We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a stunning location, and our room had a fabulous view of the river. Plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. Excellent walks, the added attraction of an off road driving school and clay pigeon centre nearby .The room was well equipped and the furnishings had a traditional scottish feel with a modern twist. We enjoyed the

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suiecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for the magnificent review we are very pleased you have recommended us so highly. Hope to see you again soon at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,763 - 1,769 of 2,420 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked a weekend away for a group of 12 family members. Rooms were on the small side, stayed in larger at a Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn, with some bathrooms very dark. Got a "special" deal for D/B/B, but felt price was expensive given the room size and decor. Breakfast was average, but dinner was good. The dining room staff were excellent. However, absolutely no complaints about the beds - fantastic sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for the review we are glad you had comfortable night’s sleep at Hilton Dunkeld and enjoyed the chef’s cuisine. If you wish for larger floor space in our bedrooms a family room or suite might be more suitable for your next stay.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a perfect setting for the hotel - the walks available in the grounds are lovely. We only used the restaurant and room - it was a very quick stay.
It is a typical Hilton - you know what you are going to get. Our room was very comfortable and clean - it was in the old part, and althoug modernised, when we wnet out into the Hall, teh decor was a little tired compared to the more modern parts of the Hotel.
We required disabled access etc. - all very available and easy to get about the hotel.
The dining room was a little busy, but we had pre-booked our table(thankfully). The meal was very nice - not a lot to write home about, but nice all the same. Limited wine list. Very attentive staff - the piano playing was pleasant enough although I suggest you put the lid down on the piano, as the music is not supposed to intrude on diner's conversations! That's what the lid is
for!!

Room Tip: If disabled, make sure you ask for a disabled room if you require a separate shower to bath. The Duk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review we are elated you overall enjoyed your stay at Hilton Dunkeld. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was staying in one of the timeshare lodges (which are very well looked after and managed), but made use of the hotel facilities. The hotel looks and feels run down inside. It is in a magnificent location and could well be the flag ship of Hilton if they showed any interest in the property. The 1 mile approach drive way is very scenic - but full of potholes. I had breakfast in the hotel on my last morning - it was disappointing even taking into account the 50% discount offer to lodge owners. I regularly stay at Premier Inns and their breakfasts are better and cheaper (even taking the discount into account). The service by the staff was poor - and I was not impressed by the gentleman who I assume was the restaurant manager. In addition to some extra training, the staff (who were perfectly polite) need to be given more distinctive uniforms to wear - they looked very shoddy. Breakfast service at Hilton Coylumbridge (where I also have a timeshare) is much better.

Room Tip: Not that I was staying in the hotel - but ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highland-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit to Garden Restaurant and please be assured your feedback has been shared with our Food and Beverage Manger. Your observations have been taken on board and will assist us further to provide the very best customer service we possibly can. Without your feedback we would be unable to make changes so thank you again for your comments and we do hope you will consider returning again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at end of April and unfortunately it is the expense and poor quality of the wifi that has us talking. The hotel itself is nice, bed was hard and had a view if the car park but overall it was a nice traditional hotel. I would say book your meal as soon as you arrive as we were left with the 8.45 slot and they had ran out of items on the menu and cream for our coffee. The views and the tranquility is fabulous and couldn't be in a better location.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lins2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, it’s our disappointment your stay was not as expected due to the reasons you have mentioned and I have shared your feedback with all our team managers. As I am unsure of your reservation date I am unable comment if we had an issue with our internet on the days you stayed. If you would like a view of the river or gardens a guest room plus, deluxe balcony room or suite is required to be booked. We are sorry a number of the menu items were unavailable for your evening meal. We do hope you will return and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been here for a family wedding and other events so decided on a midweek break the week before Easter. We arrived to be advised that there was a problem with a leak and the plumbing was out of action on the first floor where our room was but that we could use the leisure facilities or the facities on the ground floor. However the leak was sorted speedily and we were able to wash etc in our room before dinner. The staff were very attentive and we were made to feel welcome and the three days were very relaxing. The food in the restaurant was very good but the menu does not seem to be changed more than once a week as we had the same menu on the first two nights. The grounds of the hotel are well worth exploring with easy walks into Dunkeld along the river with more challenging walks elsewhere in the grounds. This is also an ideal location for exploring this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Hilton Dunkeld. We are sorry there was a plumbing issue on your arrival but glad to read this was rectified quickly. We are pleased you enjoyed the attentive service from our team members and hope to see you again soon at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

From the welcoming sherry at reception to the checking out process could not fault our stay. All staff were attentive and interested. We had a room in the General Wade house a short walk from the hotel. It was quiet and had beautiful views of the lawns.
Food was excellent, although on our three night stay the menu did not change significantly from one night to the next.Will definitely stay again. Didn't use the spa so can't comment.

Room Tip: try the General Wade house, it's worth the short walk..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eiggshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for recommending Hilton Dunkeld so highly it’s great to read you had a wonderful holiday with us and the service you received from our team members was exemplary. We have changed the format to our dinner menus and now have three different dinner menus which are rotated daily. This will give guests more choice when staying more than one night. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,946 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
531 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,183 reviews
15.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $135 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House Hotel is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There is lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbiking or enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing