We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and great food”
Review of The Pend

The Pend
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunkeld
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pend
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunkeld B&B and Inns
Tyrone
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and great food”
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I wanted to book somewhere for myself, my husband and another couple; as we were going to a wedding nearby. I had been put off by the website as it is written as if two dogs run the show! However don't let this prevent you from staying here. We stayed two nights; and Peter and Marina were very hospitable. They certainly don't intrude, there is an air of tranquility about the place, but they gave us good advice on where to go out, and told us all about Kinnaird House, where the wedding was.
The breakfast is superb, just ask for it the way you like it, and that is what you will get. There was also beautiful fresh fruit salad as part of the feast.
Our room was very nice, all old furniture. There was fresh milk in a little fridge and a big selection of tea and coffee. There was even a cafetiere. The little touches are very nice.
I don't think that the lack of ensuite matters. There were robes in the closet and it was easy to nip over to the loo. The shampoo mini bottles etc looked like the normal fare until I tried them. They just smell nice, compared to the usual synthetic stuff you get. Seem to be made with natural products.
So I couldn't fault this place and would definitely stay here again. It is central in Dunkeld, and it is a lovely little town. I should also say, the dogs are very cute, and they don't run the show!

  • Liked — great breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuirkygirlTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirknewton Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My husband and i had a great stay at the pend it was just like living with a family it was so relaxed and friendly.
The food was fantastic and the room was very spacious.
The dogs were great too they were really friendly and enjoyed coming to see us in our room we love dogs so it was great for us.
I would definatley recommend the pend to all my friends and we will be going back there in the near future. Thanks for a great weekend..

  • Liked — tHE SIZE OF THE ROOMS THE FOOD AND HOW FRIENDLY THE OWNERS WERE
  • Disliked — tHERE WASNT ANYTHING BAD ABOUT THE ACCOMMODATION
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eve013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

Peter and Marina run a wonderful place. The food is outstanding - among the best. A varied menu each night and some wonderful and amazing things come out of that kitchen.
You will not go hungry at The Pend.
The room we stayed in was quite large and comfortable.
Dunkeld is beautiful - a great base of operations for the Perth Area.
The ONLY negative thing I can say is that my bad back would have liked a firmer bed.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phunkmonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

We booked on reliance from the website of the B&B and internet reviews. Despite a warm welcome of the owners, on comparison to other B&Bs we have tried in the other area, it was not very good value for money considering the bedrooms were not en-suite and were very tired. Also due to the old state of the house, beware of the noise from other rooms particularly the bedrooms on ground and first floor.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank story2tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Joint Owner at The Pend, responded to this review, June 20, 2006
It's reviews like the one from "Slough" that make owners wonder why they bother rushing around like lunatics seeing to the needs of their guests. Thankfully the majority of our guests do make it worthwhile! Slough says he/she visited in March. We have no record of that and suspect the review is simply malicious and from someone with another agenda. We make no apology for our rates - we use the best quality materials and provide many luxuries to make up for not having en-suite facilities. We collect and return guests to/from the station, wedding venue, reception, etc. We iron clothes for guests attending weddings. We work hugely long hours to ensure everyone staying with us has the best possible experience. Consequently we were selected as the best B&B in Scotland by Which Good Hotel Guide in 2003 and Les Routiers in 2004. We have been highly recommended and featured by Independent on Sunday, Country Living magazine and Delicious. In March, the month Slough was supposed to have visited, we were reviewed by Scottish Field and a 2 page article was published in their May edition. We are to be featured by Le Figaro Japon (the japanese version of Le Figaro) in July following a visit by their journalists and photographers in May.
Please remember that when you visit a B&B it is a home not a hotel. The owners work extremely long hours on your behalf. So treat them with respect, they may be the toilet cleaner but they are also the managing director, waiter and chef!!!
Marina and I are very approachable people. We would exhort any guest who is not happy to let the owners or managemant know their feelings before they leave. It really is discourteous and a little bit cowardly to go away without having said anything, then write a negative anonymous review. Bear in mind it is our livelihood you are affecting.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2005

Stayed at The Pend on a trip up to Dunkeld. The B&B is beautifully located, and the room was fantastic. A real home-from-home feel while retaining privacy. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive or overpowering - not a balance that a lot of B&B people get right, in my experience. This was perfect.

Does the Pend do the best breakfast in Scotland? Quite possibly......the breakfast was incredible, and the standard of cooking exceptional. Very good for vegetarians too.

And I so wanted to take the little Westies home with us!! Will just have to go back again for another pat!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franklin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2004

We just returned from a brief visit to Scotland for a friend's wedding in Perth; stayed at The Pend and experienced the warm and gracious hospitality we had heard about before our visit. Peter and Marina were exemplary hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we drove up to their beautiful B&B. The location is ideal--just steps away from the main streets of Dunkeld, the Dunkeld Cathedral, the River Tay and a fun little pub, Taybank, around the corner.

Helpful?
Thank Suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 16, 2004

Had a memorable stay at The Pend last year. This was a return visit to Dunkeld, which I remembered as my favorite small village from a previous trip to Scotland. My stay at The Pend was wonderful -- the hosts were so gracious and helpful, the food was excellent, the accomodations comfortable and cozy. Only wish I could have stayed more than one night!! The village of Dunkeld remains as charming as ever, with great hiking areas surrounding the village. Of course one of the best parts of the stay was being able to play with Molly, the cute little Westie. I highly recommend this wonderful B&B!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,813 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
773 reviews
11.0 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pend

Property: The Pend
Address: 5 Brae Street, Dunkeld PH8 0BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunkeld
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Pend Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing