We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down the plughole!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Kirriemuir, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gone down the plughole!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a local resident who previously was a regular visitor to the hotel for over a decade, noticeable recent changes indicate that the profit motive (obviously necessary) has had a damaging impact on its ambience. The hotel is situated in beautiful rural surroundings but the accommodation has become tired, the catering poor, and the small points which distinguish an up-market hotel have gone; even the weekend evening entertainment programme is disappointing. Previously weekends were occasions to look forward to but, sadly, not today. There clearly is a need to recover some of its past delights. Currently, it is not a place that one seeks to patronise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are sorry you will not return in the future and have taken all your comments fully on board. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    756
    410
    221
    93
See reviews for
412
1,298
29
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Warm and friendly greeting on arrival made us feel instantly welcomed. Weather was fantastic so we sat outside where there was a Wedding inprogess, great atmosphere and staff approached us instantly and asked us if we would like anything also highlighted some good walks which we duly tried. We felt very relaxed, fantastic grounds and our evening meal was first class. Our steaks were perfect and our Waiter, Chris went out of his way to not only explain a dessert to us he also brought a sample for us to try. We decided to try the cocktail of the month, Cuban Sun which the Barman, Craig who was very friendly and obviously passionate about his cocktails as he explained in detail. Presentation and taste was not only great but the attention to detail was to be applauded. Evening entertainment was very good and guests joined in excellent night. Although the Bar was extremely busy, Craig and Victoria served you although you were the only person in the Bar. Next day after breakfast there was a Falconery show laid on by the Hotel fantastic, topmarks to the Hilton great start to the day. All in all great stay and look forward to a return visit. Aware Hotel rooms are being refurbished and look forward to this on or next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falconery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We wish to thank you especially for the praise regarding the excellent food, the staff and the comments about Craig, Victoria and Chris. It’s our endeavour to ensure that all our guests spend an unforgettable stay at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My Husband and I had to travel from Yorkshire to Aberdeen on Monday 17th June 2013 for a Funeral on Tuesday. I could not get off work until 3pm on Monday so we looked for a nice hotel in Perthshire to stay at on Monday evening leaving a 2 1/2 hour journey for early Tuesday. We also booked on Tuesday evening for our return trip.
We booked the Dunkeld Hilton trusting that we would get a standard of service and quality of room as advertised on their website and to the Hilton quality standard.
We arrived at 8pm after a long drive and were allocated room 203. We went straight for dinner as they stoped serving at 9pm and we needed to get up at 6am to continue our journey.
Room 203 was very tierd the chairs were stained, the seat was ready for falling thorugh the bottom and the material was hanging down underneath. The desk chair was stained and if anyone sat at the desk no one else could get past to get to the bathroom. The bedside table and other furniture was badly marked and stained, there was mould down the walls near the window and the valance did not fit the bed. The bathroom whilst well appointed had hairs in the bath from a previous occupant and it didn't drain when taking a shower even with the plug out (taking a shower meant that you were standing in dirty water). The area for hanging clothes was a similar offering to a travel lodge.

We went straight down to reception to complain and ask for a better room or an upgrade which we were prepared to pay for bearing in mind that this was a stressful journey for us and that we needed somewhere nice to sit, in private, on our return from the Funeral. The young gentleman on reception said that the hotel was full and all he could do was show us another room the next day but it would be exactley the same as the one we had.

As this was a prepaid dinner bed and breakfast deal there was nothing we could do about it but we again complained at check out and the receptionist took £30.00 off the bill. Whilst we accepted this reduction it did not rectify the problem in that we booked the hotel after looking at the pictures on the website, the star rating and the description of the rooms and we were given a room that was well past its sell buy date and not up to the required standard.

I am expecting to get the same bland response from the Dunkeld Hiltons Communications Manager similar to all the other complaints about this hotel on trip advisor but I am going to take my complaint further with the Hilton Group Head Office. This was not an acceptable standard of room for the price we paid. We would have got a much better and more comfortable room at a Premier Inn for a fraction of the cost albeit without the views.

This is an old building in a magnificent setting. The public rooms are in keeping with the buildings history. What should be a jewel in Hiltons crown is let down by its tierd bedrooms and poor service standards.

.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we apologise sincerely your expectations were not met and will address your letter once received.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Enjoyed a short break half board. We go there quite often and will return. The setting is excellent and weather was good. Dinner was much better than when we were last there. There is a pleasant walk along river Tay to and from Dunkeld.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank StewartFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words we are overjoyed you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our new Head Chef’s cuisine.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Up a long drive and finally the hotel comes into view. Nestled among the trees with a flowing river out front. You can almost feel the stress melt away.Lovely welcome at reception with the added touch of an arrival "dram". Definately the place for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review I have passed on your great comments on the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dunkeld in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful surroundings, fantastic evening meals quiet and peaceful but let down by a couple of the staff. The rooms were not ready at 3.00pm although we booked early and updated to a betterone, which was then allocated to someone else. We eventually got into our room at 4.45, tired and fed up. Not a good start. One of the receptionists was very helpful, I tried to avoid the others, who had no real desire to assist you.
The 2nd day the pipes burst in the bathroom, but this was just bad luck, and quickly repaired with no inconvenience to us. Much of the area around the bedrooms were very dated, paint work worn and windows rusty but it is an old house. The Spa centre was very good, staff helpful and very clean. The steam room was not working but the sauna was good.
Aqua classes were held some days, wish I had known, I would of joined in.
The breakfasts left a lot to be desired. "Matron" ruling where you sat, food-help yourself, was often cold. Two mornings we went up for eggs, and none were there. The chef nowhere in site, and sauntered out looking bored when we asked for fried and poached eggs. No marmalade one day, we were told it was in the store cupboard and there was no key!
All our evening meals involved a long wait, I expect this was because it was cooked fresh, but it was worth the wait, but be prepared if you are hungry! We waited 1hour and 10 minutes and our starter still hadn't arrived, again the waiter was very apologetic and we were given a complimentary drink and the bill reduced when I complained, so perhaps I will forgive them.
The gardens are stunning, with long walks all around, including river walks, and the village of Dunkeld is a nice walk away.
We stopped at a lovely place in Aviemore for half the price it cost us here, with service that was perfect and superb food. Unfortunately for us we expected this place to at least live up to that standard but it was let down by dis-interested, bordering on rude staff who totally ignored the customers. Such a let down. I would only consider returning if it was half the price they are charging.

Room Tip: I asked for a river view at the front and paid extra, but it was not available when we got there. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerieD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed most of your stay but apologise you were let down by certain team members. Please be assured your feedback has been shared with the relevant departmental managers who will take action to make sure certain improvements are put in place. I am unable to comment on the allocation of your room as I have insufficient information on your reservation but apologise your expectations were not met. We do hope you will consider returning in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Dunkeld Hilton is a very special hotel in a fabulous setting right in the heart of the 'Land of the Tall Trees' on the banks of the river Tay. We stayed on the Summer Special tariff and had the wonderful experiences of breakfast and dinner in the hotel and I have to cay we were not disappointed. There is only so much you can offer for breakfast but the quality of the produce and the preparation were excellent. Dinner was a different matter in terms of choice with a selection of different menu choices each of the three evenings we dined there. The quality and presentation would not have been out of place in a good capital city restaurant, pan seared sea bass, guinea fowl and hake were my main dishes and I could not fault the meals at all. Rooms were clean and well presented, however the only let down was that some corridors are a little worse for wear. Drinks could be expensive, depending upon choice from the bar but again, the quality of the wines we tried was very good. Great hotel for those who love the beautiful countryside surrounding the Tay, with excellent activities and facilities on hand

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank EmboDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
It’s an enormous delight for us to read that you enjoyed a great holiday at our hotel and I have ensure all your feedback has been shared with all our team members and especially our kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,857 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
744 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing