We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location for a wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just returned from an amazing wedding weekend at the Dunkeld Hilton. Know the hotel well, and enjoy it a lot, but what an amazing place it is for a summer wedding. Certainly we had glorious weather, and spent most of our weekend out of doors, but nevertheless everyone had an amazing time.

The hotel itself is very nice, the staff attentive, and the reception and dining room staff very pleasant, warm and welcoming. the dinner in the restaurant was very nice and service good, as was breakfast.

We stayed in the annexe, Room 404, and Just loved it. Over the weekend many a party was had on the terrace, and enjoyed by all. The room was spacious enough for the bridal party of 10, plus hair and beauty staff, to work amicably on the busy wedding morning.

The wedding was large and held in the marquee, and all in all it sufficed, however there are small and large issues that need attention- the food was fine, but food service chaotic and poorly managed, leaving some VIP guests to be served last! The bar service was equally poor, understaffed, and not too customer friendly either. Not a patch on the bar standards of the hotel bar only a few yards away.

Finally, and most in need of a rethink are the toilets for the marquee. I understand that toilet blocks for marquees cannot be easy, but there surely must be something more suitable on the market.

All of these paled into insignificance given the joy, the ambiance and the general service of the weekend, but I have to say, as a host of the wedding party I was more than a little concerned and these drops in service level.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Virtualtourists21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review your feedback is appreciated. We are delighted you overall enjoyed the wedding weekend at Hilton Dunkeld and genuinely apologise for the flaws in the service you received. Your feedback is important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide to our guests so we can make improvements. We do hope you will return in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,415 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding at the hotel. Hotel set back in own grounds so once you're there, you're unlikely to leave unless you get some transport. This wasn't an issue given we were there for a wedding. Friendly reception and a nice touch offering a whiskey as you check in. Room was ok - off the main hotel in the wade block. 1 min walk in the rain ... It is Scotland in summer after all. Meals were generally good and the wedding itself was in the marque round the back. Drinks were steep but that was expected given the opportunity. Made full use of the vast selection of spirits over 2 nights. staff were very helpful - 1 helped me store some Lorne sausage in the fridge. did take the chance to visit the local villages of dunkeld and burnam ... Took 2 hours and that included the beatrix potter exhibition and the old macbeth tree. Interesting eagle display on the Sunday in the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and I hope that you will return with us again in the future where a warm Scottish welcome will be waiting for you.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ok, the hotel may consider doing some investment in some new chairs in the dining room,
but it is REALLY not that bad as people mention here.
We were put in the Wade house, which was close to the hotel, cause of wedding receiption.
The room was not that large , but it had character through out.
Hotel has a great location next to the river, and you can explore the grounds of the hotel with trails.
Dunkeld and Birnam are walking distance away or else take the car
We had twice dinner in the hotel and the staff is so friendly, not posh but just normal !
There is lots to choose from , for dining.
We sure will be staying here again, but that is also cause of the fact that the staff
is very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Dunkeld we are pleased your stay was enjoyable. I have shared you wonderful feedback regarding our team members with them and are glad they made your stay memorable. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friends chose to get married in the Dunkeld Cathedral and the reception was at the Hilton (not quite walking distance- especially in heels- but it certainly isn't far). My boyfriend and I chose to stay in the hotel so that we didn't have to drive back to Aberdeen the same evening.
We only encountered one problem with our stay and that was an unfortunate leak from the room above in to our light fitting. The staff were so helpful and immediately allocated us a different (more spacious) room. They helped us move our luggage (we didn't have an awful lot but the assistance was appreciated).
The bar staff, waiting staff and reception staff were all very pleasant and everyone had a smile on their face. There were a few grumpy characters at breakfast and check out in the morning but the staff handled them with grace and aplomb and still had a smile for the next guest.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large, plenty of room for the both of us. We are both quite tall and neither of us struggled with the size of the bed.
The breakfast buffet the next day was lovely, the orange juice tasted fresh and there was plenty of food to choose from - cereals, cooked breakfasts, baked goods etc (the sausages were particularly yummy).
Altogether I had a lovely stay and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, the main hotel and then an annexe at the back of the property which is wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryBerry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for recommending us to highly it’s tremendous to read your expectations were met during your stay with us and I have passed your praise on to all our team members. We apologise for the maintenance issue in your room but am pleased this was dealt with satisfactorily. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Found hotel to be in a very good location and enjoyed the local area and countryside. Like the complimentary drink on arrival, a welcome to Scotland and what Scotland is about. Room were ok, beds comfortable and bathroom very clean and tidy with all amenities. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Glyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for the compliments regarding Hilton Dunkeld we hope to see you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent service and well run hotel. Breakfasts both in the room and dining room were faultless and the evening meal was good. There is a long driveway through a beautiful estate and a warm welcome at the front door and reception. This hotel in former years was the Stakis Group flag ship in Scotland. It is still an impressive building on the Scottish baronial style however now slightly tired under the Hilton name and might soon need a bit of upgrading. We would however still recommend a stay at any time of the year. Other activities such as rifle shooting can be arranged within the hotel grounds. SPA facilities also are available. The price paid under ‘a package deal’ was very reasonable.
Although situated in the middle of the Scottish Highlands and would appear to be far from habitation, access from the A9 through Dunkeld is easy. We have stayed at various times over the years and will return.

Room Tip: There are surrounding annexes now on the grounds and your stay might not be in the main building how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review and recommending us so favourably. We are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Hilton Dunkeld and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a 3 for 2 night stay at the Dunkeld Hilton and was pleased with the experience. Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Tay so it was nice to enjoy a glass of wine whilst taking in the view. On the subject of drinks - buy your own at the supermarket as the prices are through the roof. The buffet breakfast was very enjoyable, as was the 3 course evening meal. It did feel a bit like Dirty Dancing (no dirty dancing, just lots of elderly couples). Not that we had any issues with this but wouldn't return here for a lively girls w-end

Our room was ample, however I did have issues with the terrible soft mattress and on the second night I really hurst my neck. I reported this issue to reception and the mattress was replaced by a very comfortable one. Some areas of the hotel could be doing with a clean up/replace, however it did not ruin my time there.

The Spa area is great to relax in and also has a small gym. I booked a neck and back massage and I have to say it was very enjoyable. The staff were also very friendly in the hotel and the Spa. Grounds of the hotel had wild deer/stag mulling around and some nice carved statue's etc

Went for afternoon tea at Howie's Bistro which was lovely. Great walks in the area, including the Hermitage.

Room Tip: Front for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for the review we are happy to read you overall enjoyed your Spa stay with us and I have shared your review with all our team members. We are sorry the mattress was uncomfortable but we are pleased to read this was replaced. We hope you will return in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
531 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,175 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $144 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House Hotel is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There is lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbiking or enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing