We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Dunkeld House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay at Dunkeld House Hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dunkeld House for 3 nights 16-19 May2013. When we arrived we had an issue with the room allocated to us. This was quickly rectified by Reception
Staff and Management. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our room was clean, comfortable and had lovely views. All staff were very attentive and helpful. We ate in the restaurant a few times and food was excellent. Bar staff very friendly and make you feel welcome. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Hilton Dunkeld. Thanks to all at Dunkeld for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the marvellous review we are delighted you had a wonderful experience at Hilton Dunkeld and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    764
    414
    225
    94
See reviews for
425
1,310
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed with a friend to take part in a cycling event. There was also a wedding going on in the hotel, but it did not seem excessively busy.
We had a twin room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The beds were comfy, the room was clean and quiet, but the decor is a bit dated. The mobile phone reception wasn't great in the room. The housekeeper was happy to change my pillows when I asked for synthetic ones.
The meals were good, and the staff kindly put on an early breakfast for the cyclists.
The best thing about the hotel are the spectacular surroundings. The hotel sits on the banks of the river Tay, and there are easy walks running alongside. The pool and steam room were very welcome at the end of our day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenO263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and we are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay when visiting for the Etape cycle. We do hope you will come back next year.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel this past weekend. We were given a ground floor room which had definitely seen better days! I was shocked on entry to the bathroom to discover the toilet seat up and lets just say it was certainly not clean (I will not elaborate!) there was also a rather horrible smell from the area surrounding the toilet. The cleaning of the bathroom was no where near the standard it should have been.
Our meal in the restaurant was OK but nothing special. The restaurant is tired and definitely in need of some work, large damp patches on the ceiling etc.
as we were on the ground floor there were emergency alarms in the room, my husband accidentally set one off at 5am, this prompted a phone call to check we were ok. This of course is understandable however then there was a knock at the door with someone else checking all was ok. Just as I get back into bed there is another phone call asking us to reset the alarm, I ask "is the switch at the door?" Yes I am told. So I go and try to do so but no the switch isn't there. A few minutes later the lady arrives back at the door to try and reset it, however she didn't know where it was! After walking about our room for ages my husband finally spotted it and pointed it out to her. This is not what you want at 5am! The staff should all know where the reset buttons are.
The staff were all very friendly but it is massively overpriced for what it is. It is desperately in new of updating, either that or a big drop in rates!
All in all I wouldn't be rushing back.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fesslemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay and your feedback is appreciated. We will use the information you have provided us with to make changes and improvements within our hotel and it will assist further our aim to provide the very best customer care we possibly can.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

booked one night stay , lovely setting river walks with fantastic views . Hotel was very good clean and well presented although I do agree in need of some refurbishment in places .Evening meal was excellent and good value , drinks usual hotel prices as expected.Staff we pleasant and always willing to help. Really relaxing break to chill out , used the swimming pool and sauna which was great . Our room had a balcony overlooking the gardens again in need of a freshen up but really nice . Would stay here again for a short break , take good walking shoes and explore , great fun and very relaxing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It’s with great gratification to read that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciated the quality of food and service our team members provided. We would love to welcome you again at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hello

We would like tot mention how delightful it was to stay at the Dunkeld Hilton Hotel the weekend of 11/12th May. The hotel is a far cry from the standard Hilton hotel as described in an earlier response. The whole oldie worldie ambience of creaking floorboards, the concierge and the grand dining room leading out to the river Tay make the hotels old Scottish charm so appealing. It’s not rundown at all, it a traditional and grand old country manor-house wonderful restored and is part of the rich history of Scotland.

Note:
As cyclists of Etape Caledonia it’s sometimes an awkward situation and the bikes and riders are held in contempt by many establishments – not so the wonderful staff of the Dunkeld who went out of their way to accommodate not only 30/40 cyclists but were also dealing with a large wedding party. The hotel management found a large room for the bikes and catered an early morning 05:50 breakfast for all. This comment has been forwarded to the Etape Caledonia management team. all hte best Jill Prabucki...(Mark Heady)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and recommending us so highly, we are delighted your needs and expectations were exceeded at Hilton Dunkeld. We do hope you will return next year if not before and hope you enjoyed your Etape experience.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We met up with family who had been staying here for a wedding to have Sunday lunch before their trip south. There were 5 of us and we went into the dining room at 1pm. First glitch - we had to ask if they had a children's menu and also to see the other menu. We ordered at about 1.10 and our starters didn't arrive until 1.50pm! I am unsure how 4 bowls of soup can take that long? I did not order a starter and my main course came out at the same time as the starters. In the meantime, the fire alarm went off twice apparently the chef had burnt some toast.
So, another half hour wait for our main courses - my husband and father in laws roast dinners were put on the table, then the rest of the meals came out one at a time with an interval of about 3 minutes between. My husband was almost finished (he had to eat it before it got cold!) before my 5 year old son's kids meal arrived! In fairness to the chef, the food was nice when it eventually got to the table. Pudding was another disaster - again we had to ask for the kids menu for my boys who seemed to be invisible to the servers. It took another 20 minutes for them to tell my 5 year old that they didn't have any jam doughnuts after all then another 15 for it to arrive. How can it take so long to scoop out ice cream?
It's a pity. The hotel has a beautiful setting but it is tired looking and service was, frankly, unacceptable. It shouldn't take two and a half hours for lunch.
My advice is this - don't bother. Go to one of the others in the town. No view but less stressful at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluerabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Your disappointment is our frustration that we did not deliver the appropriate service standards when you visited Hilton Dunkeld for lunch and we apologise sincerely that your Sunday lunch experience was memorable for the wrong reasons. Your feedback is appreciated and we are sorry that on this occasion we have let you down but please be assured your comments are greatly appreciated and will assist further our aim to provide the very best customer care we possibly can.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

In terms of scenery and style this places rates highly but service and food were both poor. Our table booking was an hour late and when we eventually sat down and ordered the kitchen had ran out of a lot of things. Very disappointing. When our meal arrived it was quite drab and badly presented.
Rooms were really nice (we stayed in one of the lodges) and felt luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSophie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are extremely sorry to read that your expectations were not met with regards to your evening meal and the service you received and will use your feedback to make improvements. Glad you enjoyed the lodge you stayed in and the surrounding area and thank you for your feedback.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,895 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
758 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing