We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkeld House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice to be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have been to the Hilton Dunkeld a few times over the years - with family, with friends and as a couple. There is something quite comforting about knowing what you will get from hotel but I was concerned that the "fabric" of the building was becoming a bit tatty so I was pleased to see someone redecorating the hallway when we were there this time. It must be a never-ending task keeping up with the maintenance but it's a necessity for a hotel like this.
We had booked a room with a balcony. Having never stayed in one of those before - we've usually been in rooms with the view over the carpark but to be honest the best views of this fantastic location are to be had by being out and about - but it was a lovely treat. The size and fitting out of the room did not feel much different from other rooms we have had though so whether we would spend more for the balcony another time is doubtful.
The setting of the hotel is a winner ...that will never change. What was nice this time was the attention from staff. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. That of course should be a given in any hotel but it was noticable during this stay and I think is worth mentioning.
We really enjoyed our meals - dinner and breakfast were included in our rate. I used the free wifi in the public areas. I know that the mobile signal is a bit erratic in that area so it was helpful to have another way to check emails.
We are bound to be back again sometime...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jayseetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback pertaining your stay at Hilton Dunkeld. We are delighted your expectations were met during your holiday with us and received consistent service throughout. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    725
    389
    204
    84
See reviews for
384
1,244
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times and keep returning!! The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms are immaculate and the service is top notch. The hotel is situated in its own grounds with a good choice of accommodation and facilities. The restaurant is lovely with a good choice of food and wine, the waiting staff are always happy to assist with your choices. A lovely walk next to the river takes you into Dunkeld itself, which has a few quaint shops etc. All in all a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbibekbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
An enormous thank you for your review to this website and for choosing Hilton Dunkeld as your preferred destination. It’s marvellous to receive this level of feedback and your praise is very encouraging to all our team members. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really liked this hotel , the setting on the banks of the River Tay is just to die for. The driveway from the main road through the estate (about a mile or so) gives a real feel of heading for something special, and it is. Had stayed before on business and this time it was a weekend break with my wife. They had a great two night DB&B deal.

Room was good and menus had a great choice.

Only issue we had was on the first night at dinner, service was very slow and I had to complain. Others that did, like me, then got better service, but shouldnt have to do that. Main issue was they didnt seem to have a Maitre D overseeing, so everyone was just being very busy. They had a wedding on, and the restaurant was full. But hey, its a hotel, and they knew all that beforehand!. I would have given 5 stars but for this.T hey have promised to improve, I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Facing the river, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m4xwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for the delightful review of Hilton Dunkeld, we are happy that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery we are amongst, the room and the cuisine you received. We apologise there was a service issue during your stay and this was rectified quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night break on DBB during which we enjoyed the experience of a front facing suite with balcony. This was on a preferential rate due to a poor experience in October, The bedroom, bathroom & living area were tastefully decorated, the kingsize bed very comfortable and the bedding clean and fresh. Good view over the grounds down towards the river and we saw deer and a red squirrel. Breakfast was a relaxing affair with good tasty food and I am delighted to report that we found the service at dinner much improved since our last stay. We were treated very well by all restaurant staff but a special mention must go to Wayne who went out of his way. We enjoyed all our meals but the menu was the same both nights - I understand many places are condensing menus but maybe a "special nightly dish" would vary the choice for a stay of more than 2-3 nights. Wine was expensive but that's the same in most hotels these days I think. All members of staff without exception deserve praise for their pleasant manner. There was decorating work going on whilst we were there in the main corridors and this is good to see. Free wifi access when you ask at reception for the code - good signal. Icing on the cake was waking up to snow on Wednesday - what scenery. The car park was continually ploughed and gritted to ensure safe passage from the hotel, unfortunately!! Thanks to all at Hilton Dunkeld.

Room Tip: Front facing views are lovely but they come at a premium - understandable I suppose. All depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screwfixbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are elated your stay was much improved on your last stay and you observed significant changes to the hotel. We thank you for your praise regarding our team members and especially Wayne and do hope you will return in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel during the last weekend of January. It had snowed heavily that weekend and we were worried about getting up the very long drive to the hotel. Shouldn't have worried as they had a tractor out clearing the access road. Have stayed here many times and although I think the hotel has lost a little bit of it's magic since becoming one of the Hilton brand it is still very good. We stayed on the 3 nights for 2 deal which included dinner, bed and breakfast. First night - Friday was fine as we had just arrived - no entertainment though which was a disappointment. The 25th of Jan so expected some celebration of Rabbie Burns - but not to be. The second night was a bit better with a three piece group playing traditional Scottish music. However despite them being excellent musicians it was a bit flat because unlike most ceilidh bands they did not talk people through the dances or even introduce what the tunes were. Very disappointing and spoke to hotel reception on leaving to say so. We love dancing but had no idea what the dances were that they were playing. Sunday was very relaxing but again no entertainment. The lack of entertainmenbt let them down. I recall a resident band which played great music to waltz, quick step and foxtrot to. Really missed the opportunity to do that. The food was of a very high standard, buffet breakfast was excellent. Service in restaurant could not have been better. Special commendation to Wayne ( Bruce Wayne to his friends ) who is all the way from South Africa although he will try to tell you different. Leisure facilities as good as ever although looking a wee bit tired. Be careful though - the room guide states the leisure pool closes at one time but the leisure area sign states something different. My husband and I went down for a late swim in the evening to find the sauna off and pool cover about to be put on. We highlighted the discrepancy to staff and they kindly let us access the pool and sauna. On checking out we mentioned our disappointment re entertainment, confusion over pool times and also that behind the bedside cabinets and headboard were thick with stoor "dust if you're not Scottish". Almost £ 40 was deducted from our bill as an act of goodwill. Can't play fairer than that. Will definitely be back despite the little blips as we just love this hotel and this area. Will definitely check out the entertainment before we go though.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been recently renovated. Others need an overhaul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We thank you for your review and delighted you will return in the future. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better and your observations are appreciated. We have a Ceilidh or dinner dance every quarter but from February we have live background music every Friday and Saturday night to include Fiddlers, Harpists, Jazz Trio and a Pianist. We apologise the standard of cleaning in your room was not satisfactory and satisfied you were pleased with our gesture of goodwill. I have shared your feedback with Wayne and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before and not been overly impressed however this visit we stayed in room 102 which was a new suite and we were far more impressed.

This suite has a seperate lounge and bedroom with 2 televisions and plenty of high quality furnishings. It was traditional and modern together and of a very high standard throughout.

We were in the area for the land rover experience so were only using the hotel as a base but it proved an excellent choice.

We had dinner bed and breakfast and the dinner was a set menu with some supplements for steaks etc.
The service was professional yet friendly and the food was very pleasant.

Breakfast was equally good with nice hot buffet choices as well as continental choices.

I would rate this visit 4 instead of 5 for the following reasons ;

*over £3 for a soft drink is just over the top in my opinion.

*some of the hotel is still very shabby looking and run down. Traditional shouldn't be as shabby as this in places.

*check out took over half an hour as the 2 staff (1 trainee) tried to manage a growing checkout queue. When dealing with myself they presented my final bill with wrong totals 3 times in a row, one bill even containing glasses of wine which we didn't order, sign for or drink. These were taken off but there was a lot of phonecalls and messing around. The trainee girl dealt with me and the trained girl was loudly on the phone to Expedia trying to chase up a declined credit card from a previous booking. Whilst dealing with this she was trying to help the trainee girl complete my transaction. It was all very amateur to be honest.

To conclude this is an old, and lovely hotel in a stunning setting. It has lovely traditional features and a warm feeling about it. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room we had was very clean modern and spacious. If you like your rooms modern you may be best to request a room in the newest area of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were impressed with the service you received from our food and beverage team and enjoyed the suite you stayed in. We are disappointed we didn’t manage to pay sufficient attention to your bill on departure and this process was drawn out. Please be assured your feedback has been passed on to the relevant managers to ensure corrective action is taken and this procedure is done with more accuracy. We do hope you will return again and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ive been coming here for 10+ years and love the hotel & area so Ive seen it over the years. Some areas of the hotel looking tired, from water damage mainly. Seen a few rooms and they've recently been renovated - looking great! One thing that bugged us is the lack of Scottish food at breakfast. No black pudding and the sausages were english. Served haggis though which is a plus! We were here on a DB&B package which was fantastic value! The dinners were very good though strangely there was no "supplement menu" on the saturday night, unlike the friday, where you could choose items from the grill. Drinks are, as always, overpriced but it is expected. Overall, very good. Apart from the weather ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklight124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you overall enjoyed your stay at Hilton Dunkeld and the warm welcome you received. We are currently refurbishing areas of the hotel and have just finished the main corridor by reception and awaiting plans for our garden restaurant. We are sorry the black pudding was missing as we appreciate this is a vital part of a Scottish Breakfast as it’s normally on our breakfast buffet. Hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate in the beautiful Perthshire countryside, on the banks of the River Tay. With a wide range of activities and facilities both within the resort and the local area, it is the perfect getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The hotel has 98 guest rooms, Livingwell Health Club, [comfort zone] spa and on site activity centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing