We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average Hotel in Lovely Riverside Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Above Average Hotel in Lovely Riverside Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Our room was large and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. The lady at reception was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed strolling through the town and along the river. Our only complaint was with the hotel restaurant at dinner - the servers seemed begrudging and the food was subpar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    159
    65
    25
    16
See reviews for
60
281
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

This Hotel has great potential due to it's grand design and it's location with views over the River Tay however...

The food is terrible!!!! They seriously need to sort this out and either re-train the chefs or get new one's. The food is very over priced considering the quality and it should not be. We had to eat elsewhere every night of our stay it was shocking but we couldn't avoid the breakfast as it was included in the room rate. The breakfast (a simple dish) was poor i.e. pork sausages still slimy/raw, mushrooms not cooked, poached eggs harder than bolied and tomatoe missing. Disgrace! If you do stay in the hotel I recommend you dine in other places i.e. Howies or local pub and ask not to be placed in the room next to the cleaners cupboard (love the hoover bashing at 7am). I hope the hotel takes this on board as I really do believe this hotel would be wonderful if they sorted the dining.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank secretsquirel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This a great hotel to stay in this area. Rooms are clean and staff were so friendly.
I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinnclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a one night break while we had a babaysitter, for some R&R. For £48 we had a nice room in a fine old hotel, breakfast in our room and a good fester in bed until 10.30. The service was exceptionally friendly. The room would have been fine at twice the price.

Dunkeld's a fine place to stay and we had a good cycle the next day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for a civil ceremony I was invited to in August of last year and I can't believe, living so near that i have missed this hotel before. It is set in a gorgeous location and waking up in the morning after a very peaceful sleep was sheer bliss. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the whole atmosphere created was amazing.

The food needs a comment of it's own - outstanding!!! I have never enjoyed a meal so much ever and that's not an understatement, it was absolutely amazing and I keep trying to find an excuse to go back!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering travelling close to the area, it is very reasonably priced and well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oracless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I would recommend this hotel. It was well located in the village, near The Taybank for live music and Co-Op shop across road. It is full of character and our room (The Victoria Suite) room 17 overlooked The Tay. Our room was massive, and was probably as big, if not bigger than the bar in The Taybank! I kid you not! Only downside to the room was the ensuite toilet kept blocking, but was probably down to the age of the plumbing!
The hotel had loads of character, the staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We had a problem with our bill on checking out, but it was resolved immediately. The bar was friendly and sold Tennents Lager, the only bar in the village to do so!
I would definately return to The Atholl Arms, should I be lucky enough to visit the beautiful village of Dunkeld in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

stayed the weekend for good friends wedding and had a wonderful time. beautiful hotel and room. staff excellent. best weekend ive had in ages. highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
9.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing