We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkeld House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very nice Victorian type hotel, with the most beautiful view over the river. It is in a very quiet and peaceful location with lots of beautiful walks. The food is very good in the hotel, and for the most part, service is good. Staff are pretty helpful. Dont go for a basic type room as the beds are very uncomfortable. Housekeeping is good though, and bathroom spotless. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Hilton Dunkeld with us and future travellers.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    725
    389
    204
    84
See reviews for
384
1,244
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duns, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic location,friendly & very helpful staff.Breakfast is very relaxed & dinner lovely. Swimming pool & gym facilities are very good. The river Tay location makes for really lovely walks & the fact it's Big tree county makes it even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gilly465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for recommending us so highly it’s great to read you had a perfect stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I attended a wedding last weekend at this hotel we stayed the full weekend and thought we were going to a really nice hotel but this was not the case. The family room we booked was adequate for three people sharing however the bathroom was tiny you could hardly move in it, was very disappointed with that, also there was no full length mirror in the room and had to walk along a corridor to the ladies toilets to actually view my full outfit. The food was not as good as what would be expected from a hotel of this calibar and cost, and portion control was on the scrimpy side certainly not the portions to fill an adult appetite. The breakfast was/is a disaster the breakfast is self service including making your own toast so breakfast cold by the time you get back to your table. No waiter asking if you want any tea/coffee you need to look for them and request, even then no communication at all. No fresh eggs the eggs presented looked as though they had been there all morning so all in all not a good experience at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are sorry your expectations were not met during your recent stay at Hilton Dunkeld and your feedback has been shared with our Food and Beverage Manager. We are sorry you feel let down and appreciate your comments; please be confident that we will follow-up on the points you have outlined to avoid recurrence.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel itself is in a nice location but there are other hotels in the area that share the same location and ar far better value and the Management have a far better attitude. We had a couple of minor issues during or stay and got no help whatever from the Management. When I asked where my drinks where with my meal I was questioned in front of my family if I had not already had the drinks? A question I did not appreciate. Overall poor hotel for the price and Management need re-traing quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are concerned to read your comments regarding our management team and we will fully investigate your feedback. We apologise for your disappointment but hope to be able to welcome you back in the future as your discomfort is not indicative of our overall service levels.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were so disappointed with our stay at this hotel. I'm a Honors member and stay in Hilton hotels most months of the year, all over the world. We used my Honors points for a weekend break, and looking at the website we were expecting so much more than we actually got from this hotel.
In truth, it was so bad you just had to laugh.
The rooms are an 80s chintz nightmare, and in desperate need of an update. The hotel is pokey, and the staff are just downright rude and unwelcoming. Thank goodness we were only staying for one night.
A serious disappointment: we won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fadryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Decent hotel - stayed for 3 nights on business. Room fine, a little small but ample for me. I would have been miffed if I'd be with Mrs James.

Restaurant is good - ate in the restaurant and was happy with what was provided. Kind of what you expect.

However I loved the location - spending 3 days working in Perth this was a great choice. On the banks of the Tay with walks along the river and in the woods behind the hotel. I shared the woods with deer at dusk.

Plus they offer you whisky with your porridge. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and recommending us to fellow travellers, we do hope you will return in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We have come again to the beautiful town of Dunkeld. The Hilton hotel is perfectly situated. Our room was fantastic ( the duchess room) with a beautiful view from the balcony. The evening meal was good but we feel that breakfast was qute poor. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel does need quite a bit of updating but it didn't spoil our brilliant few days here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hartonlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are delighted to read you had a brilliant stay and enjoyed the service our team members provided during your holiday with us. We are sorry you felt the breakfast could be improved and have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage manager. We hope to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate in the beautiful Perthshire countryside, on the banks of the River Tay. With a wide range of activities and facilities both within the resort and the local area, it is the perfect getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The hotel has 98 guest rooms, Livingwell Health Club, [comfort zone] spa and on site activity centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing