We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tea room where you'd least expect to find one !”
Review of The Amulree Tearoom - CLOSED

The Amulree Tearoom
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great tea room where you'd least expect to find one !”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's 10 am on Sunday morning and for the first time in weeks it's wet dream, and very, very windy Sunday morning in rural Perthshire and what do find but THE most charming tea room run by Maggie.
Great steaming cups of superb coffee- Glen Lyon.My husband had a "3 shot expresso" in ahuge mug! Home baked scones and delicious cakes and unfortunately a little too early to have what ever smelt so wonderful , cooking in the background for the lucky lunchtime customers.
Defintely will be going back , both for another chance to sample the food and also to have a better loo at the fabulous paintings adorning the walls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wee gem of a place”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Amulree tearoom is delightful had a lovely lunch today soup to die for and home baking that couldn't be better. We were served very promptly be a well mannered polite young lady. I couldn't fault it. We will most certainly be going back. The views as your eating your lunch are amazing. 10 out of 10 we will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tea shop heaven”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

In a small hamlet, feels in the middle of nowhere and great walks from the door. Scones were freshly baked and soooo good, if I didn't live several hundred miles away I would be back daily. As it was had to get a second to take home. Cakes looked amazing too but only so much room. Partner had sandwich and liked that very much too; good bread. Very friendly staff - though probably thought we were a bit non-communicative - a bit zonked after an eight mile hike, sorry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and great food”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

As others have discovered, The Amulree Cafe is an exception restaurant in the middle of spectacular scenery. Although it was busy when we arrived we were served very quickly by very friendly waitresses. We were impressed that they cater for a gluten free diet. Our only regret is that it is a long way from Dundee but we shall visit the Sma' Glen soon just so we can have some more great hospitality in Amulree.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianmreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Impromptu lunch at Amulree”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped off for lunch at Amulree Cafe. Lovely people - very friendly and excellent service. Excellent plate of soup - catered for gluten free. Would certainly recommend it and would go back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amulree Tearoom also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing