We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised - We will definetely be back!”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised - We will definetely be back!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I am not the easiest to please, especially when it comes to hospitality. I have very high standards and have been known to decide not to stay if a place is not up to standard....

Our experience at the Atholl Arms has renewed my faith in excellent customer service which after some bad experiences I think can be sadly lacking.

We are used to 5 star hotels and are well travelled so I was nervous about staying in a 3 star, however we wanted to bring our dog, Jess so we could have a few days walking so our options were more limited. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome...I had a meeting at work so arrived early, all suited and booted wanting to change into casual clothes. As we were so early our room wasnt ready but theat wasnt a problem and I was given a room to change in. When we arrived back to check in later, Gill fussed over us and our dog Jess and we had a seamless check in and again made to feel so very welcome.

We had dinner in the hotel and again we arent easy to please! However the service was excellent and the food of a very good standard. I would highly recommened the Haggis, Neeps and Tatties in the whisky sauce.

This is 3 star hotel so its not got all the 'bells and whistles' of a 5 star...But what it does have and the big chains could learn a lot from the Atholl Arms, is genuine, warm Scottish hospitality which focuses on the individual needs of each guest and treats them as people. That is something which can be hard to come by these days but the Atholl Arms as it.

So if you are looking to stay somewhere in one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland, and receieve a warm welcome with friendly service in a good, clean hotel with high standards. You might want to consider giving one of the bigger hotels or chains a miss and come here. We will most certainly be back and will be recommending it to family and friends.

Thank you to Gill and her team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeeTartanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    169
    68
    25
    16
See reviews for
63
297
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I booked a river view room from which the river could be seen over the very busy road which was only quiet around 11.30pm and the noise of heavy vehicles started again about 6.30am. The room was quite shabby and had a badly cracked sink which only had warm water never hot. The breakfast wasn't the best I've had and the meal we had for dinner was not of a great standard. We ate at another hotel in the village which had excellent food. The staff were pleasant and helpful but we would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudydog7850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our stay here was a pleasure with staff who are very helpful and friendly. We had booked a river view room but were given the suite (Room 17) - amazing views and fabulous room - it helped that the sun was shining! We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good at a reasonable price and breakfast was excellent also. It was really nice to be served the cooked breakfast rather than have to help yourself and all the meals were freshly cooked to order. I would highly recommend this hotel - it is in an ideal situation with lovely views, very comfortable accommodation, private parking and great staff, all of which makes your stay so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Staying at the Atholl Arms this weekend was a real treat! Dunkeld is such beautiful little city and we had more to do than we had time! The rooms were clean with comfy beds, the staff was so nice and the dinner(ribeye) was delicious. The beer garden was full on Saturday and the bike rental (progression) across the street was awesome for an off road tour of the River Te. The pub had live music on Friday night which was awesome and a great meeting place. There were a bunch of golfers in the hotel but we didn't get a chance to play although toured the grounds of st Andrews. We used scottishquads for a four wheeling and shooting trip which was also a great trip.

Overall staying at the Atholl Arms put us in a great central location with beautiful scenery for a tour of Dunkeld, Scotland and only listing it as a 3 star makes the value unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved the old world feeling about this hotel and Dunkeld. It took us back to the fifties and sixties and was none the worse for that, in fact better. We had a spacious room on the top floor overlooking the River Tay. We visited the Beatrix Potter centre in Birnam and that was beautiful. Walking up and down Dunkeld was a glorious sentimental old world experience. We dined in the Hotel and it was something special. The food was perfect.
The staff were so helpful and friendly- a great experience. The only downside was the traffic noise early in the morning; that is if you want to sleep after 7, the windows are single glazed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night only. Our check-in was seamless and the front of house staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. The same could be said of their cozy pub next door. What a treat it was to take our drinks to the beer garden across the road and to read our books by the Tay! Our river-view room itself was adequate and decent value for money...again, we had that amazing view of the river. We also really appreciated how welcome our dog was made and that she was permitted in all of the public areas of the hotel. Having said all of this, I really felt that the dinner and breakfast service let the place down. Our dinner was good, but we had to ask about the seafood option and were never offered the specials...which sadly sounded quite good (heard them on the way out). Breakfast was a another disappointment as it arrived cold and the black pudding was of the dry, pre-fab, pre-packaged hockey puck variety. The dining room was not busy at all (three occupied tables at the most) but several tables sat uncleared for the duration of our breakfast and we were not offered a choice of white or brown toast...cold, white toast just arrived. Would we return? Probably not. There are just so many other places doing the same thing. Getting to #1 is one thing, staying there is another...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volcanoduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atholl, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
I would like to thank these guests for their honest and constructive review of our hotel. Whilst I welcome the very positive comments made regarding their experience at check-in and the welcome they and their dog received, it was with concern that I read about the less than satisfactory service they received during their dinner and at breakfast the following morning.

I would like to assure them that this is not the standard of service that we normally deliver at the Atholl Arms Hotel and that previous guests have commented on so favourably in the majority of reviews made about us on Tripadvisor. This review has highlighted important training issues that we have already addressed with some urgency.

I am disappointed that they feel that may not return to our hotel but if they would be so kind to contact us directly at the hotel we would be very happy to discuss the matter with them. I wish to reassure them that any future visit will be a wholly positive experience.

It is constructive reviews such as this that allow us to continually improve our service and, again, I would like to thank these guests for their review.

Gill and Neil
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed in the Atholl Arms hotel on our way to the highlands and found it to be everything and more that you would expect from a three star hotel. Very welcoming, polite and helpful. We had our lunch in the Hotel off of the bar menu and had our evening meal in the restaurant and were very happy with both. The choice in the evening was excellent, and tasted great. We had a Scottish breakfast which was first class. The room was clean as was the hotel and we found it to have it's own charm, and very friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
744 reviews
10.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
11.0 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing