We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent one night here with my partner. The room was very large, clean, bright and airy, as was the bathroom. Sat in the riverside garden with a glass of wine in glorious sunshine before going indoors for dinner. Dinner was absolutely delicious with huge portions. Prior to our ordered starters we were given wonderful fresh bread with two homemade dips and fresh butter - perfect! We then had the whitebait and mushroom soup to start, followed by two exceptional steaks with a super mushroom sauce and pont neuf potatoes. We waited a little while and then had vanilla panacotta and cheese and biscuits. Breakfast the next day was every bit as good as dinner and the choice was super. We had fresh fruit to start, a Scottish breakfast and scrambled eggs with Dunkeld smoked salmon. Staff were friendly and attentive and we will definitely return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodie50XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and experienced everything we offer at the Atholl. Delivering a relaxed and professional atmosphere to our guests is paramount.
Everything in the kitchen is made from scratch with produce being delivered daily from local farmers and suppliers. Our chefs usually make 2 or 3 daily specials so there is always something different and interesting on the menu.
You may be interested to know we offer a tasting menu once a month, always the first Thursday, 5 courses, 28 pounds a head. It's a fun night out and reduced room rates if you would like to stay. All the information on our slow food dinners and other events can be found on our site and on Facebook.
We are all hoping the brilliant weather will continue and that we get full use of our garden on the Tay.
Thank you again for writing your review, we all look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warmest regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Atholl Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are just back from two nights at the wonderful little hotel in Perthshire and can't fault it in any way. We had a standard double room looking up the hill and away from the river, so that avoided any possible noise from traffic on the main street. The room was larger than most modern hotels and was very comfortable, clean and well appointed with a similar bathroom. One minor gripe about the mixer shower - due to an imbalance in pressure between the hot and cold taps it was almost impossible to achieve a comfortable temperature and water flow, but we were up on the second floor of an old building!
Downstairs the public rooms are a mixture of period features and contemporary furniture which works really well. Beautiful views of the river and bridge from the lounge and restaurant and fortunately the weather was kind for our stay so we made the most of the garden sloping down to the River Tay.
We ate one night in the restaurant and the second in the bar and the food in both was superb. Seeing the chef going out to the garden a couple of times to pick herbs was a good indication of the freshness of the food.
Above all, the service really marked this hotel out. It was at all times efficient and organised but also friendly and informal. We felt all the staff really cared about us and were keen to ensure we had an enjoyable time - which we did.
Having stayed previously at a large hotel further up the river, I know which one we will be coming back to on future trips to Dunkeld!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rupert_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river.
The hotel was originally built as a hotel but in those days as we all know, not all rooms where en-suite. Over the years the hotel has been renovated to achieve where we are today with 17 rooms all with their own bathrooms. It is a challenge in this old building as we are continuing to renovate and improve. We have on going daily maintenance and look forward to January when we have a chance to close and restore bigger projects.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals in both the RiverView and Bar. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily. We have a few herbs growing in the garden and this summer we are re-doing the fence around the garden incorporating a larger bed for the kitchen. Menus change all the time as produce arrives, next time you are visiting you may find a whole new menu in the RiverView.
Thank you again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on return journey from Scotland. Gorgeous setting- Dunkeld v pretty little town. Oddities in room- clear bedroom and bathroom window panes, no nets or blinds, opening onto not v wide street with buildings facing. Felt had to close curtains in bathroom, and when changing, to avoid indecent exposure! V poor light in bathroom, generally old fashioned style.
On the plus- restaurant good, bed comfy, breakfast yet to be sampled but choices look good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I agree, Dunkeld is a very special place.
The hotel windows are huge, hence the heavy curtains in the bathrooms. I have thought about putting nets in all the windows along the front but wonder if this would be adequate. This January we will have a chance to close for two weeks allowing us to continue our renovations and improvements. At the moment we are waiting for planning permission to have the windows replaced. This is not a straight forward task for a listed building. Watch this space!
We have changed out the light in the bathroom, thanks for alerting us to this.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal in our award winning restaurant. I hope next time you visit you can also enjoy breakfast.
Thanks again for writing your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Kind Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'm just home after a short stay at The Atholl Arms Hotel. What a fantastic hotel in the beautiful town of Dunkeld.
You are looked after from the very courteous and professional staff. Nothing is too much trouble, whether dealing with the management, waitresses in their excellent Riverview Restaurant and their bar staff in their welcoming Inn.
The food in the restaurant is top quality dining at a reasonable price, using a huge variety of traditional Scottish fare...and they welcome you to make suggestions if there is something that you would rather see on their menu. Customer care with a huge personal touch.
The setting of The Atholl Arms is stunningly beautiful on the banks of the River Tay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very spacious and at £ 79 for the evening for my my girlfriend and myself, we will be returning very soon. Thorougly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the River Tay. Breathtaking!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dago1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a fabulous review about the Atholl. Customer care is of the upmost importance and it is clear this is what you received while staying with us.
Our team of chefs are delighted you enjoyed your meal at our award winning RiverView Restaurant. At this time of year everything is coming into season allowing new dishes to be created on a daily bases.
We will soon be sending out our quarterly newsletter and you can also follow us on facebook and twitter. Here you can read about things happening in and around Dunkeld. I hope there will be something of interest for you.
We all look forward to you visiting again soon,
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed one night on a deal with a bottle of wine thrown in. Our room was spacious, looking on to main road. The lounge area was welcoming with a range of different armchairs and sofas and we enjoyed an excellent pint in the beer garden across the road from the hotel looking on to the river tay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the only downside was that it was a bit noisy on the main road in the morning. Also the breakfast was not the most generous or well presented that we've had. But an enjoyable stay overall.

Room Tip: avoid one looking out on to the main street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesmagsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
We are now in our third year of ownership, renovating and remodelling when and where we can. I appreciate your feedback about how welcoming the lounge area is.
It would be interesting to know what you had for breakfast as we don't get many complaints about this. Was it a cooked dish or buffet not offering enough or both?
Next time you stay please let us know if there is anything you would like and we will try our best to deliver.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you are in this area go to this hotel.very good breakfast and dinner and a very charming place.when we were there people met to make live music in the living room.it was great. the room was big and so was the bath.had a room under the roof with riverview.perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pirandello1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Our team of chefs are also delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in our award winning RiverView Restaurant. All our dishes are made from scratch using seasonal produce arriving daily.
Glad to hear you enjoyed our weekly music session led by Doug and Hilary Law, this is a very popular night.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night thanks to Itison Voucher and had a great time at this hotel near Perth. We stayed in room 9 on top floor which had superb view of Tay River and car park. The room was basic and very clean with nice bathroom but shower was not very powerful. Noise from road outside wasn't a problem for us. Car parking was ample. There was also a lovely beer garden across road from hotel near river. Breakfast was tasty with the most perfect poached egg. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
Glad to hear your breakfast was perfect.
Next time you are visiting Dunkeld I hope you have the chance to experience our award winning RiverView restaurant.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Kind Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
706 reviews
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
11.0 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing