We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surroundings but could do better.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkeld House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings but could do better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a lovely entrance road (needs a bit of repair) and beautiful surroundings. Atmospheric inside with a good sized swimming pool, gym and leisure area. when we got there, there was a bikers convention maybe 30 + bikers but no problems, they were good fun. When we left there was about 30+ vintage Bentley's up for the holiday weekend so obviously a popular hotel. Staff were very hard working and friendly. We had higher expectations for the food which at best you could say was average, no real attempt at fine dining which is a shame with a really limited menu. My room was tiny, room 146 with a ventilation system outside (for the pool I think) which droned on all day and night but didn't spoil my sleep, maybe thanks to a few glasses of wine but if you were a light sleeper could be an issue. If going back we would probably eat out at a local restaurant (if there is one) and avoid room 146.

Room Tip: Only experienced the one room (146) and would avoid if possible. If there are rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikkitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
On a positive note we are pleased to read you enjoyed the service from our team members and the surroundings we are situated in and take your constructive criticism regarding the food and room on board. We do not class our Garden Restaurant as fine dining, it’s a table d’hôte menu with Scottish fare which changes daily and rotates every three days and am sorry your expectations were not met. We do hope you will return and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    726
    389
    207
    84
See reviews for
386
1,245
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avimore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is the jewel in the crown of all hilton hotels , great for business or even that relaxing getaway this hotel is a must have before you die add it to your bucket list . Always a pleasure to visit Hilton Dunkeld

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the marvellous evaluation of our hotel; hope to see you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely location by the river Tay. An upgraded room is definitely superior to the normal standard having experienced both types. The suites in the older part of the building are well equipped with separate lounge area and have large bay windows and small balcony facing the river.
Having previously stayed at the hotel just 2 years ago the food standard in the restaurant had definitely deteriorated especially at breakfast time when staff were thin on the ground.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and found the choice quite limited on the set menu and had to eat off the bar menu. Not a particularly good meal and then we were overcharged and had to inform the waiter. Definitely would not eat there again as set menus are too limited and heavy. However the hotel is within walking distance of Dunkeld where there are a few small restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are disappointed to read your expectations were not met with regards to the food and beverage experience and we have recently altered the format of our dinner menus to change more frequently. We are sorry you felt let down and our food and beverage team will use your feedback in a positive way. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your suite in our hotel and do hope you will return in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 nights.

Plus points: Friendly and helpful staff, very good food and service, fantastic location

Minus points: No mobile signal (not Hotel's fault) but no free Wifi in rooms; free Wifi in public areas time-limited. No BBC radio 4 available via TV in room- would have had to pay £15 for a day's Wifi to listen to the News Quiz on my phone. No business centre facilities e.g. printer. No system for alerting maintenance when domestic staff find something obviously wrong- e.g. bulb blown in an already gloomy bathroom- left to the guest to sort out?

Would certainly come again despite these niggles.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms at the back of the hotel look over a pleasant woodland bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajdm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the review and we will certainly use your constructive feedback to make changes to our operating systems and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Terrible service in the restaurant and bar. Faulty Towers like experience. So disapointed. Visited hotel a few years ago and had a good time but it has gone downhill massively. Very tired and staff clearly don't want to be there. Not worth the hefty bill we paid on any level. Lovely setting but not worth if for what you end up getting. Very disapointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are sorry your stay was disappointing and I have sent you a personal email via our Satisfaction and Loyalty Tracking survey you completed.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dunkeld House for 3 nights 16-19 May2013. When we arrived we had an issue with the room allocated to us. This was quickly rectified by Reception
Staff and Management. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our room was clean, comfortable and had lovely views. All staff were very attentive and helpful. We ate in the restaurant a few times and food was excellent. Bar staff very friendly and make you feel welcome. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Hilton Dunkeld. Thanks to all at Dunkeld for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the marvellous review we are delighted you had a wonderful experience at Hilton Dunkeld and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed with a friend to take part in a cycling event. There was also a wedding going on in the hotel, but it did not seem excessively busy.
We had a twin room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The beds were comfy, the room was clean and quiet, but the decor is a bit dated. The mobile phone reception wasn't great in the room. The housekeeper was happy to change my pillows when I asked for synthetic ones.
The meals were good, and the staff kindly put on an early breakfast for the cyclists.
The best thing about the hotel are the spectacular surroundings. The hotel sits on the banks of the river Tay, and there are easy walks running alongside. The pool and steam room were very welcome at the end of our day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenO263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and we are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay when visiting for the Etape cycle. We do hope you will come back next year.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate in the beautiful Perthshire countryside, on the banks of the River Tay. With a wide range of activities and facilities both within the resort and the local area, it is the perfect getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The hotel has 98 guest rooms, Livingwell Health Club, [comfort zone] spa and on site activity centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing