We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Country Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkeld House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Hilton Dunkeld is a beautiful traditional country inn right on the river. The setting is very relaxing and remote - exactly what we needed after a long day. We arrived in the early evening (although we missed the scenic entrance, and drove in through the back!) and were greeted at the reception desk with a smile and a glass of Scotch. We had purchased a package that included prosecco upon arrival and it was waiting in our room when we checked in. I was hoping for a better view, but ended up facing the back parking lot. The room was nice; high ceilings, attractive furnishings, and amazing Peter Thomas Roth bath products. The hallways were a bit dated, but overall, the hotel was well kept. I loved the sitting rooms and the dining room, as the country charm was present throughout. The food at the restaurant was excellent, too, although we found that the service was not as professional as we had hoped. The highlight of our stay was a clay pigeon shooting session with a charming Scotsman, who was more than we could have hoped for! His name was Baron Charlie Lush, and he made the experience feel very authentic. It was my first time at a shooting range, and my husband and I would recommend it to anyone - fantastic way to spend a misty morning in the highlands!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0nus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are overjoyed to read your holiday was a marvellous. Your praise for each department has been shared with them and delighted to read your expectations were exceeded in most areas and we do hope you return in the future for another fantastic shooting lesson from Baron Charlie Lush.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    726
    389
    207
    84
See reviews for
386
1,245
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff at the above hotel were excellent very friendly and welcoming on arrival. Lovely location and tourist locations near by. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and there are many lovely walks. Food was excellent and we would definitely visit again some time in the future. I put average as our room 133 was near a outside generator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are glad to read that you had such a fantastic time and that you found our team members professional and you enjoyed the cuisine our Chef’s provided for your stay. We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Dunkeld in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This truly was a great disappointment, planned this three night break with friends and booked executive rooms, our expectations were dashed , our room was to say the least tatty, dirty and deeply stained carpet,dirty two seater settee and very grubby wall paper, restuarant was disorganised, wedding guests from next door had to pass through the diners to use the toilet,food was reasonable but wine and bar drinks very overpriced, I have to say I have had better rooms in the Travel Lodge.
Reception staff were very uninterested in my complaint , take it or leave it attitude,such a shame because it is a wonderful setting.
Should be avoided .

Room Tip: We were in the new wing!! it was years ago,friends were in the original part and their room was wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUPIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments of course have been forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have been going to Hilton Dunkeld Hotel for years and it was always one of my families favourite hotels. The last couple of visits have been disappointing because there seems to be a cut back in service and amenities. The luxury element appears to have vanished. Some of the rooms are overpriced and are becoming a bit jaded.There is a lack of toiletries in the bathroom. The room service for food in the evenings is extremely poor sparse and expensive. I don't know whether the management has changed but this hotel is being wasted by being badly run. It's losing its charm rapidly. It's in one of the most wonderful locations you can imagine. It's such a pity to see this happening to one of our families favourite places.

Room Tip: A river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are extremely sorry your recent experiences at Hilton Dunkeld were unsatisfactory and please be certain your review has been shared with all the managers at the hotel. We are sorry we let you down and please be assured your comments are appreciated and will assist further our aim to provide the very best customer care we possibly can.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked deluxe room with balcony for birthday treat with my wife.
Hotel looked tired and in need of refurb and in no way was our stay a four star as indicated.
Overall review was building looked grotty on outside, receptionists were good and friendly but on our way to room the carpet was filthy and floors creaked.
Room was mouldy smelling and bed headboard was marked badly and no cover on bed or bath robes as indicated. Our view out was of three huge trees blocking view and car park.
Balcony was filthy and seat was just worse. Carpet in room had seen better days and was badly stained. Mould on patio doors and bath.
Dinner and service was okay and gained pass marks. The best part was the super surroundings outside which were terrific. Leisure facilities were good and went fishing one morning.
Would not go back until refurb done.

Room Tip: Stay outside on block or lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are sorry you will not return and we do hope a planned refurbishment of certain areas of our hotel will commence in the near future. I do not have enough information on your review to determine what room you were in but I have passed your feedback on to our Head Housekeeper.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package at the last minute which was good value.

We had a room in the separate General Wade building which was a lovely, spacious room looking out onto the grounds. These do seem to be the best choice of rooms if you don't mind having to walk over to the main building to eat.

Dinner was OK, not spectacular and I agree with the previous reviewer about the "supplement" charges for different menu choices. This is not an a la carte menu, it is a set menu with limited choices, and listing sauces which require a £2 charge, or extra charges for several of the main courses of £10 etc does detract from the experience. Just listen to the conversation when this menu is presented to a group. They find it ridiculous.

I remember Dunkeld House Hotel before it was a Hilton, it used to be quite special. It still has the grounds and the beautiful setting, but the product is definitely not the same.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirajax327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. I am unsure as to what you were informed as a group and will speak with our restaurant team to ensure this is not continual. Thank you for the review and we hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Dunkeld in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

No one in this hotel could be bothered to talk to us after we complained about the room over the air conditioning unit. We were eventually offered an alternative by phone in a twin rather than the double we booked way in advance for our nieces wedding. The bed was rock hard and the duvet covers didn't match. Self service breakfast had lots of choice but it took three goes to get some coffee. Check out was another indifferent encounter with busy staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are sorry you were unable to speak with a Duty Manager and are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Hilton Dunkeld, please accept my sincere apologies and your concerns will be addressed.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate in the beautiful Perthshire countryside, on the banks of the River Tay. With a wide range of activities and facilities both within the resort and the local area, it is the perfect getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The hotel has 98 guest rooms, Livingwell Health Club, [comfort zone] spa and on site activity centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing