We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just for Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

On a day trip to lovely Dunkeld and the surrounding area we dropped in to the Royal Dunkeld for a spot of lunch. We had our retriever Ben with us and found that the hotel was dog friendly. It has a beer garden so, as the weather was nice, decided to sit out. Staff were very friendly and helpful, even Ben had a couple of treats from the barman! The menu was basic bar food with a not too extensive choice. Not a criticism, just right for a bar menu. Food was excellent and would definitely recommend the hotel for lunch. I did stay in the hotel a long time ago and found it a great place to stay as well so it was a welcome return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    126
    43
    21
    7
See reviews for
58
119
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Called in as non residents and made to feel very welcome. Extensive menu for a lunch , all home cooked and beautifully served. Regret not ordering the Cullen Skink, tasted my brothers and it was so good and an enormous dish full. Black pudding and goats cheese salad, chefs tomato and basil soup with bacon and Brie Toastie also excellent, even the burger was extraordinary again home made with added chorizo! Lovely relaxed surroundings, hope to come back to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

While on a 4 day break to Dunkeld, my husband and I went into the Royal Dunkeld Hotel for an evening meal. The receptionist made us feel very welcome. We found the dining room cosy, very comfortable with a lovely ambience. There was an extensive menu and when our food arrived, it was so delicious! The man who served us was extremely informative about the food and was able to recommend many dishes. There is absolutely nothing we could fault at the Royal Dunkeld. My husband and I were really impressed with the staff, the surroundings and the excellent food. Well done to everyone at this hotel! We will most definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lupin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofors, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Royal Dunkeld Hotel is a cosy hotel with great food and a very friendly staff!
It´s located in the middle of this lovely old town, close to River Tay and the old Cathedral Ruin.
I´ll be back, soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here as a couple in late January, quiet but that is what we sought . Hotel was half full, weclome from the owner is very friendly and attentative. We were in the front of the hotel in the old rooms, only moan was the floors which were on a slant and creaked terribly , fine during the day but trying to be quiet at night was not possible. Ate in the evening, menu was quirky , pub grub and more finer dining , food was excellent , well priced and very relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Friendly, pleasant staff made this stay more enjoyable in this old coaching inn in the middle of Dunkeld.
We were in the annex out of the main building, but it was clean and warm. All you need.
Breakfast was good, with a good choice. Staff coped well, in spite of being extremely busy.
Well situated for exploring this historic town.
Will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Soundtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. Had a great time.

Hotel is centrally based, good value for money and the service from all of the staff is excellent. All staff seem to have a real pride in their work and very keen to engage with guests for a chat and to be helpful from the bar staff to the chef.

We slept fine, but the floors are a little creaky which you would probably expect in a building of it's age.

Breakfast is excellent and the bar rightly has a number of real ale awards. They have a small selection of real ales but they are impeccably

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel - because its an old building you can hear traffic passing. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highland_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
10.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
17.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Dunkeld Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Property: The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Address: Atholl Street, Dunkeld PH8 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Dunkeld Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Dunkeld
Dunkeld Royal Hotel
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing