We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature brilliance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chepstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had such a wonderful adventure on our Yurt holiday! The four wheel drive trek to the yurt was an exhilarating start for us and our 3 year old and we arrived to the smell of a wood fire! The back to nature brilliance of duck racing, wading in the stream, feeding the alpacas, cooking on an open fire, toasting marshmallows, picking fresh herbs and listening to birdsong - we felt totally refreshed! Amanda and Peter have thought of everything so that you can just sit back and enjoy the open space. The yurt was spotless, spacious and so comfy and the wood burner and twinkly fairy lights created such a lovely ambience and made bedtime stories with the kids very special. The facilities were perfect, hot showers, well kitted out kitchens, even toys and activities for kids. Oliver loved playing in the streams and exploring the Great Outdoors, the way things used to be! Even our eight week old daughter was happy on her first holiday in her little cot listening to the cows moo! We hope the sourdough cake we passed on to Amanda (Herman) turned out well! Say hello to Minty the Ram Lamb and Tilly for us!

Room Tip: Only stayed in Yurt 6 but couldn't fault it, slightly more secluded from the others so even more...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Hidden Valley Yurts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Didn't want to leave this amazing place! My 2 boys (9 and 6) and I had such a relaxing, fun time. Spent most of our days at the site- exploring the woods, fields, and stream. The boys loved taking Tilly the dog for walks with us, and meeting the alpacas, and sheep!
The facilities were great- so clean, and well-equipped.
The yurt was very comfortable, and spacious.
We had a campfire almost every night (don't forget the marshmallows!), and trialed the wood pizza oven- a relative success for us amateurs!
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We can only give praise for the way our Yurt holiday was organised by our hosts, Amanada and Pater. Full attention to detail and facilities make for a wonderfully different kind of holiday catering for all age groups in a freindly, safe and unique way.

The Yurts are in a valley and you feel close to nature with great facilities on site but also plenty to do in the surrounding area with some lovely pubs close by for the odd evening meal. We enjoyed every minute and would certainly do Yurting again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have just returned from the most amazing hen weekend in these fabulous yurts. Setting out from home I had no idea where we were going or what to expect yet this weekend exceeded all of my expectations.

These beautifully located yurts are a real gem. The owners, Amanda and Peter, have done everything possible to ensure that guests want for nothing. The yurts are beautifully furnished, the kitchens wonderfully equipped (the dishwasher was a real bonus, glamping at its most luxurious!) and the outdoor pizza oven was a real treat. From the communal toiletries (in case you've forgotten anything!), the thoughtfully provided mozzie spray and the ponchos in the yurts for those chillier evenings, Peter and Amanda really have thought of everything.

I cannot recommend these yurts highly enough and hope to return in the near future. If you're looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful location then look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was our first time glamping and its definitely the way to go ! We took our children 14, 11, and 7 to get away from our busy life and step into nature for a bit. This was the perfect place for that. Amanda and Peter gave us a lovely, relaxed welcome and then it was down to us to explore this hidden place. After a day we soon found ourselves carelessly plodding through fields, swinging on rope-swings and and making bridges in the very characterful stream. The yurts were so snug and comfortable and plenty of space for us. In the evenings we enjoyed toasting marshmallows on our chininea and played lots of badminton till the sun went down. We went canoeing for one day at Monmouth canoe centre, which was really lovely but that was enough for us and spent the rest of the time hanging out and exploring.
This is a very magical and special place, just the right mix of company and privacy and an amazing valley to explore. And of course the Alpacas !
Highly recommended for anyone wishing to slow down and step into a vibrant natural landscape, in comfort ! I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A group of 5 friends, we have just returned from a 3 night break at this amazing glamping site. This is camping on a different level - beautifully decorated and comfortable yurts, extensive and well kept kitchen and bathroom facilities, all set in a literal hidden valley. Amanda and Peter are very helpful and friendly, as is Tilly the dog! Would highly recommend the massage treatments by Sally Kay - great way to relax in the surroundings. Will be sure to recommend to all! Amazing value for money too!!

Room Tip: Yurt number six is the most private - away from main kitchen but facilities for cooking were more th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTravelCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Myself, hubby and two girls have just returned after what was a truly excellent yurting break in the Hidden Valley Yurts. It was simply magical from start to finish: from our welcome and really exciting quad-bike lift through the stream to the yurts (my daughter screaming with excitment all the way) to our lift back up to the top this morning!!

We were six couples with four children in all (ranging in age from 4 months to 4 years). I was a bit worried about the weather as gales were forcast but because you're tucked away at the bottom of surrounding hills we were quite safe and toasty warm in the yurts. Amanda and Peter (the owners) couldn't have done anymore for us, it was glamping at its best! The dogs, sheep and alpacas were great fun too!! If hungry, The Carpenters Arms at the top of the hill is worth a visit (family friendly with yummy food, great service and good ale) Can't wait to come back..

Room Tip: All yurts are beautifully kitted out and extremely comfy!! If you forget anything, you can ask Aman...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 965KatyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being such great guests. I don't know how you mannaged to keep the yurts so clean with all that mud around - very impressive! Welcome back anytime. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
4.5 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
6.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Llandogo
205 reviews
6.7 mi away
BroadRock
BroadRock
#1 of 14 in Chepstow
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Yurts

Address: Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chepstow
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Yurts Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing