We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely fall”
Review of Tintern

Tintern
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Chepstow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely fall”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

beutifull time of year colurs of the autunm we were lucky to be there at this time of year we wanted ti visit chepstowe but are very pleased we dropped on tintern plenty of walks lovely setting,lovely guest house we will be going back again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Autumn Colours”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Tintern is a lovely place to visit especially in the Autumn. There is a craft centre there with a very nice cafe/restaurant and the food choice is excellent. Woodland walks are a must, you can walk along the old railway track or along the river bank. The river bank was a bit muddy when we went, but I should imagine it is OK in the summer. The scenery is worth seeing and the Abbey is an awesome sight! You can pay to go around the Abbey, but can see most of it from the outside. I really enjoyed my day there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LotteryQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Picture postcard Village”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Well worth stopping here for a stroll along the Wye in this picture postcard village.Plenty of places to stop off for a hot drink or a cold pint, whilst here you have to visit the magnificent Tintern Abbey which also has a Cafe sitiuated nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank georgevader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a picturesque place, peaceful and historic, has a few shops for souveniers, and a nice few cafe's where you can get cream teas, ice cream etc

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

what a beautiful place this is a hidden treasure topped of with the stunning abbey great book shop to browse as well

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Silvercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintern also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Tintern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing