We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$177
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kinloch House(Blairgowrie)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tayside Hotel(Stanley)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballathie House Hotel(Stanley)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$182
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge of Cally Hotel(Bridge of Cally)(Great Value!)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Blairgowrie)
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angus Hotel(Blairgowrie)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
227
193
75
29
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
193
75
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverview restaurantmeeting placevegan menua river view roomvenison burgerdog friendly hotellounge areafamily weddinghotel barscottish hotelno liftbanks of the riverfood was lovelyshort staydining roomscottish breakfastlarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 541 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a 'deal' too as we'd often passed through Dunkeld on the trip north to visit family but had never explored there. Reception, car parking arrangements and room were all fine. Staff we approached were very friendly and responsive. We were lured away by the venison sausages on the menu down the road at the Perth Arms so missed out on dinner and were then too tired with exploring to visit the bar but the breakfast was definitely first class.
Nice wee place to spend the day, the only negative was the noise from the amount of heavy vehicles using the suprisingly busy road, with the hotel being situated at the junction but overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be aware of the noise from heavy traffic which starts @0530 hrs
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grampasauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Customer care is paramount at the Atholl, you will always receive a friendly reception.
Sorry to hear you missed having a meal in our award winning restaurant, I hope next time you are visiting you will choose to eat here. Our chefs work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily. We also offer a tasting menu once a month which is a lot of fun, details are on our website.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just stayed a couple of nights in the Athol Arms Dunkeld on an "ITISON" 2 night deal with breakfast included. I can recommend this hotel for a stay in the beautifull Perthshire town of Dunkeld.The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was good, reasonably priced,beer too. The river Tay runs by the front door, and there is lovely woodland walks with benches dotted all the way along. Dunkeld boasts another 4 hotels/ bars.You are within close distance of Pitlochry or Perth/Dundee, so it is ideal for drives or just chilling out, we will be back.

Room Tip: choose a room with a river view, costs a wee bit extra. rooms are large and airy, bathrooms too with high ceilings.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeneas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
I agree, we are very central for a day or two out from Dundee, Glasgow, Inverness or further South.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl. Remember to check our website for the latest deals.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel once before so were familiar with the area which is an absolute delight to explore. There is so much history around here with some truly excellent places to visit.
The hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the river and our room gave us excellent views of it.
On the night we stayed, the restaurant was offering a half price home made beer battered fish and chip supper which was excellent. The hotel offers a table d'hote restaurant, a bistro and bar snacks. so something for everyone. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Can recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. The hotel is on the main road and so could be noisy if your room is on the front.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily. Our fish and chips Thursdays are popular so makes for a busy night. Next time you are visiting Dunkeld I hope you have the chance to experience our award winning RiverView restaurant.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

On our way home from a tour of the Scottish Highlands we stopped off at Dunkeld to have lunch at the Atholl Arms Hotel on the recommendation of a friend. We were so pleased we did! I had the venison burger which was truly delicious and my husband had fantastic fish & chips - we only wish we had an extra night spare to stay over and sample the dinner menu!

The staff were very friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the bar so when we are next in Perthshire a night at this hotel is definitely on our list!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank caldervalleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you had the chance to stop at Dunkeld on your way back from the Highlands.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy the seasonal produce arriving daily. You may be interested to know about our tasting menu once a month, always the 1st Thursday, Its a great night and all the information is on our web site. There is also a special rate for staying over on slow food Thursdays.
Thanks again for a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just back after two nights here and loved it. Lovely doggy friendly relaxed atmosphere and Brilliant service and food at this hotel. Perfectly positioned to act as a base for exploring the beautiful countryside. Bedroom was large and clean and the public areas relaxing and comfortable. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We will definitly be back and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on delivering exactly what you experienced while visiting. Great food, comfy and relaxed public areas, clean comfy rooms and above all fabulous and welcoming service.
I agree that Dunkeld is a perfect base for exploring the Perthshire countryside. Always something to see and do here. This year we won a prestigious award for social media so no need to go any further than our facebook or twitter pages to find information on what's happening in and around the area.
Thanks again for a great review and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews