We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been much better”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great position in Dunkeld and the perfect place to meet friends for lunch, so we chose it. Cool reception from staff and a long, long wait for food despite there only being one other table occupied. The dining room was dark (it was a dull, cold day) and the lights were not switched on until some time after we were seated. Poor service and average food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cher130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hello and thank you for sending this review to trip advisor. I am very concerned that you did not receive our full attention on arrival, had a long wait and also that you thought the food was average. Lights should have been switched on right away.
I have had discussions with management and would like to speak to you further on this matter.
Would you be so kind as to email me directly so I can fully understand what went wrong.
This is not the standard we aspire to and more information is sought before we can resolve this.
Kind Regards,
The Atholl Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 528 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Brilliant hotel, total value for money. Good comfortable rooms, clean, well cared for. Friendly attentive staff. Fantastic breakfast both days too. Centrally located, great views. Really a very excellent place to stay.

The worst possible thing I could say is that the toast was a little on the soggy side, but lets face it, if that was the worst, then it must be rather fab place. Go there again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallace1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Wow, what a brilliant review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. It is so nice to hear we are doing a fine job in all areas of the hotel. I must agree we do a great job with the breakfasts being cooked to order and the buffet really sets you up for the day. Sorry about your toast being soggy, I hope you mentioned this at the time so we could make more, that would not be a problem.
As you mentioned Dunkeld is centrally located. Just over an hour from Glasgow, Edinburgh, Inverness or Aberdeen you can get away from the city and enjoy the beauty that Perthshire has to offer. Walks along the River then back to the hotel for soup and sandwich by the coal fire.
Please keep in touch via facebook as we will be closing for three weeks in January, just after New Year. This allows us time to do some renovations. Our web site will also have all our specials listed.
Thank you again for this lovely review. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I returned today (12 December) from a very enjoyable stay in this lovely little Hotel. Our room ( number 17 ) was ENORMOUS with 2 sofas a very comfortable bed and a marble fireplace,and was spotless Check-in was slick and we even had our bag carried up to our room, which was lovely and cosy. We ate in the bistro on our first night and the food was really nice and very inexpensive,On the second night we used the a la carte restaurant and the food and service were fabulous, and cost a fraction of what we are used to paying in Edinburgh. The staff were chatty and friendly without being intrusive.This is a lovely old building so the plumbing was a bit quirky but we were warned of this and once the hot water arrived it was hot and plentiful. I believe the hotel is closing for refurbishment so I guess this will be addressed. This trip was a birthday treat from my wife, but I guess we will not be waiting till next birthday before we return!!

Room Tip: It is worth paying the small extra charge for a river view. We recieved the upgrade F O C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeP186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Happy belated birthday!
Room 17 is a wonderful suit with it's huge windows looking over to the river, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
This January we will be decorating room 17 and it will have new furniture. A few other rooms will receive new curtains, beds and carpets. Some rooms will also have new showers fitted....any plumbing job is a challenge in this old building....the list goes on.
It is important to us that we keep the ambiance and respect the age and character while renovating.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meals in both the bistro and the restaurant. We are hoping for another informal dining award. This will be announced in April 2014.
Our web site will have all the news and specials listed and we will do postings on facebook while closed so you can see how the rooms are coming along.
Thank you again for a lovely review and we all look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We arrived on a cold snowy day to this lovely warm comfortable hotel - what a treat. We were welcomed by friendly pleasant staff. Our room was large, lovely and had a pretty view over the River Tay and the hills in the background. The bed was comfortable, there was a good sized LCD TV and a kettle and tea & coffee - everything we could wish for. Next morning we were last in the dining room for breakfast and the staff had thoughtfully prepared a table which looked out over the river - little touches like that were appreciated. There was a buffet for cold starters as well as porrige on the menu. The menu had an excellent choice of cooked breakfasts to follow. For example as well as the traditional Scottish breakfast with Ayrshire bacon, Stornoway black pudding, potato scone etc there was also a choice of haddock with poached free range egg / kippers in lemon butter, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and three types of omelette. The cost of the room was very reasonable for the high standard and included the full breakfast. We stayed two nights and will go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Customer service is paramount to us in all departments of the hotel.
We also realise the importance of a good breakfast and being a small hotel we can offer this cooked to order. Our eggs are delivered daily from a local farmer. We are open to residents and non residents all year.
In January we are closing for a few weeks. This will give us a chance to do some renovations. Room 17 will be painted and have new furniture. Several other rooms will also receive new curtains, carpets and furniture.
We will post daily on Facebook. Don't worry, we will be taking bookings online while we are closed and will be answering the phone as well. It would be fun for you to come back and see what we have done to the rooms.
Thank you again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here last weekend (23rd Nov) . After a little trip into Pitlochry for a walk round the town and woods we arrived at the hotel and were checked-in in minutes. The room was a good size and actually bigger than I expected for the type of hotel. It was a cold weekend, but the room was warm throughout despite the chill outside. The food in the bistro was enjoyable and tasty and as with the rest of the hotel the service was great. Breakfast in the river view restaurant teh next morning really hit the spot, especially the great scrambled eggs.

Throughout the visit the staff were warm, friendly and helpful, even arranging an unexpected 8 am wakeup call ;-). The hotel is dog friendly so we had our puppy with us. The only place dogs are not allowed is the restaurant, which is understandable, but they are allowed everywhere else including the bar bistro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcarson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear your stay was everything you expected. All of the rooms have their own heaters and we like to have them on if guests are arriving on a cold day.
In January we are closing on the 6th allowing us the chance to redo some of the window sills and replace some of the exterior woodwork. Rooms will also get new furniture, curtains and carpets.
This weekend is Santa Day in Dunkeld, we are baking away like mad for our bake sale.
Great to hear you enjoyed your meals as we pride ourselves on offering great, locally sourced dishes in the Bistro and the restaurant, even the eggs for breakfast come from a farm just down the road.
I hope you have the chance to visit us again soon in the near future. Doggie treats at the ready!
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stopped into the hotel when we were out for a Sunday drive.Ended up having dinner.There was a good choice on the menu and it looked and tasted it really good.The meal was really hot when served and this paired with good service made for an enjoyable wee break in a cosy Bistro type bar lounge!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spats2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Our team of chefs work hard to offer a menu that suites all preferences with an emphasis on locally sourced produce.
We all work together to make our guests feel welcome and your satisfaction is paramount to us. It is nice to hear that we are doing a great job.
Dunkeld is so pretty at the moment on a nice day you can walk along the river and enjoy the scenery. On Saturday 7th Dec the town will be celebrating Santa day. All information for this and other events can be found on Dunkeld and Birnam Tourist link from our web site.
After New Year we will be closing to do some renovations. Please check with our facebook page to see all the daily activity.
Thanks again for a fabulous review, we hope to see you again soon on your next visit.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for one night on deal. Room basic but spotlessly clean. Hotel a little down at heel but compensated for by pleasant staff and comfortable public areas. Lovely meal in evening and more than adequate breakfast. Stunning riverside location in beautiful and historic small town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinlithgowGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay in Dunkeld. Offering wonderful, tasty dishes as well as great customer service is paramount to us here at the Atholl.
In January we will close for three weeks. This will give us time to do some cleaning and renovating.
The lounge will receive new lighting, phase two of the room renovations include new curtains, carpets and furniture and we have started re-doing all the window sashes. It is an ongoing task in this old building. All can be followed on Facebook as we will post daily pictures.
Thanks again for a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Warm regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,914 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $88 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing