We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #1 of 4 Nature & Parks in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve covers 98 hectares near Dunkeld. From early April to late August, the star attraction is a pair of breeding ospreys, which nest just 150 metres from our observation hide. Interactive displays help bring the story of Loch of the Lowes to life. Get closer to the ospreys with binoculars, telescopes and live video footage. Spot red squirrels, woodpeckers and other woodland birds from viewing windows. Our gift shop offers a range of wildlife-related gifts and souvenirs. Hot and cold drinks and light refreshments are available.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wee treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Real animals. Squirrels. Woodpeckers. Ospreys. Lovely. Helpful staff, cracking setting. Is that fifty words yet ?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ieuan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    44
    6
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“only for die hard bird watchers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are mega in to bird watching then you will enjoy your visit. Otherwise you will not like it. They need to maybe develop a walking path or something else as it is literally a tiny visitor centre and a couple of hides. I love nature and support all efforts to conserve it and whilst I admire the enthusiasm of those who work in the centre investment is needed to make it worth a visit. sorry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank coconut-monkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“August Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Worth the £4 (although can you believe some people were complaining when we were there!) - lovely feeding area where you can view the birds, and if you're lucky, red squirrels! Two hides, both well positioned, complete with high - quality telescopes and binoculars.
Staff very helpful and informative - we were lucky enough to see the famous Osprey, but if you are not so lucky there is video footage too.
Not a lot else - no trails or anything - but plenty of walks surrounding, and your ticket is valid all day so you can come in and out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liveandlaugh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Friendly , knowledgeable and helpful people staffing the visitor centre. Great cup of coffee available too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT - fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fantastic place we visit every other year and its amazing. This year we so the osprey chick which was great and then the mother joined her, then as if that wasn't brilliant enough dad brought lunch and we watched then feed amazing. Really interesting place for both adults and children. The staff are also great as they are very informative, worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing