We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel for golf trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed for three nights in the Royal Dunkeld Hotel as part of the Millbrook and Knebworth golf party and was very impressed by the facilities, the great attitude and friendliness of the staff, by the great location, and by the quality of the food and service. We were fortunate to have some excellent spring weather, so sitting in the courtyard for a few beers was a delight. On the one wet day the drying facilities in the cellar were very handy. The hotel were able to locate our group at a private table at the corner of the restaurant, which was very convivial, and the bar provided a fine venue for the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 391 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were staying in another hotel in Dunkeld so popped in here for a drink...very friendly and lively.We liked the look of the Woodlands bistro so had a meal on our second night...lovely. I had haggis,neeps and tatties with oatcakes and my husband had beef..both lovely. We shared the cheese board which was very good. Nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 1206irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had a lovely stay here for three nights. Checking in was quick and smooth. The room was comfortable especially the bed. We had a lovely view over the car park but could see the hills. The bar was very friendly and the staff very helpful. There was a outside beer garden which we made good use of. Lots of choice on the bar and restaurant menus. Reasonable prices. There was sufficient parking in the centre of the very attractive town of Dunkeld. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We called late for tea on Easter Saturday the waitress was helpful and gave us time to decide. I had the chicken supreme which was very tasty the mushrooms were slightly over cooked but the mash made up for that. My other half had his compulsory steak pie which was good, mash as request was supplied as it wasn't a normal option and fresh veg. His plate was cleared in a jiffy which is always a good sign. The Merlot was average priced but quite good in quality, very enjoyable and value for money thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed here again with friends for one of our annual salmon fishing trips. The welcome from Neil and Janet is always great. The packed lunch, breakfast and dinner are always well cooked and presented, nothing is too much trouble. Staff are always friendly and helpful. As others have commented, some of the rooms do have creaky floors, but that is part of the character !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

On a day trip to lovely Dunkeld and the surrounding area we dropped in to the Royal Dunkeld for a spot of lunch. We had our retriever Ben with us and found that the hotel was dog friendly. It has a beer garden so, as the weather was nice, decided to sit out. Staff were very friendly and helpful, even Ben had a couple of treats from the barman! The menu was basic bar food with a not too extensive choice. Not a criticism, just right for a bar menu. Food was excellent and would definitely recommend the hotel for lunch. I did stay in the hotel a long time ago and found it a great place to stay as well so it was a welcome return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Called in as non residents and made to feel very welcome. Extensive menu for a lunch , all home cooked and beautifully served. Regret not ordering the Cullen Skink, tasted my brothers and it was so good and an enormous dish full. Black pudding and goats cheese salad, chefs tomato and basil soup with bacon and Brie Toastie also excellent, even the burger was extraordinary again home made with added chorizo! Lovely relaxed surroundings, hope to come back to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank alysonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
528 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Dunkeld Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Address: Atholl Street, Dunkeld PH8 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $85 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Dunkeld Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Dunkeld
Dunkeld Royal Hotel
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing