We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and a perfect location”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This a great hotel to stay in this area. Rooms are clean and staff were so friendly.
I will be back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinnclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 531 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a one night break while we had a babaysitter, for some R&R. For £48 we had a nice room in a fine old hotel, breakfast in our room and a good fester in bed until 10.30. The service was exceptionally friendly. The room would have been fine at twice the price.

Dunkeld's a fine place to stay and we had a good cycle the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for a civil ceremony I was invited to in August of last year and I can't believe, living so near that i have missed this hotel before. It is set in a gorgeous location and waking up in the morning after a very peaceful sleep was sheer bliss. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the whole atmosphere created was amazing.

The food needs a comment of it's own - outstanding!!! I have never enjoyed a meal so much ever and that's not an understatement, it was absolutely amazing and I keep trying to find an excuse to go back!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering travelling close to the area, it is very reasonably priced and well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oracless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I would recommend this hotel. It was well located in the village, near The Taybank for live music and Co-Op shop across road. It is full of character and our room (The Victoria Suite) room 17 overlooked The Tay. Our room was massive, and was probably as big, if not bigger than the bar in The Taybank! I kid you not! Only downside to the room was the ensuite toilet kept blocking, but was probably down to the age of the plumbing!
The hotel had loads of character, the staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We had a problem with our bill on checking out, but it was resolved immediately. The bar was friendly and sold Tennents Lager, the only bar in the village to do so!
I would definately return to The Atholl Arms, should I be lucky enough to visit the beautiful village of Dunkeld in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

stayed the weekend for good friends wedding and had a wonderful time. beautiful hotel and room. staff excellent. best weekend ive had in ages. highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have recently enjoyed a few days in Dunkeld,staying at The Atholl Arms Hotel. We have stayed there before,some years ago. This time we found that many improvements have been made. The room and all public areas were fresh and clean. The staff were all helpful and attentive. Food was excellent,evening meals especially. All in all,EXCELLENT.
The location,overlooking the river,on the corner of the main street,couldn't be better.
From the hotel door,there are many walks. Short walks around the town,cathedral grounds,and along river bank are easy. Other walks can take much longer.Taking a picnic lunch,you can explore the area around Dunkeld in all directions. We use train or bus,and Dunkeld is but a 10 miute walk from Birnam to catch train or Citylink bus.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The room we had a was very nice, clean and a huge bathroom. The rooms seem to have been recently decorated and it is well heated. The bathroom however was freezing as it only had a heated towel rail. Staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast was a variety of cereals, fruit salad ( which seemed a bit old), yoghurt along with a choice of a variety of cooked things including kippers if you wanted. All up I would recommend this hotel, it has a restaurant if you wanted a meal but it is also close to the Taybank where they have live music and food too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $90 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing