We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My daughter had her Wedding here in June this year, It was an amazing location,as you drive up the long driveway there are some fantastic old trees lining the way then you catch site of the river running beside the fabulous old house with the hills in the distance it is just beautiful. The wedding planner made sure that everything Caroline and Mark had wanted they had, it was the most wonderful day and the photos are stunning. We stayed the night before the wedding and then the following two nights,our room over looked the river and was lovely, we ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was fantastic, throughout the time the staff were very friendly and helpful they just couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you, we are elated your daughter’s wedding day was perfect and the level of service we provided exceeded your expectations, we do hope they will return for an anniversary stay.

Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,911 - 1,917 of 2,389 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful- what a pity it is let down by under investment by Hilton such that it is quite shabby in several areas of the hotel and there is a wide difference in the quality of the rooms
We ordered a snack lunch on our day of arrival but waited 50 minutes for it to arrive. It was a Monday and a waitress told us they were understaffed and not expecting the number of people requesting light lunch
They only serve lunch in the bar area leaving a huge restaurant completely unused
Not good value because of tired public rooms that urgently need some TLC and unreliable service

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yakcaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are apologetic certain aspects of your stay were disappointing and the service you received was not to standard. Please be assured your review is appreciated it will assist us further to provide the very best customer care we possibly can.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend trip to the Hilton Dunkeld House Hotel. The hotel is set in over 200 acres and is situated beside the river Tay, with breathtaking views.
All the staff were excellent, always smiling, with a kind word, always attentive, but never intrusive.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and returned to our room to find a bottle of merlot, with a card with kind thoughts, a nice touch I thought.
Special mention to Victoria, who at present is working in the restaurant, an excellent peoples person!!!
The serrvice in the bar and restaurant was excellent and the food on offer was top drawer.
Only small gripe was that the restaurant chairs are in need of some reupholstery a bit worn in places.
All in all a great weekend, a first class location, and first class service.

Room Tip: Try and ensure a room overlooking the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We wish to thank you for publishing your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay with us. Your comments regarding our staff, location, cuisine have all been shared with our teams and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently stayed at Hilton Dunkeld (Dinner, B & B, good deal) booked the Duchess Suite, fab room couldn't fault room at all, huge room, nicely decorated, balcony looking out to river. we did notice that the public areas, pool, restaurant (Chairs very worn, carpets, etc) was in need of TLC, however the Hotel was very clean. our friends were in the new wing and their room also was fab with separate sitting area. The Hilton Dunkeld has so much going for it but will all fall down if investment is not put in now. We ate in the restaurant the first night was really good, noticed they had Pheasant in the Chef's specialities so decided to wait till next night, however what a let down it was basically "chicken on a plate" to quote the waitress, how right she was everything that was with it was for steak (Chips, Onion Rings, sauces). When it arrived it was basically a bird on a plate no sauce, jus. To say it tasted dry was an understatement. I managed to eat a wee bit due to the dryness and under cooking on the inside had to stop. The waitress then informed us that it did come with a jus but the Chef never told her, Hey Ho. The breakfast however were very good. The Q is would I book again, not until hilton develop the hotel more which is a pity as the staff were very good & friendly and the Hotel itself has so much potential. lastly I saw some pictures from previous reviewers relating to stairs and steel bannister which was a bit naughty by the reviewer as it related to a chairlift, a wee bit naughty as the reviewer was quite critical of this feature.

Room Tip: Book Duchess Suite, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alun6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for the review and we are pleased our team members stood out and made your stay memorable. I have passed your praise on to all the departments concerned and we are sorry we let you down on the second night of your stay with regards to your evening meal. We review our menus regularly and appreciate your feedback. We are currently upgrading our lobby area which started last week and we are aware off the need to update some areas and your comments will help us to prioritise this work.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our third visit to the Dunkeld Hilton and I regret to say probably our last. This place should be a gem because of the location and heritage associated with it. Instead it is being slowly allowed to deliver lower standards without any apparent effort to improve. With some investment and a managerial shake-up it could make good on the promise but it falls the wrong side of the line between poor and quirky. The rooms are obviously constrained by the nature of the estate house in which they are contained but this is not an excuse for poor standards. Our stay was typified by irritations throughout (wi-fi being unavailable throughout, dinner reservation time not being honoured, a significant number of items on the menu not being available). As a guest I expect better and having booked the best room and as a HHonors Gold I definitely do. If you don't mind tired being passed off as quirky then this is for you, if you do then I would stay elsewhere until the hotel sorts itself out. I doubt this will happen anytime soon however.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pma262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Our hotel is unique and we are blessed with a wonderful location and a number of diverse room types at Hilton Dunkeld. We apologise for the negative points you have mentioned and will endeavour to improve on them. We are constantly working on improving on our rooms and we are having our reception area enhanced this year. We are sorry you will not return in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent two nights here on a special dinner,bed and breakfast offer. The hotel itself is in a quiet location which suited us perfectly. We had a huge room with seating area, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were superb, served in the sumptuous dining room overlooking the garden with the river running below. I do not agree with the 'average' rating of the food. We were delighted with the quality of all our meals. We were also impressed with the friendliness and courtesy of the staff at all times - reception, bedroom and dining room. All in all, this was a very enjoyable break, and I would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms 020, 120 and 220 as they are close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We wish to thank you for the praise regarding our food, team members, room and our wonderful location. It is our endeavour to ensure that all our guests spend an unforgettable stay at our hotel and hope to see you at Hilton Dunkeld in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is in an Idyllic location and lovely at Autumn but there it stops. The service is not good, everything I asked for was a problem and could not be accomodated, it was only changing dinner times and a pedicure. I rang the hotel to change a time and was told to call the relevent department myself - I explained I was driving and was just left with a silence.
Room was very small, but it was clean and the bathroom had been refurbished.
The food - if included in the package was tasteless and not very good. If you paid the extra it was much better.
I would not wish to return - apart from the area which is beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mileage-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We are sorry your expectations were not met during your stay with us and I have ensured your feedback is utilised so improvements are made. It is certainly not standard procedure for us to tell a guest to call a departmental themselves when we can transfer call and I apologise sincerely for this inconvenience. Thank you for the positive feedback and we are sorry you will not return in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
528 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $140 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing