We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a one night stay here over the weekend, lovely clean and spacious room and good service throughout,only downside was a very good but sparse breakfast, for the bed and breakfast charges this could have been better!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    133
    44
    22
    8
See reviews for
63
128
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Few will argue that Dunkeld has a timelessness to it that underscores its place in Scottish history. Staying at the Royal Dunkeld Hotel extends that feeling to your accommodations. Located in the middle of Dunkeld's main street, it's exactly where you want to be for exploring this wonderful, historic town by foot.

The hotel itself in an older building that has been renovated to a high standard throughout. All the public areas and restaurants are tastefully decorated in true Scottish style. The en suite rooms are spacious and well appointed.

A delicious and well executed breakfast is served in the main restaurant.

Considering what the hotel offers for such reasonable rates, The Royal Dunkeld is definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend and can only say everything was excellent.Room clean and tidy,beds comfortable,breakfast and dinner first class and staff polite,professional and very helpful.Took advantage of the bar,prices reasonable and a good selection of Whiskies.Location of the hotel easy to find with decent parking.Woul definitely recomend it.We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the High Street,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here last week.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were able to take our doggy with us and she was even allowed to join us in the bar area for drinks and meals. The food was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed all we ate. The best gammon steaks I have ever tasted.

There are lots of other places in the area which are doggy friendly too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed her for the weekend, it was booked through Classic Britain and it was only £158 for both of us including dinner on the first night. Our room was large with everything you could need. Lovely shower and comfy bed. It was at the back looking on to the car park and was really quiet.
The lovely welcome we had from the reception staff Janet and the chap that owns it, Neil was second to none. Really nice people. As were the rest of the staff, in the bar and dinning room. Our meal was great, absolutely nothing to complain about. The bar was friendly we met a lot of good people. We would definitely stay here again. Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pakomayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much when we booked this for one night at £45 bed and breakfast for each of us, but we had a wonderful time, the hotel is clean, and the staff are friendly, the breakfast was a little sparse for my liking but we would return for a winter break as the area is fantastic and the hotel offers great winter deals.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited only for a bar lunch. We picked this venue because they allow dogs. We received a very warm welcome and the girl that welcomed us said they lunch would be no problem despite arriving at 1.50pm. They close at 2pm for lunch. This is a trait in Scotland but that is another issue.

The food was ok, an average bar meal. But the staff were happy and very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GregoryVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
10.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
11.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Dunkeld Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Property: The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Address: Atholl Street, Dunkeld PH8 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Dunkeld Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Dunkeld
Dunkeld Royal Hotel
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing