We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for a swim”
Review of Ossian's Hall

Ossian's Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$152.53*
and up
Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built for the second Duke of Atholl in 1758 and restored in 1953, this folly sits on a rocky outcrop overlooking the turbulent Black Linn Fall, which affords fine views of the distant woodlands.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Go for a swim”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great place for a session on your mountain bike then swim in the large pool below the falls at Ossians Hall - finish off with a great cup of coffee at the Big Tree Cafe in the car park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“WOW Beautiful Walk and Area. Surprise”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Hermitage is a woodland walk between Scone and Dunkeld on the A9 highway. It is signposted. Park in the lower car park ( which is the over flow car park) as this is closer to the start of the walk. It costs 2 pounds to park. This area is not really written up in the guide books. In fact I think the Fodor's is the only one that I had that mentioned it. There are no toilets here ( that I could see) so if you have to go you will have to do it the old fashioned way.

The walk to the falls, Ossian's Hall and cave take about twenty to thirty minutes however you can linger longer as such a beautiful walk. There are also longer walks you can do here which would take a few hours if you have time. The forest, river and falls are simply beautiful. Ossian's hall is a small round building which has a look out for the falls. This was built in the 18th century and is quite something. Once we explore this area you can continue along the river until you get a Ossian's cave ( about ten minutes from the falls). This is a man made cave but interesting.

This is really a beautiful forest walk and very relaxing. We were there on a light rainy day and so there was mist in the forest which gave a stunning view.

If you are in the area give your self at least an hour to spend here as a beautiful spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

After a lovely day spent in Dunkeld taking in the abbey. We decided to walk to Ossian's Hall, we were most fortunate that the weather was good, warm and sunny, the walk itself was beautiful, through woodlands seeing the tallest tree and waterfalls. If you enjoy walks then you will like this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathymac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Grand Waterfall”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hermitage is well marked on the road to Dunkeld, and there is a pay and display parking lot at the entrance to the trail.
Walking along the trail will take you to Ossian's Hall, which is a domed building just above the waterfall, which allows for an arial view of the falls. Just beautiful.
When we came to the building, we weren't quite sure what to do, but pushing on the large door resulted in it opening into an even larger room where we immediately spotted the viewing area on the opposite side.
The walk to the building was relatively easy and not very long from the parking lot.
Lots of tiny gnats on the trail, though. You might want to bring bug repellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ossian's Hall is an 18th century building from which to view waterfalls on the River Braan. It is also a shrine to Ossian, a 3rd century blind bard. It is an amazing place. And its a lovely walk up through the trees from the carpark.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ossian's Hall also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Ossian's Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing