We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bar Meal”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited only for a bar lunch. We picked this venue because they allow dogs. We received a very warm welcome and the girl that welcomed us said they lunch would be no problem despite arriving at 1.50pm. They close at 2pm for lunch. This is a trait in Scotland but that is another issue.

The food was ok, an average bar meal. But the staff were happy and very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GregoryVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    44
    22
    9
See reviews for
65
134
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A very nice hotel. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Although we were there with a group the service was very slick and staff friendly and helpful. Dunkeld is a lovely little town. All in all a good visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is a rare gem in that being older and in a small town it has all the professionalism of a large city operation. The staff is well trained, and the owners, who spend a great deal of time on site, go the extra mile to ensure that guests have everything they need. They helped us beyond the call and gave us personal assistance that I have rarely experience. We loved our trip to Scotland and in large part due to the pure and generous hospitality of the the people we encountered.

The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The food was very good. The area has a lot to offer in outdoors ventures, food and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPHX543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A nice welcome greeted me on arrival. My room, perhaps in need of an upgrade, was comfortable and clean.
The location was perfect for exploring this lovely little town with the Cathedral verging on the very lovely river. The people here were so helpful and they made it seem that they wanted me to enjoy my stay.
The food was good old fashioned "pub grub" but nothing wrong with that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golborne
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I last stayed here over 45 years ago (stayed in Birnam Youth Hostel) - the place has not altered very much at all but 'Craig a Barns' (where I went rock-climbing) appeared to be overgrown. We were given a lovely welcome from Neil and his wife and, after booking in, we were offered cheaper accommodation after I mentioned I was uncomfortable with stairs. They have an annexe at the back of the hotel comprising of a number of comfortable rooms. We had a marvellous evening where the staff joined in. A hearty breakfast helped finish off a memorable visit. Highly recommended**

Room Tip: If available - the chalets at the rear of the hotel offer cheaper accommodation but not less comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy45Golborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and came in on the off chance of getting a hotel room which we did. We got a b&b for £75 2 people. Location was great, staff are lovely our room was a good size number 107. We went to view the room before saying yes to booking and it was clean on 1st looking & the door to the room was lying open think cleaner never closed it. Tea & coffee facilities, we were given a larger room that would har slept 3. Our window was kept open by a small block of wood, the bathroom had hairs in it, and the shower cubile was tiny.
When we arrived for breakfast at 9.10 no one was there to greet us do we took a seat and got ourselves some yoghurt and juice, 5 mins later a lady came in and took our order she was pleasant. When the full grill breakfast arrived it was quite small I would say for value for money. 1 sausage, 1 small but of bacon, 1 fried potato scone, 1 tomatoe and 1 egg. The grilled tomato was quite cold, so was the bacon and sausage you could tell they had been re heated. It was edible just a bit disappointing. This may has been because we came down for breakfast 20 mins before it finished at 9.30 but we were told we could still have came down at 9.30 and it would be ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shnookamScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dunkeld is an absolute gem of a town and just getting the chance to spend a few days here is a bonus. The Royal is a grand old lady getting to need a bit of TLC but surviving well due to the excellent friendly staff and generally happy atmosphere that greets you as soon as you walk in.

The rooms and furnishings are very basic but our room was spotlessly clean and although I have slept in far more comfortable beds I still got a good night of rest. Like some of the other reviewers I would recommend the 3rd floor if you do not want to pick up noise from the bar and patio area, especially at weekends. No lifts though so be warned!

Breakfast was very tasty but the grill was a little sparse, nice but unlikely to set you up for the day unless you have plenty of toast and cereal to go with it.

Room Tip: Third floor north side to avoid bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grampy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,754 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Dunkeld Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Property: The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Address: Atholl Street, Dunkeld PH8 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Dunkeld Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Dunkeld
Dunkeld Royal Hotel
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing