We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful :)”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Craiglush House.

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dominika...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful :)”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A magical Christmas in a magical place! As simple as that. Thank you Ailsa for letting us stay :) The view from the windows is outstanding and changes every day. The house is spacious and very clean. Nice Christmas decorations all around and lovely bedding. We had a fantastic family trip!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2018
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you had a wonderful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thank you Lesley for the review, means alot to us. Glad to hear you had a great holiday and we'd love to welcome you back. Regards Ailsa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Billyfrae...
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Craiglush is a beautifully situated, comfortable and peaceful family and dog friendly house.”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It is a pleasure to stay at Craiglush. The lovely outlook to the loch at the front and the gentle greenery of the trees to the side and the back of house give a real sense of fresh air and calm and light. The windows and balconies give constant opportunities to enjoy the everchanging colours and absorb the peace and beauty of the place. These images have stayed in our heads. Outside the window by the dining table we were constantly entertained by birds such as Tits and Jays - and at times Tiffany, the red squirrel, - feeding at the bird feeder.

The house is very comfortable and was ideally equipped for the three generations of our family including our three and a half year old grand-daughter and our son's Cocker Spaniel pup. We were able to entertain friends holidaying nearby, paddle in the loch and chill out.

The local area offered lovely scenery and walking, interesting towns to visit and explore including Dunkeld itself and plenty of child friendly places of interest such as The Beatrix Potter Centre in Birnham and the Peter Pan Playpark at Kirriemuir. The delicious locally produced ice-cream from Stewarts Tower Dairy, excellent home-baking from Spill the Beans and great locally grown soft fruits all added to the pleasure of the stay.

We would all love to go back again.

We were

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Craiglush”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Tip top holiday destination. Lovely property in A1 location. Highly recommend for any avid nature watcher.... the Moores

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic property in a fantastic location. If you are looking for a break away from it all, look no further. The house itself is very well appointed with everything you need to make the stay fantastically comfortable. The upstairs and downstairs views are superb through either the ceiling height windows or from the covered balconies. We watched the nesting Ospreys on 3 separate occasions, aided by the supplied binoculars. 7 adults and 2 dogs stayed very comfortably, with the dogs having an outside extravaganza between the direct access to the Loch and the fully enclosed garden and woodland areas.

Unfortunately, due to a family bereavement, we had to leave one day early for which, at Ailsa's insistence, we were reimbursed.

All in all, I cannot recommend this property and its owner, Ailsa, highly enough, for location, quality and assistance. We'll definitely return.

Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most idyllic, tranquil, peaceful location”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The minute we closed the gate, drove round the corner and saw Craiglush house with its fantastic views we knew we would have a lovely break. If you want to get away from the rat race this is the place to be. The view over Craiglush loch was ever changing and almost hypnotising.! our two retrievers loved the freedom of the grounds and the loch. the house itself was extremely well equipped and when we needed more logs for the fire it was very easy to arrange for these to be delivered. The location is ideal if you want to head off for the day to places like braemar, aberdeldy, Crieff, St fillans, Perth etc... Or you can sit and watch for the osprey fly over the loch! We were very fortunate to see the return of the male osprey on the 22nd at loch of the lowes nature reserve. Alas we still don't know if lady has made the gruelling journey for her 25th year. We will just have to come back again ourselves to check that one out! Thank you so much for letting us share this beautiful place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulaade7...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned today from a fantastic week in this beautiful house. 3 adults, 2 teenagers and 3 Labradors. When you pull up it is so easy to see why this place is a little piece of heaven. The house overlooks the loch and the back garden is woods all fenced in as we walked the perimeter because of the dogs. They love the freedom and found a new found youth (3 dogs are 10,11&12 years old). It was so warm and comfortable, home from home with everything you could ask for there. The full length glass windows added to the beauty and we sat in the evening watching the Osprey hunting on the loch, an otter, swan and a flock of geese that had landed. On the edge of the loch to the left we saw red deer and a white deer ( the house binoculars came in very handy for this). Breakfast was ate at the large dining table watching the numerous varieties of birds on the bird table and also saw a woodpecker join the other birds. A very busy week sightseeing but great to return to the house at the end of the day. If you are looking for something scenic and private without being isolated this is the place. We could have stayed for longer. Thank you for sharing you home with us x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing