See reviews for
189
462
29
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for a family celebration and booked in for 2 nights on winter rate deal. The building itself is fabulous and steeped in history. We used the health suite (pool, spa, sauna and steam room) which was good fun. However, although we had a good view of the 18th hole from our room, we found the room to be too small for the amount of funiture in it, a window fixing was broken and it could have been cleaner (cobweb on curtains, stain on carpet). A positive for the room was a good size bed which was very comfortable. The hospitality tray was poor, no choice of tea/coffee, no biscuits. And no free Wi-Fi! If we had paid 'full' room rate we would not have been impressed. We have stayed in other less costly hotels and had better value. There was a good variety for breakfast, although for the supposed 'quality' of this hotel we were not expecting to find dried reconstituted scrambled egg for breakfast! Overall a disappointing experience and we would not choose to stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genie26c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed one night and was pleasantly surprised by the courtyard room. Large comfortable room and bathroom, buffet style breakfast until 11am and late checkout on a Sunday 12pm. We had booked the room online for £79 but when we settled the bill, e were charged £70 as there was a further offer on and they charged us the reduced price automatically.

They did have our details down incorrectly but when we contacted customer services they changed it straight away. My husband used the gym facilities and said there was lots of equipment available and that it was slightly better than at the Celtic Manor where we had stayed previously.

We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Spend one night at the Rose Cottage in the Courtyard of the Hotel, it was by far one of the best experiences we have had in any hotel in the UK. Beautiful lounge both down stairs and upstairs, great big bed with lovely linen and beautiful ammenities. Food at Zest was really tasty with a lovely atmosphere. Out Cottage was so lovely we decided to have breakfast served to us in the lounge, great breakfast, spot on time and great value for money. Was really dissapointed to be leaving after just one night. Will definetely book again very soon. Excellent value for money!!!

Room Tip: I am sure the Rose Cottage is the biggest suite available but well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galway001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the hotel either side of New Years Eve. It was the ideal way to relax before and after the NY celebrations. Staff were excellent and very well informed with driving directions to Cornwall and back to Bristol Airport.
Stayed in the main hotel and had lovely views out over the golf course both nights. Breakfast was a treat as always. Only disappointment was that there was not enough time to play golf.

Room Tip: Have never stayed in a bad room here. Ask for a room looking out over the golf course, or even bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

For a four star hotel, I felt the service could have been a little better. We went just after Christmas and all the staff looked younger than 25, therefore they didn't quite have the sort of service knowledge that you would expect from a four star hotel.

Plus the shower didnt work in one of the rooms and had to be fixed and the service in Zest Restaurant wasnt great, with the starter having to be returned as it was wrong and then the main course arriving before the new starter had been finished.

Hotel itself is really lovely but the trip was spoiled slightly by the little things that make the difference

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I came here for a small conference and training course. On arrival, my colleague and I were struck by the picturesque setting. As others have noted, the golf is the main attraction here and my unqualified opinion is that the course looked superb, with the greens looking unfeasibly neat, level and well-tended. As a non-golfer, however, I did not feel out of place.

My room was up to Marriott's usual good standard if a little bland. There is also some additional cottage-type accommodation which looked beautiful as I was passing by. The bar area was comfortable and relaxing after a hard day; alas the lack of real ale was disappointing in a hotel of this class.

The conference and banqueting facilities were very good with a smart room, suitable IT facilities and nice food. Unfortunately there was no time to make use of the leisure facilities but I got the impression that these would be of a high standard.

Overall I would recommend St. Pierre especially for business meetings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing