We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great service”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate here twice and couldn't fault the service or the food.
After our meal we sat in the comfortable lounge (with log fire) and relaxed,chatting to some residents.
We only ate here ,but wouldn't hesitate on staying here the next time we visit this lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us here at the Atholl. All of our dishes are made from scratch and we pride ourselves on using locally sourced food wherever possible. This year we have been nominated for an award for informal dining from Scottish Hotel awards 2013. Every first Thursday we offer a 5 course tasting menu for £24. Great food and a relaxed evening. We offer a great room rate that night also.
There are often specials and activities listed on our web site and in our newsletter. We have music sessions on Friday nights in the lounge and quiz nights in the bar once a month.
Thanks again for a great review, we look forward to looking after you on your next visit.
Kindest regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    166
    67
    25
    16
See reviews for
63
290
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
motherwell
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at Atholl Arms in Dunkeld (there are two in Perthshire) several times before and it never disappoints.
Last week, we had our wedding ceremony here, just us and close family - we literally took over the hotel as it has approx. 17 rooms. The staff, in particular Alan and Cammi were fantastic; really going above and beyond to ensure every detail was taken care of. Whilst it's not a typical venue for a grand wedding and certainly if you're one for the pomp, pretentious and fickle then Atholl Arms isn't for you, but if you want a cosy, relaxed home from home where the staff are approachable and polite without being aloof then this is the place.
I would thoroughly recommend you consider this as a venue for your small family wedding, the hotel was pivotal in making our wedding magical.
We were given the suite gratis as part of the package which is as large as a small flat!
Family were given a discount on the rooms as we booked almost all of them and this included breakfast and our meal package was sublime. Choices of soup, pate or a fruit starter followed by chicken or lamb for the main and a delicious sticky toffee pudding or rhubarb crumble for desert washed down with fine coffee and local fudge. Alan was accommodating in changing the menu to suit us, to accommodate our ceremony needs within the lounge, who stayed in which rooms and next to whom etc...so feel free to chat to the staff on a personal level.
I'm mindful here to review the services without going on and on about our wedding but afterwards the bar staff and locals were friendly and warm when we took part in the pub quiz in our onesies! We stayed the day after the wedding too and were entertained by folk musicians in the lounge who were there for a music festival.
The whole place is quintessentially Scottish, right down to the breakfasts... smoked salmon....warm people.....open fires....pet friendly....riverbank location....scenery..... relaxed atmosphere and guid patter!
Thank you Atholl Arms, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room for scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xandercsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. We all thoroughly enjoyed meeting your family and making your day special. Being a small, unique hotel allows us the chance to offer bespoke packages for weddings and many other events. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and breakfast. Our chefs work hard to achieve the fabulous reviews we receive and can build a menu to suite any occasion.
Our quiz night is something we started this year and seems to be popular with guests and locals. We often have specials and activities listed on our site and in our newsletter, I hope there is something of interest to you there and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Alan has sent you some pictures, a few memories to add to your collection.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We made a telephone booking via LateRooms, initally asking for Atholl Arms, Blair Atholl. We were given this as another option which I am glad we accepted.

Welcome at reception was excellent ( a young, foreign girl). She gave our dog a biscuit and took us up to our room.

Lounge area is very cosy with comfy sofas and chairs. We had a drink in bar which was very fresh and modern looking. Barmaid was very friendly. We ordered a light meal which we chose to eat in lounge. Food was lovely and had a great menu choice. There were 3 local musicians playing music in the lounge.

Room was huge, spacious and bright unlike many hotel chain bedrooms. Bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast served in restaurant with view of River Tay. Hot breakfast cooked to order and I must say was excellent. Much better than buffet breakfast ususally served in hotels.

Lovely walk along riverside at front of hotel and excellent location.

Would I stay here again? Definately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazmacmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. It's interesting to hear that Laterooms gave you an option, how nice for us.
We often have music sessions on a Friday night in the lounge and bar. Dogs are very welcome in both areas and can often be found curled up in front of the coal fire after a long stroll along the River Tay.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your freshly cooked breakfast and meal in the lounge. Our menu is based strongly on local produce and everything is made fresh to order. Our Inn menu will be changing soon as we approach summer there will be lighter salads and sharing plates along with all our classic dishes that everyone loves. You can keep in touch by following us on facebook and signing up for our newsletter.
I hope you manage to plan another trip soon and thank you again for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were introduced to the Atholl Arms Hotel through Hotel Connections, and have to say, we were both delighted we were.
We spent 2 nights here that passed way to quickly.
we were met by a male at the reception who was happy to answer any questions and show us to our room.
Although very apparent that it is an older hotel, equally so is the fact that the owners are modernising it and tastefully so.
Our room didn't have a great view , however, they can't all have and this was compensated by the size of it, comfortable, clean bed and one of the largest sunken bathrooms I have ever been in.
I am compelled to mention our waitress 'Sam'. First class service, friendly knowledgable and great people skills. I was pleasantly surprised to hear she had only been a member of staff for a short time...well done you !
The service was equalled only be amazing food served.
Good choice on menu and all so fresh.
My partner had the best steak, and I must recommend you try the Dunkeld smoked salmon, whether its the starter menu or with fresh eggs at breakfast.
A particular favourite of mine, this was second to none.
There is a lovely welcoming fire in the lounge which seems to host local musicians on a Friday. They made us very welcome and added to the fun and friendly ambience.
The hotel is well situated adjacent to the River Tay with lovely walks, beautiful scenery and local shops on the doorstep.
On the occasion we had to question part of our bill, this was dealt with promptly, by staff who were happy to help and appologised for any error. Can't say fairer than that.
We will definitely be returning here.
Thank you to all the staff who looked after us, we had the best weekend.
Alice N....Wishaw

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Customer service is our number one priority and we feel privileged to have Sam on our Team. As you so kindly mentioned she is friendly, knowledgeable and has great people skills.
Our newsletter will be coming out soon with some interesting local news and some specials including our "Grub With Us" tasting dinner nights. You can also follow us on facebook to catch the latest happenings in and around Dunkeld.
We continue to make improvements throughout the year making the garden priority this summer with a new wall, fence and gravel in the parking area. Looking forward to having some music sessions outside if the weather permits.
I hope you manage to plan another trip soon, it would be lovely to see you and thank you again for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
Fondly,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were visiting Dunkeld because a friend was opening an exhibition. We decided to make a weekend of it and stay overnight. We loved the fact that the receptionist showed us to our room and explained the facilities.

We watched the rugby in the bar, again very friendly staff and the locals who frequent this bar were friendly too. We ate dinner in the Bistro and the venison burger was to die for. Yum. The meal was made all the more enjoyable by the service of the delightful young waitress who hailed originally from the Czech Republic she was quite, quite charming.

Breakfast was another delight. It was freshly cooked to order, none of your coagulating buffets here. My partner was delighted with the freshness of the egg and the sausages were wonderful. Again, the staff were charming, courteous and attentive. If we have occastion to be in Dunkeld again we will definitely be back to the Atholl Arms. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: I think any room in this well-run hotel would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erfreutwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a great review. I am very happy to hear your visit was to your satisfaction. Our award winning management team work very hard together and this clearly shows from your review.
Our food is all made from scratch and our burgers are quite famous with the local folks. Dishes may take just a tiny bit longer to cook but you can be guaranteed your meal is freshly made. We are proud to offer a freshly cooked breakfast while also offering cereals, toast, etc. Our eggs get delivered daily from a farm just along the road.
There always seems to be something happening in and around Dunkeld and we do try to keep our guests informed with facebook postings and 1/4 newsletters. I hope there is something of interest for you and that we see you back at the Atholl soon.
Kind Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shieldaig, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Atholl Arms as its a perfect stopover on our journeys from the north west Highlands when travelling south. Rooms are very comfortable and staff courteous and helpful. Dinner and breakfast was lovely...(Cullen Skink to die for). On a Friday evening local singers and musicians congregate in the lounge and we had a delightful evening listening to amazing music, singing and great banter. Although we didn't have our dog with us on this occasion she has previously been made very welcome. Can't wait for our next trip south of the border for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haggisbasher04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear your return stay with us was to your satisfaction. Our award winning management team work very hard to make customer service their top priority. Our music sessions are led by Doug and Hilary Law and can be quite different each week as the lounge is open to all that may want to join in or just relax and enjoy the music.
I agree that Dunkeld is the perfect stopping point for a lot of destinations and we very much appreciate your repeat custom.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Fondly,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and staffing has improved so much since our visit the year before. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Public areas are lovely and our room was spacious and clean with lovely big windows and very quiet being at the back of the hotel.

Lots of snow when we visited but loved it.

Room Tip: no street noise a back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your return visit. Our award winning management team makes customer service paramount as training continues in all departments.
In January we had a chance to close for a week to do some renovations and cleaning. You can see all the daily activities on our facebook page. We will also continue with our 1/4 email newsletter.
Hopefully the weather will allow us to open the beer garden soon where we can all enjoy the wonderful views of the river and bridge.
Thank you again for your great review and we all look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
9.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing