We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chepstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was just treated to Hidden Valley yurts as the surprise venue for my Hen Party and I couldn't have asked for a better location. The valley is gorgeous, with its stream, maedows and talls trees making the spot secluded. The facillities are well built, clean and well maintained and the yurts themselves are beautiful and comfortable. I love all kinds of camping but even the most coy camper would find this luxurious, its the great out doors with cusions.
It wouldn't be suited to all hens because it's too far away from cilvilisation to go for a big night out in Newport or Cardiff. But if you like peace, comfort and an beautiful place to share a laugh around the camp fire then this is the one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you Jen, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we are so pleased that Hidden Valley proved the 'perfect' venue. Loved your description of the Great out doors with cushions - enjoy your wedding day and a happy marriage. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I, along with our 2 children a 17 year boy and 13 year girl have just returned from the most fabulous, relaxing and unique weekend break we have ever experienced.
We didn’t really know what to expect when we left Bristol and being only 30 miles away were surprised to find, hidden in a beautiful valley only accessible by tractor, this tranquil setting. As we arrived both Amanda and Peter (the owners) were there to greet us and take our luggage to our yurt. The attention to detail throughout the camp was fabulous and everything you could possibly need to make your stay stress less was immediately assessable.

All the yurts are beautifully decorated, and extremely clean and comfortable. We found the Yurt very spacious and we all had a comfortable bed without anyone having to draw the short straw. There was a wonderful wood burning fire to keep us warm and on the decking outside there was a chimnea and a built in BBQ.
The communal Kitchen area was spacious and very well equipped. Peter and Amanda have really made sure that everything you need is there, from communal crockery and sauces right though to a bread maker, 2 ovens( one gas and one electric) a dish washer and even an espresso coffee machine .In the kitchen each Yurt has its own designated fridge and cupboard space. The large communal eating area around the kitchen allows you to spend time enjoying your food at a leisurely and unrushed pace.
The showers/bath and loos were spotless and the solar heated water (backed up by an immersion heater) were hot and plentiful. The whole area was clean and well maintained .Again if you had forgotten any basics, on hand were some communal toiletries you could use.
The stream is a constant source of enjoyment for the younger children and there is plenty of room for children to run around without imposing on other families’ peace and quiet. We went canoeing at Symonds Yat which is only a half an hour journey by car, and there are plenty more things to do within a half an hour drive. In the communal area there is a whole book of ideas on what to do and where to go.
We did wonder whether our kids because of their ages would find it too quiet, in fact they enjoyed it immensely and it gave us all some quality family time.
For a relaxed break and an easy going atmosphere the Hidden Valley is an absolute must and we would like to pass on our thanks and congratulations to both Peter and Amanda.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peteinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recenty had a 3 night stay in Yurt 1 in April. There were 2 families (4 adults and 3 kids) and the yurt was spacious enough to accomodate us all very comfortably. The site is lovely - there are no cars allowed down in the yurt field so the children could walk freely about. There is so much to do and explore on site and in the woods around that we did not need to go anywhere all weekend. We played in the stream, did short and longer walks finding ponies, alpacas and rope swings, went collecting firewood, built dens and made pizzas to bake in the wood burning oven. There is a great communal camp fire area and each yurt also has its own fire pit on the deck -perfect for keeping warm while sitting under the stars once the kids were in bed. This is a great way to surround yourself with nature with a lot of home comforts.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Nothing is nicer for us than sharing Hidden Valley with families that enjoy all that is here - it reminds us how we lucky we are to live here all the time. Welcome back anytime - guests like you give us the 'feelgood factor' in bucketloads. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What a place! Six beautifully decorated and furnished yurts in a pretty, peaceful hideaway in Monmouthshire.

The owners, Amanda and Peter gave a very warm welcome and have thought about their guests' every needs. You park in the car park on one side of the valley where your belongings are transferred into a trailer attached to a jeep which transports you down the valley , over the stream to the door of your circular home from home. You can walk in and out of the site across a foot bridge too.

Each yurt has a kingsize bed, a single day bed and five single futon chair beds. There are blankets, cushions and pillows too, but you will need to take your own duvet or sleeping bag to stay nice and warm at night. If you forget you can hire duvets from the owners.
The log burner in each yurt is very efficient, heating the whole yurt evenly and is already stacked when you arrive so all you have to do is put a match to it and off you go. The chimney means that there is no smoke at all in the yurt. There’s plenty of wood to keep you going for your stay. It's worth taking a couple of old newspapers to help you get the fires started on subsequent nights.

Yurt 1 is nearest the stream and the entrance / exit to the campsite. It has its own kitchen which is well equipped with a gas cooker / hob, kettle, plug sockets, crockery, cutlery, glassware, pans, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a few herbs and spices, washing up bowl, washing up liquid, scourer, tea towel and a massive American style fridge freezer. Yurt 1 and 2 have compost toilets nearby with plenty of toilet roll plus sawdust so there is no unpleasant smell.

The main shared kitchen has two electric ovens / hobs, two large fridge freezers, two kettles, plenty of crockery, cutlery, glassware, pans, a cafetiere etc...and lots of cupboard space labelled for each yurt. It has all the other bits and pieces mentioned in Yurt 1's kitchen. It is raised up with a large part covered decked area, and has tables and chairs for dining, some sun loungers, a swing for relaxing in the sun plus board games, and a craft area with paints and canvas. There are more blankets dotted around with a hole in the middle so you can throw them over you as a poncho as the evening cools off.

This is where the two flushing toilets are located too, plus a good quality power shower cubicle, and a cubicle with a bath with a shower over it too. The owners supply showergel, liquid soap, and a few other toiletries in case you forget anything. I even saw suncream! The hand towel by the sink is changed everyday, as are the bathmats in the shower and bath cubicles and toilet roll is replenished daily. There are a couple of travel hairdryers by the showers and a place to plug your straighteners in so no excuse not to look glamourous during your glamping experience!

Tesco can deliver all the supplies you need so there is very little you need to bring with you.
There are campfire areas with plenty of wood to burn, a pizza oven and barbeque plus each yurt has it’s own deck, fire pit / chimnea and wood store - what more could you need for a balmy summer evening. But if the weather isn't too good, at least you know the kitchens are under cover and your yurt will be nice and cosy.

Such thought has gone into this lovely place! I can’t recommend it highly enough. Go and see for yourself – you’re sure to feel your blood pressure lower and your everyday stresses melt away the moment you arrive!

Room Tip: All the yurts are lovely. Yurt 1 has it's own kitchen. Yurt 6 is furthest away from the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaTwinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review - we loved having you all as guests - hens with happiness - you completely proved our policy of not having an outright ban on hen parties was right - we hope the wedding day is perfect and that we see you again. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

As I sit here with a bit of a storm on the go outside, I'm thinking back to our great holiday at Hidden Valley in August. I took four children (two of my own) aged 9 to 11 and stayed in Yurt 1. This was more spacious than yurts we stayed in before, so felt pretty luxurious. The 'private' kitchen was great fun, although made a little less private by the presence of Eric the mouse who nibbled on various foodstuffs until everything was secured in the big fridge! The water in the kitchen is unfiltered but we have friends locally who drink from their own springs and we drink their water so we were not concerned and there were no problems. The yurt site is fantastic, and it was lovely to leave the children playing while I explored some of the footpaths. We went on walks together as well and the children loved making their way down the stream, all getting wet and shrieking with laughter. We went out a few times, to Puzzlewood and Clearwater Caves and thoroughly enjoyed the locations, though the prices were a little steep. We also visited Monmouth and went to the swimming pool (not terribly inspiring) and had a wonderful wander around the unspoilt Raglan Castle at Usk - a magical afternoon.
Advice if you stay at Hidden Valley Yurts - really don't take too much, marshmallows, wellies and spare clothes are the most important! Amanda and Peter were really helpful and I was so glad to take up Amanda's suggestion of a massage. Sheer luxury on a holiday with children was lying in the yurt enjoying a relaxing massage while they happily played outside. My friend, who rented another yurt in the same week, also had a massage and we were both happily glazed for a few hours afterwards!
If I go to Hidden Valley again - and I hope I do - I wouldn't change a single thing!

Room Tip: Yurt 1 is slightly bigger and has its own kitchen, although the shared kitchen was excellent too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Sorry for the delay in responding - I've only just mastered how to leave a response! Thank you for the great review - we loved having you here and really hope to see you all again. It's such a joy for us to see children having fun 'being children'. Welcome back anytime. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have just returned from one of the most fabulous, relaxing and unique weekend breaks we have ever experienced.

We had heard of yurt holidays (in the same breath as 'glamping' and 'cool camping' ) and were eager to try it out for ourselves. Although it has to be said that neither of us are on keen camp-site holidays; too many people , too commercial, etc. Not for us.

However, Hidden Valley Yurts offers a choice of 6 authentic Monoglian Yurts dotted around a sloping, undulating field within a small secret valley in the beautiful Monmouthshire countryside on the borders of south Wales..

Our yurt was beautifully decorated in an eclectic style: Ethnic Mongolian painted woodwork and furniture, colourful rugs and throws with snuggly blankets and cushions, coir matting on the floor and a beautiful 'crown' roof window light. All the yurts have an internal woodburning fire with a safety screen - and we just had to light ours (even though it was a balmy weekend) just to see how it looked - and it was lovely and warm - and despite my reservations at first there was no smoke in the yurt at all.

There were solar powered fairy lights strung all around the yurt sides, a solar reading light as well as one real electric light. We had lanterns for night lights and the whole effect was beautiful, atmospheric and very romantic.

All six yurts were occupied during our stay but we never once felt any intrusion on our privacy. We ate supper and played cards on 'our' deck, lit the chimenea and sat in front of the warmth surrounded by night lights with the moon shining down on us. We could just about see the camp fire lit by some of the other guests (a bunch of cool twenty-something New Zealanders) and hear a group of parents and children enjoying supper in the tented 'dining area' whilst they cooked their home made (or rather yurt made) pizzas in the outdoor pizza oven, but at no time did it feel like an intrusion. In fact it added to the relaxed and friendly atmopsphere.

Sharing the spacious, well equipped outdoor kitchen was fun, easy and everyone seemend mindful of each other's space. Each yurt has it's own fridge and cupboard and there are shared items kindly left by the owners - herbs and spices, flour for the breadmaker/pizza dough maker, a variety of teas and condiments. With two ovens, two kettles, a dishwasher and plenty of work surfaces there was never a feeling of being in anyone's way. Crockery and cutlery was abundant and of good quality and the Aga roasting dish, good solid pans and smart espresso machine was much appreciated.

The communal eating area is a large deck in front of the kitchen which is partially covered (and decorated with guest-made bunting). There are enough tables for all, a swing seat and some smart wooden steamer chairs for sun bathing.

The showers/bath and loos were spotless and the solar heated water (backed up by an immersion heater) was hot and plentiful. Going to the loo was eco-friendly too - the Welsh spring water used for flushing contributed to an elaborate eco system which led to a completely hidden septic tank which in turn fed a reed bed - resulting in clear water...impressive!

Moving on...

The 'hidden valley' has a lovely ford to splash in and a stream where the children of the other guests had a duck race (yes...we watched and wished we had plastic ducks too!).

At one end of the 'field' is a fairy garden with a miniature tipi...just big enough to keep out non-believing grown-ups and let children and fairies in. One of the little girls (age 5) told us that if you didn't believe in fairies you only saw goblins. We believed her.... and I'm sure i saw... no I can't tell you!

The owners of Hidden Valley Yurts - Amanda and Peter - have thought of everything. They (and their very helpful teenage sons Harry and Sam) are on hand if you need them (which we didnt) and discrete enough to let everyone get on with have a blissful, utterly peaceful, relaxing break.

Will we return? Would we recommend Hidden Valley Yurts? Absolutely yes!

Room Tip: All the yurts are lovely but if you want privacy ask for yurt 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Myself and a friend took our children and their friends, ages 10 to 12 to stay here, it was exactly as described on the website, totally relaxing, you can do as much or as little as you like, we enjoyed walking, playing in the stream, alpaca whispering, playing board games, making pizza's, toasting marshmallows, swinging on the rope swings, sitting around the campfire, making fire,walking to the pub for the best chips ever and playing cards chillin in the yurt. Talking and listening to the children laugh without tv and games console distractions was awesome. Can't wait to go back next year, thanks guys for everything. Mandy, Christine, Caleb, Sam, Rachel, Libby and Eve

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
4.4 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
9.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.6 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
3.5 mi away
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Llandogo
198 reviews
6.7 mi away
BroadRock
BroadRock
#1 of 14 in Chepstow
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Yurts

Property: Hidden Valley Yurts
Address: Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chepstow
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Yurts Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing