We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

A lovely stop off in stunning scenery, friendly staff, fantastic food and breakfast. Our very well behaved little dog allowed in certain areas just made the trip. Great to have her in with us having a beer instead of stuck in the car at -5c

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinxAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love dogs and welcome them in our bar, lounge and hotel rooms.
I do agree, Perthshire is so stunning at this time of year with all the trees in magnificent colour.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meals and especially your freshly cooked breakfast. So many of our guests like that this is cooked to order as well as the buffet we offer can set you up for the day.
Our menu is changing as we go into the winter months but we will always have the Atholl classics on there. Fresh, locally sourced produce is paramount to our team of chefs. Nothing is brought in ready made.
There are many activities planned over the Christmas and New Year holidays including great choices for group lunches and dinners. All are listed on our web site and facebook postings.
Thank you again for a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    163
    66
    25
    16
See reviews for
62
285
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A lovely hotel. The bar and the restaurant are comfortable and welcoming. We stayed for a night during the Amber festival and the place was packed with talented musicians playing in ever available space.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and warm.The staff are friendly and efficient they added to a thoroughly enjoyable break.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrymac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello and thank you for writing such a lovely review. It is so nice to get feed back and to know we are reaching our goals for all our guests to be satisfied with the services we aspire to.
The Amber Festival has been brilliant so far, so many talented folks out there. We managed to get a few photos on Facebook and will continue with that as much as we can.
We now have all our Christmas and New Year offers on our web site, I hope there is something of interest there for you.
Your comments have been shared with the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Atholl arms was lovely until we got home and discovered we had left stuff in the hotel we phoned them and got told nothing was handed in said I was sure we had so was tokd they woul check again and I was to phone the next day when I phoned the hotel the gentleman told me that still nothing was handed in I said I was 100 % sure we had the gentleman made me feel like I was lying he was sarcastic and very rude we will never stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Liz,
It seems you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us yet feel we were rude once you got home and discovered your mothers toothbrush was missing.
Lots of guests leave things in their rooms and we are always happy to return these items in the post. I can honestly say that our housekeeping staff did a thorough search to no avail even after your third phone call. If it shows up please let us know.
Its a shame you will not stay with us again because of this as everything seemed to be to your satisfaction. I hope you continue to visit Dunkeld as it is so pretty especially at this time of year.
Sincerely,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

A wee while since we last stayed at the Atholl Arms, and we are so happy to say that as usual everything was perfect. Service and Staff are excellent. Management fully focused on making our stay as enjoyable as humanly possible. The usual Friday night musical event is wonderful. You will find it difficult to stay anywhere around Dunkeld with the level of service given by everyone at this hotel. The only word to describe the experience is "EXCELLENT"... Thank you so much to all at the Atholl Arms Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 17 is the one if you can get it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Colin and Cath. Nice to see you back with us and Oscar, what a lovely doggie he is, I think Alan has a soft soft spot for him.
Friday music nights are becoming popular and I imagine will continue to do so as the winter months approach. We are also looking forward to being part of the Dougie MacLean festival at the end of this month.
As the owner of the Atholl I feel very proud of the way we are all working together as a team to offer great service in all departments. Thank you for continuing to support us with your patronage, it is very much appreciated.
We will close in January after the New Year festivities to do some renovating in the rooms and some outside work on the windows. All will be posted on facebook.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a lovely review. Hope to see you back with us again soon.
Kindest Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just stayed for the weekend, cosy large room with locals playing banjos and guitars on Friday night. Had a meal at the Atholl Inn and the food was great and very reasonably priced with large portions.Restaurant looked quite pricey so for those 0n a budget the Inn is perfect.Breakfast was great and staff were friendly overall I had a great weekend and would stay again. Only one moan, the bed was to soft but thats just me being picky lol.

Room Tip: If you can go for the suite it looked amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the music led by Doug and Hilary, always a good night.
We work hard as a team to develop menus to suit all our guests and its nice to hear we are doing a good job with this. All of our dishes are made from scratch using local and seasonal produce wherever possible.
May I mention that we do have an inventory of mattresses and can easily swap them around if we know you like a particular type of mattress. Please mention next time that you prefer a harder mattress and we will do our best to provide this. In January there will be 6 new beds going into various rooms as we decorate, including the suite. We will make daily postings on facebook so you can see what we are up too.
Thanks again for a great review, we all hope to see you back again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for a short break and enjoyed the experience very much. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially with our 2 year old grandson. Rooms were comfortable and extremely clean. Breakfast was very good, much better to get a freshly cooked breakfast than the buffet style offering in most of the big hotel chains. Lunch menu was very good value and food was good.Evening meals were a little pricey, but nice. Overall a very good hotel to use as a base to explore this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We do take pride in offering a great freshly cooked breakfast to order, this is one of the nicer things about a smaller hotel. Our buffet of fresh fruit and home made muesli is also enjoyed by many guests.
This week our chefs developed a new dessert menu and are now working on the main dishes to reflect our wonderful Perthshire larder of local produce. Everything is made from scratch in our kitchen by award winning chefs. Once the menu is done we will post on our web site and specials are often listed on our facebook page.
It sounds like you enjoyed Dunkeld, it is lovely at this time of year with the trees changing and the cooler weather approaching. This month we will see the start of the Dougie MacLean festival.
Thank you again for a great review, we all hope to see you back again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here using Itison deal. The room was comfortable and clean.
We payed extra for the river view but it was worth it.
The food was superb and the staff were excellent.
We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barracuda12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Guest satisfaction is paramount at the Atholl and it is clear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our team of chefs continue to offer creative dishes using local and seasonal food. We are members of Scotch Beef club, Gourmet Society, Vegetarian Society and Scottish Hotels 2013.
In January we will close for 3 weeks in order to do some renovating in the rooms. It will be fun to post on Facebook as we decorate and get ready for another successful year.
I hope its not too long until you can come back and see us again, maybe Christmas or New Year.
Thanks again for a great review.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
9.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing